Country Setting - Comfy Cabin.

Country Cabin InteriorBedroomExterior of CabinCabin Map
2198 28 Rd, Kearney, NE 68847

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Overview

Bedrooms: 1
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 6
Type: Cabin
Per night: $105
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: No
Description of the Kearney vacation cabin rental
From Honeymoons to Hunting ...
From Families to Get-a-way Weekends !
...quick note...the map on this site is incorrect due to a Map Quest error that I cannot correct. If using GPS, coordinates are:
Latitude: 40.65626 | Longitude: -99.00828

Little Lauer Lake Cabin is a very quaint and comfortable fully furnished cabin with heating and air conditioning. Whether you are just making a stop in the area or whether you are more local and just needing a bit of family time or quiet weekend, it will meet your needs. It has one private bedroom and two sofa sleepers, plus a sleeping loft which is a great place for the kids and sleeping bags. There is a full bath with shower and tub, full size frig, stovetop, and convection microwave in the kitchen. As well, all of the pots, pans, coffee maker, dishes, etc. are provided, as well as basic supplies like paper towels, tissues, and even coffee, is provided along with sugar, flour, and cooking oil. All of the linens and towels are provided, too.

The little back porch is everyone's favorite. It has a nice outdoor table for four, two large comfy outdoor chairs and four other chairs for sitting in the yard or at the table. The view is of the lake and wooded area without another house in sight, even though there are other homes in the area, including our residence. It is truly a convenient location; just seven miles off Interstate 80 and only seven miles from groceries, gas and entertainment.

There is a two night minimum and four adult maximum.

There are some new and refreshing changes taking place at the Little Lauer Lake Cabin. First, we did upgrade the statellite TV service to include local channels for those of you wanted to view football (Nebraska Cornhusker games, right?!) and other sporting events. We are cleaning up some of the landscaping and planting new trees, clearing a beach area just for cabin guests, and we are working at getting Internet availability at the cabin. Other good news is that for now the price is staying the same - $105 a night for couple or family ($125 for two couples). Plus, we will also have some assistance this year starting in June so there will be someone on the premises to help you with whatever needs you may have. We also purchased a new gas grill with a side burner, and we anticipate that we may have to spring for a new paddle boat this year, too, as our current one certainly has seen its share of tours around the pond!

The relaxing, private1/4 mile walking trail to the Platte River through grasslands and wooded area is continually mowed and ready for you, unless the rainy weather hangs around and prevents that from happening for a few days. We do try hard to keep the area 'natural' yet comfortable and assessible for our guests. When we send you a detailed email to assist with your arrival and stay (after you have made a reservation) it will tell you that you will drive on grass for the last few yards, and possibly even through 2 or 3" of water if it has been raining. We do not want to create a large driveway and parking area for the cabin as it detracts from the setting, yet the cabin is always accessible by any vehicle.


There is 'catch and release' fishing, and on occassion we allow you to keep some of the larger ones since our pond stock is now getting large enough to enjoy in the frying pan! Please ask us in advance as the one thing we do not want is for you to clean the fish in the cabin. We have large-mouth bass, sunfish, bluegill, catsfish, crappy, and a few pesty carp. If you catch a pike, like one of our guests swear they did, let us know! We would like to furnish fishing poles as we have in the past, but we just can't seem to keep them in working order (just too many lost hooks and broken lines!) so we ask that you please bring your own. We are continuing our ban on open fires or fire pits; simply too dangerous in such a heavy tree area.

Absolutely no smoking or candles in the cabin. Replacing the cabin isn't the problem...replacing the trees and elements of nature is almost impossible!

Cell phone services depends on your carrier so can be from non-existent to quite good. We always encourage you to bring a camera because of the deer and turkey that seem to love this place. In the spring the sky is full of sand hill cranes, blue heron, geese, song birds, bald eagles, and on occassion, even a flock of pelicans. A quiet look out in the early morning is usually worth your time and effort.

Pets must be approved in advance. We hate to say 'no' to pets, so if yours is small and/or well behaved they are more than welcomed. However, you MUSTconfirm any pet in advance. We no longer take a pet deposit, but we do restrict the number of pets to two. We have a dog on the premises, as well, although Myah, our female standard poodle, is rarely out and about while we have guests. If you do meet her, she may bark at first and then absolutely insist that you pet her!


THERE IS A TWO NIGHT MINIMUM. Four Adult Maximum.

(No limit on children with parents.) We have adopted the policy of a two night minimum because the majority of our guests are looking for a two night stay and when we sell a single night, we loose vital business. We simply could not have the cabin available if we rented it only four nights per month due to single night purchases on the weekend. We appreciate your understanding.


Check in time is 3:00 p.m. and check out is by noon. Sometimes we can be flexible with these times, so don't hesitate to ask if your schedule varies from these set times


Upon departure, you need not do anything with the linens or the trash or cleaning; except we ask that you do wash up and put away any dishes or pots & pans that you used, and to clean the grill for the next guess -- this truly allows us to be able to continue to offer the gas grill. Other than that -- we'll take care of the rest!


The cabin is approx. 11.5' wide, 48' long, and stands 16' tall. It is not handicapped accessible.

Email us if you have any questions.

We retain the right to adjust our policies on a case-by-case basis.

Reservations are confirmed via email (Contact Owner) and we will provide payment instructions. After you reserve the cabin, I email more detailed information to assist with your arrival and stay.

The reservation calendar is updated regularly and indicates the available dates.

PRICE:

Price includes one night's rental: linens, towels, food prep items (pots, pans, bowls, utensils), coffee & S/P, soaps/detergent, and your catch and release fishing and walking trail.

$105 per night total (for single, couple, or family: utlizing bedroom and sleeping loft) This is approx. $93 room rate with $12 taxes & fees.

$125 per night total (for two couples; utilizing bedroom and sofa sleeper) This is approx. $110 room rate with $15 taxes & fees.

We close the cabin generally from November 1 through the first week of March. We haven't the means of removing snow so as to get you in and out of the cabin, plus the utility bill goes up while the number of guests go down. We ask for your understanding.

NOTE: PLEASE BE SURE YOU HAVE TYPED YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS IN CORRECTLY WHEN YOU SEND AN INQUIRY. I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO REPLY TO MANY OF YOU BECAUSE OF INCOMPLETE EMAIL ADDRESSES AND I DON'T WANT YOU TO THINK WE ARE NOT RESPONDING.
Area Information
KEARNEY, NEBRASKA: is known for its hospitality, attractions, restaurants and outdoor activities. Being right on the Platte River offers birding and photography opportunities, prime hunting and fishing locations and an array or activities for the entire family to enjoy.

Found in south central Nebraska right on Interstate 80, Kearney is the perfect place to stop for a night during your travels or as a final destination. It has a wide array of outdoor activities along with cultural, historical, and sporting events. And Kearney has over 50 resturants featuring all types of cuisine. Kearney is the home to the 2nd Cabelas store (a full afternoon's shopping for the guys!). You will find a huge wildlife and fish display among the aisles of the worlds foremost outdoor outfitter. Kearney also has numerous attractions with historical and cultural flavor.

Museum of Nebraska Art (MONA -- View amazing Nebraska art that spans over 175 years, from the 19th century to the contemporary.

Great Platte River Road Archway Monument -- An interactive exhibit that traces the history of the Great Platte River Road from the Oregon Trails to the fiber optic future world of tomorrow.

Trails and Rails Museum -- Trace the history of transportation through Buffalo Country where the Mormon Trail once passed.

Other offerings include:
Storm Hockey
Rowe Sanctuary
KIDZ Zone -- Kearney Childrens Museum
Kearney Center for Performing Arts
Fort Kearney Historical Park

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Apr 11 2014 Nov 01 2014 $105 $105 - - -
Check In: 3 p.m. Check Out: 12 p.m.
Lodging tax: 7
Deposits: None
Payment Options: Mastercard, PayPal, Visa
Other Fees: The price of $105 per night includes all applicable taxes and fees.

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 1 Queen Bed
  • Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Pet Friendly
  • View (Water)
  • Beach Chairs
  • Linens Provided
  • Porch
  • Waterfront
  • Full Kitchen
  • Parking Included
  • Appliances

  • Blender
  • Gas Grill
  • Radio
  • Stove
  • CD Player
  • Hair Dryer
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator (Mini)
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Oven
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • Activities

  • Fishing
    (onsite)
  • Park
    (<1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (7 miles)
  • Golf
    (8 miles)
  • Bicycling
    (<1 mile)
  • Grocery Store
    (7 miles)
  • Tennis
    (7 miles)
  • Movie Theater
    (8 miles)
  • Canoeing
    (<1 mile)
  • Restaurant
    (7 miles)
  • Water Park
    (7 miles)
  • Winery
    (8 miles)
  • Hiking
    (<1 mile)



Reviews for this vacation cabin rental in Kearney, Nebraska

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Vicki Dunn Chrisman

North Bend NE

Very Enjoyable!

My husband and I just spend a weekend away there this past weekend with my sister and brother-in-law. It was such a nice time. Sweet cabin! Linens were nice and fresh. Air Conditioner kept up well. Nice to have the privacy but know if you had a question you could call. Really enjoyable whether you want to be inside or out... or a little of both. We can wait to go back! Thanks so much!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Vicki,
So glad you enjoyed it! Didn't see much of you, but that means you were probably spent a lot of time on the back porch! Come again.

Darleen Poe-Griffin

Hastings Ne & Redding Ca

cabin lover

Cabin was very cozy and cute. Stayed there with 3 adults, two young children and a 12 year old. Loved that their was things to do to entertain all of us. Would stay again.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Darlene, it had to be a cabin full, but so glad it worked and that you enjoyed it. Mother Nature was kind during your stay, too, and that's great. Thank you for the kind review.

Brian Mattox

Omaha, NE

Great Family Getaway

Our family thoroughly enjoyed the property and it's amenities (kayaking, paddle boat, fishing, nature trail, tranquility). We look forward to enjoying the property again in the future for a longer stay.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thank you, Brian. Glad your family had nice weather, too! Marge

Janet Wilke

Kearney, NE

Loved it!

I am writing this review before our time at the cabin is even over! We just discovered this hideout -- in our backyard, so-to-speak! The weather was exceptionally good, almost like fall, which certainly can't be guaranteed in mid-July! The cabin is just as described, we had everything we needed, the owners have done a great job of anticipating what might come up. Clean, comfortable, even had a movie that my son had been wanting to see! Really a great get-away! We hope to be back and have already recommended it to family who come back to see the cranes. Thanks for a relaxing couple of days!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thanks, Janet!!

Thomas Ostrander

Papillion, NE

Very nice place by a lake

This cabin was very nice and the location was excellent. The cabin is well maintained and has all the modern amenities needed for a weekend away. The paddle boat and Kayaks were a wonderful experience while relaxing in a private lake. The only down side to this weekend was the areas around the house were quite overgrown and needed a little trimming. This in no way detracted from our wonderful weekend getaway. While our family was about to cook up some Smores, Marge came out and offered us her patio chairs right of her back deck. This was an excellent offer from a generous host. These three days away really helped regenerate the summer. A must see!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Glad you enjoyed it! And, we were out there the next day mowing and weed eating . . . along with a dash of reprimand to our assistant and yard keeper. Thank you for letting us know as we haven't been checking the work done on the area between guests. We will now. The lake has dropped about a foot since crop irrigation started, which pulls down the ground water, so your timing was excellent in regard to having the little lake looking its best!

Alasha Johnson

Arnold, NE.

We loved it

It is our new favorite spot to get away to. Very clean, privet, and relaxing. Looking forward to taking the kids back with us to take them fishing where they actually catch fish!

Sarah Mayer

San Diego, CA

Great cabin for family stopover while traveling

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 children, 1 baby) stayed at this adorable cabin for just one night on our cross country road trip. We were so glad we chose to stay at the Lauer Cabin instead of a motel somewhere in Nebraska! My girls loved the lake and had a great time in the kayak and paddleboat, and I was impressed that life-jackets were provided. We ate our meals at the picnic table right on the beach and enjoyed the walk (very well-marked) to the nearby river. While we didn't do much cooking, the kitchen seemed very well-equipped. It was pretty hot outside, but the air conditioning kept the cabin nice and cool and my girls loved "camping out" in the loft upstairs. In case someone else is traveling with a baby, there was not room in the bedroom for our portable crib, so we had to put it in the living room, but this was not a major inconvenience. Marge, (the owner) was very accommodating and answered emails quickly and thoroughly.

Dick McBride

Nebraska

Solitude

Perfect setting for complete solitude. Birds singing fish jumping and a lake like glass reflecting trees and shore. A short walk through pasture and trees to the river. The cabin was just right size. Very enjoyable!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thank you! Marge

JENNIFER PRUSA

Central City, NE

Just what we needed.....

This was the first time at the Lauer Cabin, but it won't be the last! Very quiet and relaxing time with the girls boating, swimming, fishing, hiking, and a rainy movie afternoon marathon. Morning coffee on the back deck overlooking the little lake felt like a mini-vacation. Although the cabin is well within sight of the owners home, you would never know it unless you stepped out and looked. We actually thought our 5 and 7 year old girls would be more disturbing to them as their squeals carried over the water with every splash and fish jump. We had more than we needed as this cabin is fully stocked and the girls loved their "Princess Loft". Thank you, Lauers, for helping to make a 40th Birthday the most relaxing day ever!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Jennifer . . . we loved hearing the squeals!!! Marge

Carol Sutton

Aurora, CO

Everything advertised and more

This cabin is a wonderfully quiet retreat! I felt wrapped in a blanket of peace with only the lake and trees and birds for company. My three days went too fast and I am making plans to return soon.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thank you, Carol. We've had the most awesome guests this year!

Phil Murphy

Lincoln, NE

Wonderful and tranquil cabin for a quiet break

We stayed at the cabin in May 2014. The cabin was beautifully laid out and perfectly presented - very clean and well-equipped. We did not use the loft ourselves as there were only two of us but it appears ideal for extra guests. The bed was extremely comfortable and plenty of blankets and pillows were provided. The lake is beautiful and we enjoyed seeing the local flora and fauna. We also enjoyed walking over to the river along the paths and seeing the deer roaming about. My only slightly negative comment is that there did not appear to be internet access - this was not a problem for us but it may be useful to have for other guests. This aside, I cannot find any fault with the cabin whatsoever - it was a wonderful stay.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thanks, Phil. We've got to work on that Internet connection! Our first attempt didn't work due to the distance, and trees, that we were trying to transfer the wifi connection. Have avoided paying for another account as our only provider of decent service mandates a landline phone along with the internet. Urghh.

Melissa Wiederholt

Cozad, Nebraska

Excellent

Our family enjoyed your cabin. It's was beautiful inside and out. We invited our grandma and stepmother out for dinner for Mother's Day weekend. They all enjoyed the lake and fishing.. It was great!!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Glad you enjoyed it!

Dale Hill

Tampa, FL

Wonderful Retreat

The cabin and area were exactly as described. I was delighted with the entire experience and would be happy to visit again.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Dale,
Thank you for the review! I think "Nebraska" tried to blow you away while you were here but at least the temperatures were far more tolerable than they have been. Please come again!

Kim Hazelton

Lincoln, NE, USA

A Walk in the Woods

A very cozy cabin set in among trees on it's own little lake. A wonderful walk through a field and into a wooded area takes you to the river. We saw deer, bunnies, cranes, ducks, turkeys, and many other kinds of birds. The cabin itself had all the necessities. It was nice to sit up in the loft area and star-gaze through the windows. The bathroom was a bit on the cramped side, but sufficient. We spent several hours sitting out on the covered porch playing games and watching fish jump in the lake and listening to the birds. The location was good, near enough to town and other attractions. We will definitely plan to return!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

So glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the review.

Anita Stockton

mn

great place

great get away, feels completely private.

Teresa Romain

Wisconsin Dells, WI USA

This cabin was perfect! Quiet & cozy & comfy!

This cabin was EXACTLY what we wanted. Quiet and comfy and cozy.... in the country where we were surrounded by birdsong and the sound of cranes. And yet we were close to town and anything we needed. It was the best of both worlds! The cabin itself was really nice - clean, cute & comfy. The view of the lake greeted us each morning, the bed was really comfy and we loved being able to cook our own food in the kitchen. The TV/Sound System was awesome. We WILL be back!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thanks, Teresa. So glad you enjoyed it.

Heidi Cline

Murdock, Ne

Perfect weekend!

We have always stayed in a cabin or a bed and breakfast. This was the most perfect weekend we have had our entire married life! Everything we needed to "rough it" was there. Food, foil and Ziplocks were the only things we needed. The cabin is so perfectly furnished, we were able to enjoy the lake and all that the property had to offer. We are planning two more visits for next year. Thank you for filling our buckets and rejuvenating our spirits!

anne fleming

cheyenne wy usa

Cabin at Lauer Lake

I spent a week there and it was a repeat visit. I was there last year too. It is very quiet and peaceful, not too far from town. It has a nice little porch to relax on and it is right on a small lake. It is an extremely relaxing place.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Thank You, Ann. Hopefully next year the drought has eased up and the water level will be higher in the pond.

Kathie Hasbrouck

Nebraska

Little cabin by the lake

My husband and I have stayed at this little cabin 3 or 4 times now, its only 100 miles from home but it is still just a great inexpensive getaway for the two of us. The only thing lacking is a internet connection

Dan Durre

Kansas

Anniversary get-away

We enjoyed our three-day stay at the Lauer Little Lake cabin very much. It was so quiet and peaceful and the cabin was very cute and comfortable. We wish we could have stayed longer. It's very likely we will visit there again.

Karen Krull Dilger

Shell Rock, Iowa

The Perfect Getaway

My husband and I stayed at this cabin for several days on a trip to see the sandhill cranes. It was in a perfect location - a short path takes you directly to the river where you can watch the cranes fly overhead and we saw deer on several of our walks! Very cozy cabin - just steps from the pond and we had our own private 'mini' beach where we sat and relaxed. We have stayed at many cabins during our travels and this one was wonderful! Anyone who stays here will enjoy the cabin, the area, and the nature. If you have children, there is a large loft where they would have a fantastic time! The only note I would have for others is that the mattress is a fairly firm so if you are used to a softer mattress, you may want to bring a pillowtopper or something similar. I would definitely stay here again. It was wonderful!

Dash Bierman

columbus ne

my stay at the kearney cabin

i was disappointed that i was charged for three extra people each night when i only had two.

Leslie Norris

Lincoln NE

Pretty nice!

It was ungodly hot during our stay. The AC in the cabin did an OK job of keeping up for a window air. My suggestion would be to bring an air mattress and sleep in the loft. (AC is located up there) Cabin was fairly clean, lots of spiders so we bought some bug spray in Kearney. Town is close which was awesome since it was so hot. Check out the brewery!! I would go back in the spring or fall most certainly. Worth the money and a cute little place!

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Oh, it has been so hot here. Several days over 100 and no rain! It's true...the window air conditioner has a hard time keeping up with those temps day after day. There is a ceiling fan and two portable fans provided, too, but 'hot is hot' and I hope we don't see these hight temps for this long of a time for several years again. [And, for all of our guests, don't hesitate to call us when you need something -- even bug spray -- as we have it on hand at all times in the cabin, for both indoor and outdoor bugs, because there are always some around.] The Norris' left the cabin in great shape -- so appreciated -- and I'll order cooler weather for their next visit but her suggestion of sleeping in the loft on really hot days is a good one!

Pat Moore

Omaha, NE

Wonderful little lake cabin

We had a great visit at this little hideaway. Small but very comfy, the cabin was all we expected and more for our visit. The fish were biting too (always a good thing) and the kayaks kept the kids plenty busy.

Marge Lauer

Owner's reply:

Our thanks to all of our guests for leaving such great reviews! We always try to provide each guest with privacy, yet space, and let them enjoy the outdoors all that they want. This little cabin provides us with some extra revenue (never hurts) and provides our guests with a quaint, country get-a-way...and our guests have been great!

Julie Seevers

Nebraska

Clean, Quiet, Convenient

A Great place to relax for a couple of days with or without kids. The cabin is very clean and comfortable.

Michelle Lowe

columbus, nebraska

amazing

My husband and i stayed this last weekend at camp lauer and it was so wonderful. It was the most relaxing trip we have ever taken. We did alot of site seeing and just enjoyed sitting my the lake fishing and paddling around the lake. I would go back time and time again for a nice little get away. It was so clean and eveything you could need. Thanks for an amazing weekend. Heath and Michelle.

Mary Rice

Moab, UT

Laurie Lake cabin

This was a very nice experience. The cabin was as advertised, cozy, comfortable, clean, and well equipped. I'll try to reserve it again next time I'm out that way -

Elise Boeke

Salt Lake City, UT

exactly what we were looking for

This place was perfect for out adventure to see the cranes! it is perfectly located near the river and a number of observation areas. It is small but clean and provided all the necessities. I would definitely recommend it!

Rebecca Gerik

Anchorage, AK

Little Lauer Cabin

This cabin provided the ideal location for watching cranes in March, being located near the Platte and adjacent to a state park, with opportunities for bird watching, walking, and running. The cabin, on a small lake with an island, offered an oasis to return to after watching the birds. The place was clean, comfortable, and welcoming.

Curt Richey

Fremont Neb

quiet

What a nice restful weekend. The cabin was very nice. Clean and comfortable. We walked to the river, where we saw a nice buck and 2 does. We also saw turkeys and cranes. This is one of those places I wish I could visit every couple months, just to relax. I even enjoyed seting on the back step and shareing a hot dog with the Louwers old dog. Peace and quiet. Just what I needed. I would and will recomend this cabin and the Louwers to everyone. I realy enjoyed our stay.

Wm. (Spike) Haddock

North Platte, NE USA

Little Lake Cabin

The cabin was very comfortable and had everything we could possibly want; air conditioning, full size refrigerator, microwave, gas stove top, dishes, pots and pans, towels, television/DVR (including some movies), games and a few books. The lake was right outside the front door, so if you're looking for a place to fish, paddle a boat, or sit and read it's perfect for that. There is a path you can follow for a short hike to the river. Lots of deer, wild turkeys, frogs, etc. for you to enjoy. The cabin was NOT dirty, but I wouldn't advertise it as immaculate, either. We didn't see the owners at all, but they made it clear that if we needed ANYTHING, to call and they would do their best to see that we got it. {Secluded and very private.}

Doug Tuttle

Lincoln, NE

Great Guesthouse

What a great weekend getaway...and we were happy to discover its right in the middle of Crane Alley....so we hope to be back. Great little house....cozy, comfortable and a nice farm pond to enjoy!! The Lauer's were close by if we needed them and they even shared their garden produce. Easy walk to the Platte River. We loved the house and we might want to try their little cabin sometime too. Thanks Lauers!

Margie Gazinski

Omaha, NE USA

Wonderful Family Cabin- Best of Outdoors & Indoors

The Little Lauer Cabin is a wonderful family spot for an outdoor and indoor getaway. The cabin is clean, updated and has nice extra amenities, like Satellite TV, surround sound and air condition. The lake is perfect for fishing, enjoying the paddleboat, or for the kids chasing frogs. It was peaceful and fun. The short walk to the Platte River just added to the benefits of the location. The bedroom has a comfortable bed and the Loft was a fun space for the kids to camp out in sleeping bags. There are also two sofa sleepers in the living room. The kitchen has all the basics to cook or grill at the cabin, along with a Microwave oven and a dinette. There is a DVD player, movies, games, fishing poles, patio chairs, etc so we did not have to bring a lot of extra items along for entertainment. The Lauers do everything possible to make this a great getaway and we have already reserved our next stay!

Jackie Moravek

Scandia, KS USA

Cabin on Little Lauer Lake

Very clean and charming. A little difficult to find without a GPS. Hosts were very accomodating.

Carol Fiore

florida

Cabin on the pond!

The cabin had a beautiful view of the pond. It was very clean. We enjoyed all the birds, ducks and the large fish. It was a great place to just relax.

Audrey Barnum-Gress

Brighton, CO

Very Cute House

We stayed at the guest house and my first thought was this is ADORABLE! It was perfect for my family. It was so much better then a hotel with two little ones. BUT once we got settled we noticed the house was a little dirty. I ended up sweeping, vacuuming, and cleaning the bathroom. Then we noticed the sheets were dirty. So besides the cleaning issues we had it was a really cute house, and exactly what we were looking for. AND Marge was great, she appologized for her cleaning crew and made sure to change the sheets. All in all, we will be back again but I hope that the cleaning crew starts to clean a little better that way I don't have to do it when we get there :o)

Marvena Griffin

Topeka, KS USA

Peace and Quiet

We stayed in this cabin for 2 nights and it was wonderful. The owners are hospitable, the location perfect, the cabin fantastic. We fished, walked the path to the river, saw and heard various wildlife. We ventured into Kearney for supplies. It was so nice to sit on the back porch overlooking the water and visit, and watch and listen to country sounds. We were so relaxed and happy on our leave date that we didn not want to leave. We also layed on a blanket under the stars for a little romance. Great little place for a nice quiet peaceful refresher. Will recommend to all my friends and family.

Steve Paepke

Bellevue, Michigan

Just

Very comfortable and cozy. Tucked back in the trees next to a very nice small lake. Would be a little tight for more than 4 people, but was just great for the three of us. Everything provided and very clean and will kept up. Caught some nice bass and a catfish or two in the lake and several sunfish. If we find ourselves in that part of the country again, we would rent this cabin again without question.

Lina Sutton

North Platte, NE, USA

Very Peaceful

The cabin was great; very clean and comfortable. The setting was very quiet and peaceful. We'd definitely go back!

Derek

Iowa

Derek

We greatly enjoyed our stay in the cabin and it exceeded our expectations! Very clean and comfortable, with an incredible view from the back porch.

Rose Bernstein

Elkhorn, NE

Talk about a great place to stay!

This vacation stop does everything that the description says...and a whole lot more. If you want a secluded place to stay with wonderful accommodations and an array of outdoor activities to participate in-stay at this cabin! It was such a great experience that I found myself wishing we could stay longer!

Peter Eaton

Falls City, Nebraska

As Described

If you like a quiet location,then look no further. To quote my wife "quaint", "homely", "very nice". Peter and Linda, Falls City, Nebraska

mike

nebraska

shut down

This was a very nice get away to just shut down We started by using the grill cooking for a couple meals getting all the rest done inside.Then let our time start.It was our 25th. So we were looking just to get away.It is a quiet setting just deer and turkeys and each other that is all we were looking for and found it there. We brought everything we needed and did not leave that was nice sometime simple is best thanks

Scott Gompper

Los Angeles

Nice new Cabin & a great Setting

This is a very nice, new, clean well decorated cabin. It sleeps 3 people well, 6 is a push. The cabin is placed on a small lake behind a line of trees. I was very pleased with the cabin and will stay there again.

Wayne & Verla Jones

Valentine, Ne USA

Country Cabin

Absolutely wonderful, just like described and more. The first vacation when we didn't have to rest up from our vacation. Saw deer, blue heron, fish, many birds. Found something to do in the area for every day of the 10 days we stayed there.

Bob Wolf

Omaha, Ne USA

Relaxation at its finest

I was looking for a quiet, secluded spot where I could recharge my batteries before the start of another school year. Boy, did I find it. The cabin was perfect.

Marg

Lincoln, NE

Girls weekend

We recently had a weekend getaway with 4 awesome girlfriends and it was wonderful! Very inexpensive way to get away from the crazy life, enjoy each other and relax! All 4 of us commented how perfect it was & can't wait to take our families back for another weekend!

Betsy H.

Denver, Colorado

Wonderful little cabin near the Platte

We really loved this little cabin. It is very peaceful, right on a pond, and has a trail to a pretty bench on the Platte River. We could hear sandhill cranes all day and night and enjoyed the geese on the pond as well. The cabin is very clean and new. I suppose a really big man might find it a little claustrophobic, especially in the bathroom, but that did not bother us two women. It sleeps six, but remember that there is only one small bathroom. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We definitely look forward to returning to this nice place.

Colleen Bird-Grady

Hoyt, Kansas USA

It's worth every penny!

First, I want to Thank Marge for the wonderful hospitality. The cabin was a very nice retreat from life. It was very cold but great weather to do some needed cuddling. It had everything you need. We loved how close the water was and the porch on the back was nice. Thank you again. I also wanted to say if you like a great, wierd, and wonderful place we visited was The Pioneer Village in Minden. It was worth the $10.00 each and the 6 hours we spent there...Great, Great, Graet!!!! Thank you again Marge. Colleen

Marcia

United Kingdom

Quiet and convenient

We enjoyed our stay at the cabin and visited some local attractions. The Archway exhibit was very well thought out and especially for good for us as we are interested in history. We live in the country in the UK, so we really appreciated the quiet of the situation -- especially after our recent hotel stays. The 'welcome' touches were very thoughtful and showed consideration for your guests. Best regards, Marcia

Ho

MI

Lovely

The cabin is private, immaculate, completely functional, and wonderfully decorated. We used it as an alternative to a hotel, it was well worth it. It would be excellent for someone in town for business for extended periods of time.

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

From Owner: The Guest House review from the Gress family is 100% accurate - unfortunately - but we do believe in transparency for your sake when reading reviews. The Guest House was not clean enough, especially for toddlers and little ones who would play on the floor. The issue was dog hair. We tried to do all we could during their visit, including sanitizing the blankets and bedspread. (It was apparrent that the dogs had found the beds quite comfortable!) Because cleanliness is always our goal (the heading says "Immaculate Cabin" for a reason!), we have established the policy of "pets with permission only" so we can judge whether the size and number of dogs will create problems for us and the next guests. We love dogs. We love cats, and horses, and just about every kind of pet you can imagine. But, we must provide a clean environment for all of our guests. As noted, we have the right to make an exception to our polices, so some pets will be allowed depending on size and character. We thank the Gress family for their tolerance and we thank them for their kind way of expressing the problem. Marge Lauer

More Information

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 23 This year: 6,981 Since listed: 35,999
Last updated: August 19, 2014

Owner Profile

Marge Lauer

Marge Lauer

308.440.1045