the Peninsular house off Grassy Key harbor

view from gulfside, completely private and secluded.living room facing open seaweek by week rates in 2015
“ Excellent ”
8 Reviews
58600 Morton St, Grassy Key, FL 33050

Overview

Overview

Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2.5
Sleeps 8
Per week $1,600 - $2,800
Type: Villa
Description of the Grassy Key vacation villa rental
An attractive house with heated pool/spa, boat dock & beach, in a unique tucked away, completely private location.

The Peninsularhouse only rents Sat to Sat.
check-in at 2pm, check-out at 10am the following
Sat.

Weeks available in 2015 are:-

AVAILABLE (1WK) May 09 – May 16, 2015 (rate $ 2400/PW)
AVAILABLE (1WK) Jun 27 – Jul 04, 2015 (rate $ 2800/PW)
AVAILABLE (1WK) Aug 01 – Aug 08, 2015 (rate $ 2800/PW)
AVAILABLE (1WK) Aug 15 – Aug 22, 2015 (rate $ 2400/PW)
AVAILABLE (1WK) Aug 22 – Aug 29, 2015 (rate $ 2400/PW)
AVAILABLE (1WK) Aug 29 - Sep 05, 2015 (rate $2200/PW)

& all the Fall Weeks after Sept 12, 2015 are available , including
Thanksgiving, X-Mas & New Year 2016


David Thomas, OWNER,

search for peninsularhouse and then click on
"Featured Vacation Rentals" picture to a huge number
of photos, inside and exterior.

David Thomas

the Peninsularhouse only rents weekly Sat to Sat, check-in
2pm check-out 10am the following Sat.

David Thomas

Area Info
This florida key vacation rental home is secluded & private, on a peninsula of land surrounded by sea on all sides. Tucked away in total privacy abutting over Grassy Key harbor, with clear interrupted sea views, it's still just a short drive away from the City of Marathon. The Open Water Views give this home a feeling of total tranquility. Explore the bayside waters surrounding the house by kayak. There are 3 single kayaks and 1 double kayak for you to use. Enjoy the complete private seclusion of an island, with all the conveniences of being on the mainland. It's a place of pelicans, egrets and cormorants. With the occasional iguanas and racoons that live there. Many varities of fishes, sea turtles and manatees live in these waters. You can hear the dolphins squeak and whistle as they play at the Dolphin Research Center, which is across the water from the peninsularhouse. Above all its a great place to relax on the sandy beach, or in the heated spa/pool with wrap around sea views.

Rates

Property Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
May 02 2015 Dec 31 2015 - - $2,800 - 1 Week
Nov 29 2015 Dec 20 2015 - - $1,600 - 1 Week
: 2 p.m. : 10 a.m.
Lodging tax: 12.5
Deposits: $ 500
Payment Options: American Express, Cashier's Check, Discover, Mastercard, Money Order, Personal Check, Visa
Other Fees: $ 150 cleaning & garbage collection

Reviews

Reviews for this vacation villa rental in Grassy Key, Florida

Joan Somyk

Joan Somyk

Rhode Island

Family Holiday with our dog.

December 22, 2014

Great location... we were looking for a dog friendly private home and found it. We enjoyed the small heated pool and the jacuzzi. Our dog enjoyed the lagoon for swimming. We had iguanas visiting us scratching on the window screen, lying by the jacuzzi and in the pool. We also had "rodents" visit us on each balcony except the bedroom. Each morning we found their droppings. Not nice... The home needs a women's touch. Totally surprised by the lack of amenities. We have stayed in many rentals in the past, this was the first time the owner hasn't supplied the basics. When on holiday we enjoy going out to experience local restaurants, we also enjoy staying in and cooking. The kitchen lacks... there are no mixing bowls or a glass measuring cup, I used the plastic bowl and the pans for mixing. I went to the dollar store to buy a kitchen towel, sponge, detergent, liquid soap, t-paper, plastic glasses to use by the pool, I am a firm believer of glass for my cocktails, but not by the pool. We all found the place comfortable, but I have to say I wish more attention was paid to cleanliness, I put up the blinds to let light in and found dirt/dust on the ledges. We dropped something that went under the couch, not pretty under there. Even though we have all these complaints we did enjoy ourselves. We found it disappointing that such a wonderful property that has so much potential could be updated with some professional help. I found it frustrating to sit in the pool and look up at a home that wasn't fully painted and thinking of all the things that the home needed that could be done with not much time, effort and money. I don't want this review to keep anyone from staying here because it is a great location, and a nice property. I just think that the owner needs to put a few more basic details into it. I am sure that anyone who chooses to stay here would be happy with their stay. It's a great place to unwind and relax. If you come with your best friend (dog) there are plenty of dog friendly places in the area that allow him/her. We enjoyed sunset at Sunset Grill, it has a great dog friendly setup. Sand, chairs, happy hour and amazing sunsets. What more could you ask for!

Norma E Becker Reynolds

Norma E Becker Reynolds

Cocoa Beach, Fl

DREAM COME TRUE

December 6, 2014

76 yr old gramma, son, daughter in law, two 21yr olds. The best vacation ever. The home, location , accommodations, cleanliness, total package was much more then we expected. We called it the paradise house. We can't wait to go back.

Owner's reply:

ever so glad you had a good time with your family.

Christina Miller

Christina Miller

Gainesville, FL

Christina

December 1, 2014

This rental was wonderful. The house was clean and complete with many amenities. The location was most amazing, picturesque and private. We had a nice dock to tie our boat and had a wonderful time.

Theresa Webber

Theresa Webber

UK

Location location location!!

January 28, 2014

Fantastic location, loved every minute of staying there, David was there to meet us with a nice cold beer! Not sure you could ever meet a nicer/relaxed guy. Nothing was too much, can't wait to return. David you are a Star! Thank you :)

Owner's reply:

Glad to make Theresa & Andy feel welcome and to know they enjoyed their vacation.

Leanne Hepler

Leanne Hepler

Jacksonville, Fl

Peaceful paradise

November 29, 2013

This property is truly a secluded paradise. Although the weather in November can be rainy and windy, it did not stop us from enjoying this amazing location. We caught snapper everyday from the dock and thoroughly enjoyed the heated hot tub and pool. We were amazed at how peaceful and secluded the home was and even enjoyed sharing the patio with the many iguanas that would come right up next to us to bask in the sun. We did not get a chance to use the kayaks because of the wind, but know this would have been a perfect place because of the variety of the bay, the lagoon or the ocean to kayak in. We would definitely return to the peninsular house and highly recommend it for families or for a romantic getaway.

Owner's reply:

We are pleased to know the Hepler family had a good time and enjoyed the Peninsularhouse location.

Barry Moore

Barry Moore

Nashville, TN

Wow - what a wonderful place!

November 14, 2012

What can you say? The house is incredible and clean. Decks, hammocks, kayaks, fishing equipment, dock, swimming pool, hot tub. On and on. David Thomas was great to work with. Anytime I called he would return my call immediately. My wife and I go to Florida the first week of November yearly. We will definitely return to the Peninsularhouse.

Owner's reply:

Great to have you visit the Keys

Denise Demetral

Denise Demetral

Joliet, IL

Excellent Property!!!

June 12, 2012

We stayed for a week at the Peninsular house and were extremely happy with everything! The house was exactly as advertised; it was clean and had everything we needed including kayaks, extra bedding, beach towels, kitcheware, and lots of ice. The house was close to everything we wanted to do including snorkeling and fishing trips. My son caught so many fish off the lighted dock including snapper, barraculda and a huge tarpon (about 35 lbs?). It was a wonderful setting for a family vacation - the pool was an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed. Only complaint - we had to leave and go back to IL!

Owner's reply:

nice family, it was a pleasure to have the Dementral family to stay
David Thomas

James E. Black

James E. Black

Knoxville,TN

Still waiting for my Deposit

October 25, 2007

I never did get to stay.I am rating the business dealing as of today. I am still waiting for my $500.deposit back!I made a $500.deposit on the property 2/2007 for 2/08/2008.I had to cancel.I sent Mr.Thomas {per his contract instructions} numerous e-mails>7/23,7/31,10/16,and 10/20/07and Certified Mail 8/06/07{signed and accepted 8/16/07}. Thru your web sight I finally got a reply from Mr.Thomas saying he is looking into the matter. As of today 10/25/07 I have NOT recieved my deposit back to my credit card. Sincerely,>>James E.Black

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

After staying for 2 weeks in April 2006, Scott, Sheridy, Dustin & Chance wrote: Dear Dave, We wanted to tell you what a wonderful vacation we had at the peninsular house. It is some of the best money we have ever spent. The private and peaceful surroundings, clean-fresh air and awesome sunrises and sunsets were just what we needed. We had all the comforts of home and found the house to be very comfortable and relaxing. The tarpon fishing from the dock was great even though they evaded our lines and we didn't catch any it was fun trying. We found the marine life in the area to be awesome and highly recommend snorkeling around Sister Rock Island. We found all the local merchants to be most friendly and accommodating and enjoyed some great food and shopping. We will certainly recommend the Peninsular House to our friends and would highly recommend it to anybody that is looking for a relaxing vacation. We look forward to returning next year

Page Views This month: 17 This year: 495 Since listed: 26,383