Birdsong Vacation Cottage

The Birdsongs on the road to Lake Elsiebedroom with queen bedfull kitchen just bring foodNew kitchen all new appliancesliving room with 4 reclinersBeauty of new snowATV ride near PinehurstPine Point with Pine Creek in the backgroundFishing on Lake Elsie near KelloggTuckered out on the living room couch.Sunshine Mine Memorial"The hills are alive with the sound of Music"

Overview

Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1.5
Sleeps: 6
Type: Cottage
Per night: $65 - $75
Per week: $450
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: Yes
Description of the Kellogg vacation cottage rental
After a day of fun in the Silver Valley of Northern Idaho, who wants to be cooped up in a tiny, overpriced hotel room?

What you want is the affordable comfort and privacy of the nicely furnished Birdsong Vacation Cottage in the heart of the Silver Valley. Romp and play with your dog in the roomy fenced in back yard. Temporary tags with the address of Birdsong Cottage are provided in case FIDO gets out and can't find his way back home.

With 3 bedrooms and 1.5 baths, a full kitchen, living room and basement, The Birdsong Cottage offers you and your guests the clean, quiet, affordable comfort that you are looking for.

Both bedrooms on the main floor feature comfortable queen size beds. The third bedroom on the 2nd floor sleeps 3 on a bunk bed and a large futon.

Relax in one of the four big comfy recliners in the living room while watching cable TV or your favorite movie on DVD.

High Speed internet is available with the cable service and cell phone coverage is excellent so with either a laptop or your wireless internet card, you will be able to surf the net, check your email,and post your vacation pictures.

An unfinished , but clean and dry basement provides extra space if you need it. Keep your equipment downstairs out of the way. You will also find the full sized washer and dryer in the basement.

Large patio in the fenced back yard gives a great place for small children to play. A propane grille in the garage can easily be moved to the patio for cooking the trout you just pulled out of lake Elsie. Or maybe you just like the smell of those sizzling steaks.

It gets hot in Kellogg on a summer afternoon, so both floors have window mounted air conditioners that keep them cool.

This place is perfect for a family looking for an affordable vacation any time of the year. Not fancy, but not expensive either. So pick up the phone and call me or click on the "Contact Owner" button and drop me a line. I'll respond promptly.

Contractors from out of town who need to house a crew of 3 or 4 for the duration of a project are also encouraged to call me. This is much more economical than staying in a motel and eating in restaurants.
Area Information
Birdsong affordable vacation cottage is located just a half mile from the base of the gondola to Silver Mountain. The rails-to-trails bicycle and hiking trail that runs 73-miles is an asphalt trail that almost spans the Idaho Panhandle. The trail begins at Mullan, near the Montana border in the Bitter Root Mountains, and travels through the Silver Valley ending at the Hn'ya)pqi'nn Trailhead near Plummer on Idaho Highway 95. It is only 5 blocks from the Birdsong Cottage to where it passes through Kellogg. The town of Wallace, which looks just like it did in the early 1900's and probably will never change is just 15 miles east. You can rent snomobiles in Wallace where it is allowed to drive them on the town streets.

For the Quad ATV enthusiasts there are hundreds of miles of logging roads through the mountains around kellogg, Smelterville, and Pinehurst which will take you to some of the worlds most beautiful scenery and often encounters wild life to look at. I have seen black bear, moose, elk, deer even bunnies while riding in these mountains. Although there are stories that would lead one to believe: That if a bull moose is standing in the road looking at you he should not be challenged and the best course of action is to quietly back away. Usually one only sees the animal up close just long enough for them to run into the bush and disappear. Then if you stop and wait you can see them re-appear in the next clearing or next ridge.

Treat your family to a wonderful vacation in this beautiful part of Northern Idaho.

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Jan 01 2013 Dec 31 2014 $65 $75 $450 $1,500 3 Nights
Check In: 4 p.m. Check Out: 11 a.m.
Deposits: Half of rent due on booking to guarantee reservation. Remainder due 2 weeks before arrival. So far our vacationers have not caused damage and we currently don't collect a damage deposit. This could change if we start to experience a change in vacationer's behavior.
Payment Options: Mastercard, Personal Check, Visa
Other Fees: $75 cleaning fee persons over the basic 4 occupants are charged $10 each per night. Limit 4 extra people. Pet fee is $15.00 per pet per weekly stay.

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 2 Queen Beds
  • 3 Twin Beds
  • Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Parking Included
  • Pet Friendly
  • Full Kitchen
  • High Speed Internet
  • Patio
  • View (Mountains)
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Appliances

  • Blender
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • Toaster
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Gas Grill
  • Stove
  • VCR
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Washer/Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Oven
  • Activities

  • Basketball Court
    (<1 mile)
  • Grocery Store
    (<1 mile)
  • Pool
    (<1 mile)
  • Golf
    (6 miles)
  • Bicycling
    (<1 mile)
  • Hiking
    (<1 mile)
  • Restaurant
    (<1 mile)
  • Snowmobiling
    (10 miles)
  • Children's Pool
    (<1 mile)
  • Movie Theater
    (<1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (1 mile)
  • Boating
    (25 miles)
  • Cross-Country Skiing
    (<1 mile)
  • Park
    (<1 mile)
  • Fishing
    (5 miles)
  • Water Skiing
    (25 miles)
  • Downhill Skiing
    (<1 mile)
  • Playground
    (<1 mile)


Reviews for this vacation cottage rental in Kellogg, Idaho

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Robin Bussiere

Edmonton Alberta Canada

Great Little get away

We had a great week in Kellogg. There was 4 of us and we all had our own space to spread out and relax during the week. We had a great view out both the frount and back doors. Great Trails near by to hike or run! Excellent places to eat within walking distance ! Thanks for the wonderful week

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

It is gratifying to hear that our guests enjoyed a quiet relaxing vacation. This is a great place for hikers, bikers, skiers and ATV riders. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. When you return to Kellogg and stay with us again remind me that you wrote a review because I would like to express my appreciation by providing a discount on your next booking.

Ronda Cluff

Salmon, ID USA

wonderful

I appreciated the quick response to my inquiry. We committed due to Kellogg being a central location to our planned activities. The cottage was nice, clean and had a truly complete kitchen. The grill was a bonus feature. The barking dog next door however was not. We didn't spend much time in the back yard anyway. The girls loved the upstairs bedroom as it had a bunk bed and kid friendly features. The air conditioners were appreciated. All in all, a wonderful weekend exploring!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for your review. Next time you stay with us please remind me of this review so that I can show my appreciation. This is a fun area to explore I am glad that you enjoyed it.

Jennifer Zimmerman

Spokane, WA

Wallace, ID home

The rental was fantastic! We had a great time, but hope to visit Wallace in the summer when more activities are available.

Mary Paisley Watson

Ohio

Not a cottage but a house near a busy freeway

Pro: it was clean and bed was good. Cons: A/C didn't cool bedrooms, was loud and a wind storm in the living room. No grass in back yard, only weeds. No "cottage" ambience. Rec'd address (which would have shown house/neighborhood) after final payment. Wished we'd stayed at Silver Mountain Resort or in Coeur d'Arlene. Very disappointed, contacted Owner with dissatisfaction, no remedy provided. Beware: don't rent without a picture of exterior!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

I responded to every complaint but each time that I responded the complaint changed. My description on both websites is very accurate. It cost me $75 to have a plumber make a service call to tell me that the bathtub/shower was working properly. (response to one of the claims). Complained that their dog didn't like the weeds in the back yard then left a dog poop pile in the upstairs for the cleaning lady to deal with. All complaints were found to be unfounded when they were addressed.

Natosha Gushi

Helena, MT

Silverwood Trip!

we very much enjoyed our trip the yard was wonderful for the grandkids to play in after such a long time in the car. It was nice to walk into the house and have the air conditioner on after driving in 90+ degree heat. We would recommend this stay for any and all who were looking to stay in or around the area. Nice not to be cramped in a very small hotel room and the price was fantastic!! Thank you!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for your review. Its always great to hear that our guest had a good time. Remind me of this
review the next time you rent our cottage and I will be able to give you an appropriate discount.

Bruce Long

Washington

Ski trip rental

We rented birdsong for a February ski trip to Idaho. The town of Kellogg isn't much to visit, especially in winter. Birdsong was clean and ready for us when we arrived. Just right for a family of 5, 2 adults + 3 kids. The dog yard was very handy for our 2 pooches. The only negative is that it is on a busy street so there is some traffic noise and of course you have to watch your dogs closely when heading for the car. I would stay here again. The owners were great to deal with!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Harold Breaux

Dayton, WA

Cozy

The house was very clean. The beds were comfortable with nice sheets. The yard is large as promised. The weather did not cooperate with us and we were off season for some of the things available in the area but still a nice getaway. Nice trails nearby to take dog on. Went on a mine tour. The house was nice to come"home" to.

Brett Kelly

Sandpoint Idaho USA

Five great days in the Silver Valley

This will be our third annual vacation in the Kellogg area. Our primary interest is trout fishing and local mining history. Fulfilled all our needs in both areas. We also enjoy the freedom of a private home rental for this type of vacation and the Birdsong Cottage was the best accommodations we have ever had in the Northwest. We utilized all the amenities and the new kitchen was a real treat as we enjoying cooking fairly detailed meals, and as you advised we did not need to bring thing! Would return to this property without hesitation as long as the bite stays on! Best regards. Pat & Barbara Kelly

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for your glowing and unsolicited review. I so appreciate it that when you return for your next vacation and stay a whole week I will give you one night free ($65.00 value). Its always good to hear that our guests had a good time.

Thanks, Tal

Jerry Calderon

Portland, OR

GREAT HOUSE!

This house was immaculate, plenty of room, and very convenient between Kellogg, Pinehurst, and Wallace. Two grocery stores nearby and GREAT coffee stand up the road. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for your unsolicited review. To show my appreciation, if you return and stay at least a week I will give you one night free ($65.00 value).

Debbie McNeill Shell

Spanish Fork, Utah, USA

Birdsong Vacation

We had a great stay at the Birdsong Vacation Cottage. It was well kept, Clean, spacious and just nice to be at. It was easy access to the freeway. The yard was very pretty and the view was great. The Kitchen was well equiped and so were the bathrooms and bedrooms. I enjoyed my vacation without worry. Thank You Birdsong. I will rent again the next trip I make to Kellogg.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you so much for this unsolicited review and the glowing report. When you make your next trip to Kellogg and stay at least a week mention this note and I will give you one weeknight free. ($65.00 value)
Thanks, Tal

Bonnie Gee

Olympia, WA

Homey affordable family accomodation

My husband John and I took our daughter Jennifer and her 18 month old Annabelle, and our other grandchildren Lucia and Liliana to Kellogg to do the great 70+ miles of paved bike trail over spring vacation. While the weather was not ideal, everyone had plenty of exercise and retired each night to the comfort of this small older style home located just minutes from the bike trail in Kellogg, Idaho. With two bedrooms and a full shower bath downstairs, the adults and baby were comfortable. (We had our own portable crib). The 8 and 10 year old shared the bedroom under the eaves upstairs, as well as their own half bath. As in most old houses, the stairs going to the upstairs bedroom and the basement washer dryer were abrupt and fairly steep, so we were glad there was a portable baby gate. The kitchen was modern and complete with adequate dishes, pots pans and basic spices, etc. We made all our meals "at home" and found shopping easy and convenient. The backyard, though fenced, had a hole in the back fence with a barking dog, a broken gate and a downed fence corner which we secured to keep the little one safe. I'm pretty sure this was the mischief of the neighborhood kids who apparently played in the yard when no one was home. All in all, our hosts delivered exactly as promised--a comfortable, clean down-home cozy spot that was warm and had good service for our computer and cell phones. We didn't watch any TV, but I was told it also worked. We'd certainly be willing to stay at Birdsong's again! Sincerely, Grandma

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for this unsolicited review. The fences have been repaired and the back yard is secure for any children or pets to use. If you return for another week stay with us please mention this review and I will give you one basic night free ($65.00 value). Hope to have you back soon.

Mary Hanson

Bonney Lake, WA 98391

Great Vacation Property

The Birdsong Vacation Cottage was a wonderful place to stay for our skiing vacation getaway. It was super clean and the beds were very comfortable. The front livingroom window has a beautiful view of Silver Mountain and the gondola as well as views of mountains out the back windows. The kitchen has all the pots and pans and utensils we needed and the gas stove was great for cooking. It has a nice big dining table with an extra leaf in the closet. The back yard is big and fenced and perfect for letting our dogs out to play. I would definitely recommend this rental cottage to anyone who wants a nice home away from home. .

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent unsolicited review. I also appreciated getting the phone message about the kitchen faucet. Thank your husband for tightening it up. We will be staying there the 16th-18th of March and will take care of any maintenance or deep cleaning that might be needed.
We are glad that you had a great vacation.

The next time that you stay rent this cottage please mention this review and it will save you one nights basic rent.

Monika Martin

Iowa City, IA

It's a home away from home.

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at how clean yet simple this home in town was. It really had everything we needed for our stay in Kellogg. Grocery store only minutes away. You can bike or hike to anywhere in town including the mountain resort. It was warm and cozy, just like Grandma's house. Our kids liked the yard. Great for a small family.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

As a token of my appreciation for you taking the time to write a nice unsolicited review, the next time you come to Kellogg if you stay in this home for a week you will get one basic night free. ($65 value)
Thank you.

Cari Harris

Helena, MT

We had an AWESOME time

A group of us had traveled to Kellog from Montana and Washington to attend the annual Labor Day Flea Market. Not wanting to stay in a hotel, I began researching vacation rentals. It was with little trouble that I found the Birdsong Cottage. The price was fantastic and the owners were wonderful to work with. When we arrived we found the cottage to be just a comfortable and cozy as the pictures showed. All in all, we had a wonderful time, were able to relax after long days at the flea market, have a great comfortable nights sleep, and eat what we wanted given that we could fix it ourselves. I would for sure consider renting again and suggest this type of vacation rental to anyone.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for such a glowing unsolicited review. To show my appreciation the next time you stay with us for one week one of the nights will be free. (A $65 value)

Brenda Lester

Battle Ground, WA.

Birdsong Cottage - What a Delight!!

What a delightful little house. It had everything that we could have possibly needed during our stay. We felt "at home" there. I would recommend this little house to anyone wanting a family atmosphere because the little cottage provides just that. It was very clean with plenty of clean towels for our stay. It has the cutest kitchen complete with dishwasher. The washer and dryer came in handy too although I had to explore to find them because they are in the basement. The air conditioning worked great and was a welcome relief from the heat outside. If we ever travel that way again, we will definitely want to stay there. Thanks to all who are connected to this darling little house!

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for taking the time to write an unsolicited review. As a token of my appreciation, the next time you stay a week with us one of the nights will be free. (A $65 value)

Thank you.

Denise Olson

Marysville, WA

Our Family vacation to Silverwood

The house was a great place to stay. It was a lot nicer then staying in a hotel, or camping. Thanks for keeping the price down & making it an affordable place to stay. With all the money we saved we could have almost afforded to get a new Dodge truck from down the street.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Your time for writing a nice unsolicited review is greatly appreciated. When you stay with us for one week next time I will make one of the nights free. (A $65 value)

Thank you.

Sheba Nalle

Moscow, Idaho; Bellingham, Washington

Birdsong Vacation Cottage

The Birdsong vacation cottage is top notch. The whole place is cozy, well decorated, well stocked and clean. Everything is modern and in good working condition. The furniture is comfortable and clean and everything worked as described. There is a great back yard where we had a terrific family gathering. The house is as if it is your own - there are not rules posted everywhere as I have seen in many vacation rental homes. The owners are trusting, kind and prompt in their responses. The store is in walking distance, as is the liquor store, the antique/junk store and a local bar. There are also restaurants in walking distance. We plan to stay there every time we go.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice unsolicited review. To show my appreciation, on you next stay of one week with us, one of the nights will be free. (A $65 value)

Thank you.

Karen Birdsong Knickerbocker

Seattle, WA

Great summer getaway!

We stayed at this home with our extended family. It was really fun. There is a great bike trail right outside the door. We brought our ATVs because there were tons of logging roads to ride on. We saw all kinds of wild life. The backyard is huge big enough our kids pitched tents back there. The kitchen had everything we needed. It is a great small town but at the same time has a Walmart near by so it is easy to restock. I was also amazed by the scenery. The home was a great place to hang out but there was so much to do and see nearby we were hardly even home.

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Owner's reply:

Thank you for your unsolicited review. When you come to stay again I will make one of your nights free.
(a $65 value)--Thank you

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

Hi Tal and Rosalie,

I just want to thank you a lot for the wonderful little place you have in Kellogg.
The few days we spent there were absolutely great and coming back to such a pretty and comfortable cottage made our vacation.
As you have seen we are more to the spur of the moment vacationers and you made it so easy for us.
The yard was great for the dogs and they loved "missy fat puggy" in the next yard.
Even Jennifer was very kind to make sure we made it to the house.
Thanks again and I will remember tis place very fondly and hope to return in the future.

Wishing you the best
Cathy and Rick

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 181 This year: 2,319 Since listed: 5,425
Last updated: October 18, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Owner Profile

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

Talmadge & Rosalie Birdsong

360-435-7192

More about the owner
  • School:

    Rosalie: Kellogg High School, Tal: Del Norte County High School, Crescent City, CA, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • Work:

    Retired from US Army, Sheet Metal Workers, University of Washington
  • View full profile