Stonewall Hideaway on Grand Portage Lake in Mercer

Entry drive for WestLakeside of Stonewall Hideaway WestLakeside Deck on Stonewall Hideaway WestDeck View of Stonewall Hideaway WestLake view from Stonewall Hideaway East & WestLiving room of Stonewall Hideaway Westanother view of Stonewall Hideaway WestKitchen for Stonewall Hideaway WestMaster Bedrooom of Stonewall Hideaway WestTwin over Full Bunks 2nd Bedrooom WestAnother view of Stonewall Hideaway West BathroomStonewall Hideaway West BathroomStonewall Hideaway East DrivewayLakeside view of Stonewall Hideaway EastLiving Room of Stonewall Hideaway EastKitchen of Stonewall Hideaway EastMaster Bedroom of Stonewall Hideaway EastAddt'l room of Stonewall Hideaway EastBathroom at Stonewall Hideaway East
2351 County Highway J, Mercer, WI 54547

Overview

Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 8
Type: Cabin
Per night: $120 - $135
Per week: $700 - $750
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: Yes
Description of the Mercer vacation cabin rental
Comfortable and clean northwooods lake front private cabins are just 75' from lakefront. Only 30 yards from Snowmobile Trail #10 in Iron County!

The grounds have a gentle slope to Grand Portage (aka Tank) Lake. The lake is a sandy bottom with a gradual depth. Fishing is only as good as the fisherman; as Tank Lake offers Walleye, Northern, Musky, Bass, Perch, Bluegill. All make for some great fishing and eating. As Tank Lake is a public lake it is fun for jetski's, wake boarding, skiing, tubing or just a cruise around the lake.

You can ATV or Snowmobile from your door as Stonewall Hideaway is just 30 yards (across the street) from the ATV/Snowmobile Trail 10; which enables you to access hundreds of miles of ATV and snowmobile trails.

We also offer wi-fi.

Stonewall Hideaway West sleep accomodations:
2 bedrooms - sleep 10 guests(2 rollaway beds available)
1 Queen Bed
2 bunk beds with Full on bottom and Twin on top
Bathroom with Shower

Stonewall Hideaway East sleep accomodations:
sleep 7 guests (1 rollaway bed available)
1 Queen Bed in Master Bedroom
1 Queen sofa sleeper in Living Room
2 twin beds in additional room
Bathroom with Tub/Shower

Stonewall Hideaway is pleased to offer the following amenities:
*Fully equipped kitchen with microwave, coffee maker,
toaster, blender, crockpot and much more.
*Sheets, pillowcases, blankets, pillows & towels
*Gas furnace & gas woodstove (also provides heat)
*ceiling fans & box fans
*Two TV's per cabin with cable (59 channels)
*DVD Player + movies
*VHS Player & movies
*Nintendo 64 + games (West)
*Nintendo NES & games (East)
*Board games
*Charcoal Grill
*Firepit & stackable chairs
*Dock with rowboat (one 14'/one 12')
*livfvests and oars
*Patio tables with chairs/picnic table
*Pets are welcome with prior approval (West only)

We are County & Health Department licensed.
Area Information
Stonewall Hideaway is 1 1/2 miles from downtown Mercer; centrally located between Minocqua and Hurley.

Great area for cross-country skiing and just a short-drive away from downhill skiing in Ironwood Michigan.

If you are coming into the Northwoods via Hwy 51 through Wausau, Stonewall Hideaway is 100 miles north.

C'mon, stay at Stonewall Hideaway and enjoy your stay!

Ed & Janet
owners

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Sep 06 2014 Dec 01 2014 $120 $120 $700 - 3 Nights
Dec 02 2014 Mar 31 2015 $125 $125 - - 3 Nights
Dec 02 2014 Mar 31 2015 $135 $135 $750 $1,700 2 Nights
Apr 01 2015 Apr 30 2016 $120 $120 $700 $1,500 2 Nights
May 01 2015 Oct 13 2015 $135 $135 $750 $1,300 2 Nights
May 01 2015 Oct 13 2015 $125 $125 $750 $1,300 3 Nights
View all periods
Check In: 3 p.m. Check Out: 9 a.m.
Lodging tax: 10%
Deposits: 50% deposit within 5 days of request to hold reservation.
Payment Options: American Express, Discover, Mastercard, PayPal, Personal Check, Visa
Other Fees: Remaining balance to be paid 30 days prior to stay. Additional fees: $10 per guest per nite when more than 4 beds are needed. $5 per day/per pet with prior approval

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 3 Queen Beds
  • 2 Double Beds
  • 4 Twin Beds
  • 1 Sofa Bed
  • Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • High Speed Internet
  • View (Lake)
  • Balcony
  • Full Kitchen
  • Lakefront
  • View (Water)
  • Deck
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Linens Provided
  • Waterfront
  • Dock/Boat Slip
  • Heating
  • Pet Friendly
  • Wood Stove
  • Appliances

  • Alarm Clock
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Blender
  • DVD Player
  • Oven
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • CD Player
  • Hair Dryer
  • Radio
  • Toaster
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • VCR
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Iron
  • Stereo
  • Activities

  • Boating
    (onsite)
  • Snowmobiling
    (onsite)
  • Hiking
    (1 mile)
  • Winery
    (20 miles)
  • Canoeing
    (onsite)
  • Water Skiing
    (onsite)
  • Hunting
    (1 mile)
  • Bowling
    (25 miles)
  • Fishing
    (onsite)
  • Basketball Court
    (<1 mile)
  • Grocery Store
    (2 miles)
  • Casino
    (25 miles)
  • Jet Skiing
    (onsite)
  • Beach
    (<1 mile)
  • Restaurant
    (2 miles)
  • Downhill Skiing
    (25 miles)
  • Kayaking
    (onsite)
  • Bicycling
    (<1 mile)
  • Cross-Country Skiing
    (3 miles)
  • Movie Theater
    (25 miles)
  • Lake
    (onsite)
  • Park
    (<1 mile)
  • Golf
    (10 miles)
  • Shopping Area
    (25 miles)
  • Sailing
    (onsite)
  • Playground
    (<1 mile)
  • Horseback Riding
    (20 miles)
  • Zoo
    (25 miles)
  • Snorkeling
    (onsite)
  • Tennis
    (<1 mile)
  • Miniature Golf
    (20 miles)

Other Vacation Rental Amenities
Nearby towns offer seasonal Lumberjack shows, Wildlife Parks, Mini golf & Go-karts, great shopping and a variety of restaurants.

Reviews for this vacation cabin rental in Mercer, Wisconsin

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Bonnie Clark

Milwaukee, Wi

Clean & cute

Nice place private and clean. We had a nice time. Only drawback was I couldn't turn the oven on. Would like to stay there again sometime.

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

Thank you, Bonnie, as we aim to please. I wish you would have called us regarding the oven. We would have taken care of it right away. Turns out the knob was cracked and was hard to turn. We'd love to have you stay again!

Dana Hamilton Eklund

Illinois

Relaxing!!

Thank you for letting us stay at your hideaway!! It was a very fun, relaxing vacation! I'm so glad there are pet friendly places like yours-- our dogs had a blast too!! The cabin was very clean and offered privacy and serenity, but still had the town close by. We LOVED being right on the lake with a private dock for the boat as well!

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

Your review means so much to us, thank you, Dana.

Nichole Rauch

Evansville, WI

A great getaway!!!

My husband and I had such a relaxing weekend at Stonewall! It was great being right on the lake and having the ability to bring along our dog. It was beautiful one of our days where we were able to rent a fishing boat and spend the day on the water. Janet was so great in answering all my questions! Thank you again!

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

So glad you enjoyed your stay! We aim to make it just as guests would like. We feel dogs are part of the family and understand the enjoyment having them accompany the family. We can only hope you come again. Thank you. Jnet & Ed

Daniel Jones

Oshkosh, WI USA

What are you looking for

The cottage was very clean and nice. But if you looking for good local restruants and good fishing it the place the cottage is on, go somewhere else. The fishing is poor at best in the lake, verified by everyone I spoke to except the cottage owner. The local restruants are over priced and would never be able to stay in business outside of Mercer. If you want a place just to sit at the end of the dock and watch the sunset, it's a great place to stay (the Loones are nice)! If you're looking for things to do on the side, go elsewhere. Not reccomended overal !

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

Thank you for the positive feedback on our cabins being very clean and nice. As for the fishing...the fishing is only as good as the fisherman. A fisherman knows weather & lake temp can deter fish. They're either biting or not...that's the challenge. We have so many comments in our guest books and photos of great catches of the day! We're sorry you weren't able to experience it. As for the prices of the restaurants, they are comparable to any in the northwoods.

Christine Dwyer

Waunakee, WI

Just Lovely

We stayed the first week of August. We grew up in Mercer and chose this property due to being close to town, large and looked clean. We were not disappointed. The owners are wonderful to work with. We love that we could bring our Yorkies with us. Advertisement is accurate for this property. Really awesome experience.

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

thank you Christine, we really appreciate the comments. We look forward to having you back again and hopefully we can also extended to the members of your family that unfortunately couldn't come this year because it was already rented. Thank you again .

Cathy Hoese

Mayer, Mn.

Mystery Ride

We rented both the east and west for our stay. Other than the mosquitos being horrible, the place was perfect for what we were wanting for our group.

Bobbie Erwin

stevens point, wi

Great time!

We really enjoyed our weeklong stay at West - as did our dogs (which we appreciated the owners' permission to bring along!). The cabin is very well-equipped, comfortable and just steps from the lake, where there is a very nice dock where we kept our boat the first two days. Lots of great lakes in the nearby area and a nice park just down the road for the kids with a playground and beach. We would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone who is looking for a getaway "northwoods style".

Janet Calahan

Owner's reply:

Bobbie, THANK YOU! We can only hope that you return

Alysha Klassy

New Glarus

Happy with what you are doing with it.

I have not stayed here yet. But my Grandparents owned this property for many years. The took great pride in their home.I have planted many trees,build the rock walls and picked up many pine cones since I was a young child. I am so glad to see that you are taking great pride in their old but great property. They would be proud.

Charity

Wisconsin

Fun, relaxing vacation!

We just returned from a one-week stay at Stonewall Hideaway East, and we had a great time. We were so sad to leave and come back to the "real world." The accomodations were lovely, and the owners were friendly and helpful. The home we stayed in was much larger than our family of three really needed, but it was nice to have the space. The cottage was very clean and comfortable, and it had everything we needed (and more). We really enjoyed the large pier for fishing, the backyard leading to the water, full kitchen for cooking, charcoal grill, picnic table for outdoor eating, firepit right outside the back door, cable TV and games for cold, rainy nights... the list goes on. There was lots of entertainment nearby - shopping, restaurants, minigolf, and a wildlife park in Minocqua. But our favorite day trip was to beautiful Saxon Harbor, where we swam and had a picnic at the beach on Lake Superior. We highly recommend this rental, and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

We come to the northwoods for the past 12 yuears and stay at different places, but this is great! We will be returning next year.
The Webbs from Illinois

My wife & I usually stay at a another resort in Mercer mfo the past 8 years, but we wanted to try Stonewall Hideaway at last minute. We are so glad we did. The accomodations are immaculate. The Calahan's are great at what they do. We will being staying at Stonewall Hideaway again.
The Wilson's, Wisconsin

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What are the most fun things to do at your vacation rental?)
A: fishing, boating, playing in the water
Q: What makes your vacation rental special?)
A: private residences. In a quiet neighborhood, with only one neighbor within view. So close to town by one main road, but yet just outside of town limits that there is no traffic and no people. Quiet...peaceful

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 146 This year: 1,682 Since listed: 10,362
Last updated: September 15, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Owner Profile

Janet Calahan

Janet Calahan

630-696-6220