Beachside Cottage - Private, Peaceful, Spacious

The Hermit CrabLiving room view from the loftLiving room with plenty of seatingWii and Netflix entertainment centerLoft with foosball, games, TV, WiiDining RoomKitchen fully stockedLarge Deck with BBQ, picnic table, chairsMaster Bedroom with King size pillow top matress.Queen Bedroom upstairsBunk room upstairs with 2 sets of bunk beds.Hermit Crab Fire PitBeautiful Nedonna BeachNearby trout pondNedonna Beach starfishNedonna Beach tide pool sea anemonesMore amazing Nedonna Beach sea lifeKidArt Backsplash2 Full BathroomsLarge Deck, view 1Nedonna Sea Life 4Herb GardenLocal PlantsGame Room/LoftLocal Plants 2Local Plants 3Nedonna Sea Life 4Orca Whales visit NedonnaOrca Whales visit Nedonna 2Exciting Winter Storms 1Exciting Winter Storms 2Hermit Crab's spring tulipsMore of Hermit Crab's spring flowersHermit Crab's fall nasturtiumsNedonna Beach boogie boardingNedonna Beach skim boarding 1Nedonna Beach skim boarding 2Exciting Winter Storms 3Nedonna Beach driftwood creationsNedonna Beach sun and sea polished drift logsMiniature Golf in nearby RockawayPetting Zoo in Tillamook 20 min southTwin Rocks from Nedonna BeachHermit Crab's etched glass salmon 1Hermit Crab's etched salmon from bedroomHermit Crab's etched salmon from greatroomOversized Sofa and LoveNedonna Beach nature's sand artFront PorchCozy Bunk Room sleeps 4
8875 Sunset St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136

$93/night - Third Night Free

For stays between 10/18/14 and 11/1/14

Stay two nights and enjoy the 3rd night FREE. Includes weekends. Excludes holidays.

Overview

Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 2
Sleeps: 8
Type: Cottage
Per night: $130 - $170
Per week: $790 - $1,020
Pets allowed: No
Internet: Yes
Description of the Rockaway Beach vacation cottage rental
Comfortable, roomy and modern beach home just 200 steps from the pristine sandy beach where you can build sandcastles, collect sea shells, explore tide pools, take long walks.
Families love all the conveniences the Hermit Crab offers: a fully stocked gourmet kitchen, the comfortable beds with extra linens and blankets, comfy seating for everyone in the living room with oversized couches and recliner, and two very clean bathrooms with extra shelving for everyone's personal items. There is also a parking area large enough for your fishing boat!
Kids of all ages are drawn to the loft where they can hang out close by to play foosball, play Wii games, watch Netflix, read or play one of the many board games. At night the large fire pit is a definite favorite for gathering and roasting marshmallows, reminiscing about the day, and telling stories.
Don't order yet!" There is also a large back deck with a BBQ, large picnic table, and lounging chairs - plenty of room for dining or lounging with friends and family. Just around the corner from the fire pit is a full sized horse shoe pit.

Once you’ve experienced the Hermit Crab you’ll want to come back for more!

**10% DISCOUNT for repeat customers.

**(no pets, no smoking)
Area Information
BEACH: The pristine Nedonna Beach is in a private setting where you can build sandcastles, collect sea shells, explore tide pools, take long walks along the miles of shoreline, build an evening campfire, or just lay out and relax.

DINING & WINERIES: Several tasty restaurants in Rockaway, Nehalem Bay, Manzanita. Nehalem Bay Winery just a few minutes away.

FISHING: Stocked trout pond 1 block away. Jetty Fishery, Brighton Marina, Wheeler Marina all within 1-5 miles along Pacific Hwy 101. They have crabbing, salmon fishing, boat rentals, gift shops. Garibaldi, 15 mi. south on Hwy 101, has several marinas that offer deep sea charter fishing for halibut, tuna, salmon, bottom fish, whale watching, as well as Eco Tours, Scenic Excursions, sailboat charters, and weddings and ceremonies at sea.

HIKING and BIKING: Explore trails or find geo caches walking distance from the Hermit Crab like Nehalem Split Trail. There are also several popular trails along Hwy101 including Ecola State Park, Neahkahnie Mountain, Nehalem Bay State Park, Oswald State Park to name a few.

TRAIN TOURS (seasonal): Hop on a tour train right in Rockaway where you will be taken along the Pacific Ocean through the many little beach communities located along the shore.

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Sep 10 2014 Jun 17 2015 $130 $140 $790 $3,423 2 Nights
Jun 18 2015 Sep 09 2015 $170 $170 $1,020 $4,080 2 Nights
Check In: 4 p.m. Check Out: 11 a.m.
Lodging tax: 11%
Deposits: $150 refundable deposit
Payment Options: Cashier's Check, PayPal, Personal Check
Other Fees: $60 cleaning fee. No pets. No smoking.

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 1 King Bed
  • 1 Queen Bed
  • 4 Twin Beds
  • Features

  • Balcony
  • Full Kitchen
  • Heating
  • Parking Included
  • Beach Towels
  • Game Room
  • High Speed Internet
  • Porch
  • Deck
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Linens Provided
  • View (Mountains)
  • Fireplace
  • Appliances

  • Alarm Clock
  • Coffee Maker
  • Oven
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Blender
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Telephone
  • CD Player
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • Toaster
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Hair Dryer
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Washer/Dryer
  • Activities

  • Beach
    (onsite)
  • Fishing
    (<1 mile)
  • Miniature Golf
    (2 miles)
  • Deep Sea Fishing
    (8 miles)
  • Bicycling
    (onsite)
  • Hiking
    (<1 mile)
  • Restaurant
    (2 miles)
  • Golf
    (10 miles)
  • Ocean
    (onsite)
  • Park
    (<1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (2 miles)
  • Horseback Riding
    (10 miles)
  • Surfing
    (onsite)
  • Basketball Court
    (2 miles)
  • Kayaking
    (5 miles)
  • Parasailing
    (10 miles)
  • Whale Watching
    (onsite)
  • Grocery Store
    (2 miles)
  • Live Entertainment
    (5 miles)
  • Sailing
    (10 miles)
  • Boating
    (<1 mile)
  • Lake
    (2 miles)
  • Winery
    (5 miles)
  • Movie Theater
    (20 miles)
  • Canoeing
    (<1 mile)



Other Vacation Rental Amenities
Trout fishing pond 1 block away. Inside are board games, foosball table, Wii. Outside is a horseshoe pit, kids fort, and firepit.

Reviews for this vacation cottage rental in Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Melissa Stith

Owasso, OK

We love it!

My family and I have stayed here multiple times and love the location, the privacy, the quite neighborhood, and having the whole beach to ourselves. Gina is very easy to work with and answers any questions you might have. The only thing we wish was updated is the upstairs full/queen bed. Other than that, we have no complaints and will be back again when we can.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

Yes, the queen room is due for a new bed to equal the awesome comfort of the king bed downstairs. Expect the improvement during our winter updates. Thank you Melissa, for the feedback. Happy Summer!

Gloria Auler

Flagstaff, AZ

Loved it here

Great place for a family. Provides many extras - games, toys, well stocked kitchen supplies. Easy walk to beautiful beach and fishing pond. Owner was great to deal with. Very comfortable, bright, clean home. We would love to stay again.

Audra Distifeno

Eastern Washington USA

We had a magical time!

My family rented the Hermit Crab for a month and it was perfect for all 5 of us. Its fantastic location -- close to the beach and also a stocked trout pond (my son and 4-yr-old daughter were in heaven!), just north if downtown -- was great for us. The house has ample sleeping space, nice amenities (including a nice tv, direct tv and ipod dock/speaker, foosball table, games, etc),.deck with picnic table and nice charcoal grill, and beautiful setting surrounded by green.plants and trees, all if which made our stay the best it could have been. Some beach rentals smell musty, but not this one. It's immaculate, smells good, and the is stocked with top-of-the-line dishes, utensils, etc. The owner, Gina, was available and happy to provide everything we needed. It was hands-down the best vacation I've had in years. We will definitely be back to The Hermit Crab...thanks, Gina!

Joe Nonne

Gladstone, OR.

Great Place

The Hermit Crab had everything we needed. Perfect layout and plenty of room for cars and large boat. Gina, the owner, was great to deal with providing all the information needed to make are stay a pleasant one. We will definitely be back.

Jessica Jarris

Portland, OR

Lots of Beds and Close to the Ocean

Had a great weekend with a group if friends, plenty of rooms to beds to sleep in and a big common area where we could hang out. Great big deck and just a few blocks from the ocean. Definitely recommend for groups looking for a place to share for a weekend getaway!

Carma Glausi

West Linn, OR

Clean and Relaxing!

This was our second visit to the Hermit Crab. Our family had a whole week (last week of August) to enjoy the clean, quiet, comfortable house just 3 blocks from the beautiful beach. Plenty of room for everyone (2 adults and 4 kids.) During our first stay 2 summers ago, we had 2 adults and 6 kids in our group, and everyone fit comfortably then, too. We love the beach. We love the house. We love the cute town of Rockaway Beach. We will definitely be coming back to the Hermit Crab.

Pam Watson

Beaverton, Oregon USA

Hermit Crab

Cute and cozy! Loved the beach access! Firepit out back was an added bonus!

Jen

Mundelein, IL

Exceeded Expectations

We booked the Hermit Crab for a 5 night stay. Gina, the owner, was super easy and nice to work with. We were beyond surprised when we got there to see how "stocked" the refrigerator and pantry were - literally every condiment and spice was covered! We appreciated how clean and tidy everything was and absolutely loved the easy 2 block walk to the beach.

Juan Vasquez

Hillsboro, OR

Great experience!!

We stayed in the home for 2 full days and it was very relaxing. It was very close to the beach and we enjoyed the outdoor activities such as the fire pit and BBQing. The only feedback Is that the BBQ grill was a bit dirty when we first used it, however, once we cleaned it, it was good to go. I would definatelly stay there again and I would strongly recomend it as the house was clean, the location was great and it was very relaxing.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

Thank you for the kind words and the tip about the BBQ. We will now be sure the BBQ is clean for future customers!

C Anahi Garibay

Keizer oregon

Great relaxing place

This place gets better and more relaxing as we return. This year's the second year we come and it was great! Not only was there free fishing the weekend we stayed, we had a relaxing time with our family. Home away from home!

Georgia Hilber

Chippewa Falls WI

Fun was had by all !

Our stay at the Hermit Crab way exceeded our expectations. The owners really go out of their way to ensure that your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. We definitely recommend staying at Hermit Crab and we hope to return in years to come.

Sarah Martin

Newberg, OR

Perfect Weekend

We had the perfect place for our family of five. The kids loved the bunks. There was plenty of space for us. The kitchen was well equipped for our "at home" Meals. Close to the beach and so peaceful. The fire pit was great! We had smores.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

Your review is so appreciated. It is good to know everyone enjoyed their Hermit Crab experience. Please come and visit again!

Paul Naber

Ferndale, WA

A Great stay

Great stay for 2 nights. Comforts looked after for us!

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

It is great to have wonderful renters like you two. Come back again soon!

Gina deGroot

Beaverton OR

Great home! Incredibly child friendly

I always dread going to beach houses because they have all this beautiful decor that I'm terrified my three children are going to ruin. This home was absolutely beautiful and very child friendly. It was clean and spacious. Great location. We stayed labor day weekend and the beach was still a nice quiet place. Love it. Can't wait to come again next year.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

The Hermit Crab looks forward to your return!

Loretta Blankenship Savri

Sweet Home, OR

Great Vacation!

We brought 4 boys under the age of 6 and my 14 month old was able to walk to the beach, so it is a short trip. The house is clean and well stocked. The fridge had a problem and the owner had a new one there in hours and then sent a huge gift basket to apologize.(well done if something had to go wrong.) A few tips, if you want more condiments than ketchup/mustard, bring them. I had to go to the store, which was a bit annoying since I had hoped to never leave the house/beach. If you have a baby, bring a baby gate. (this would have made our life so much less stressful) I was pleasantly surprised by the little extras like marshmallow roasting sticks,beach toys, kites, laundry detergent, movies and game selection, 3 televisions, hairdryers, great coffee, etc. The beach location was perfect! It was like having a private beach because it wasn't right in town. Also, do your grocery shopping in Tillamook on the way in if you are coming from the south. The small store in town is very small and high on prices. Overall I would very much recommend this house and this beach.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

Ms. Savri, Thank you for the very helpful suggestions and patience with the unexpected. Thanks to you I will provide better clarification of the condiments that are available and a baby gate will be added to the Hermit Crab's conveniences immediately.

Connie Kirk

CD'A, Idaho

Family vacation

We enjoyed our entire week at the Hermit Crab....we were so close to so much to do that we took full advantage of it!!! We traveled to Newport to the aquarium & then another day to Seaside!!! The weather wasn't too bad...but we still enjoyed the ocean & the firepit at night....we will be back!!! Thank you!!!

Brett Thomson

Brisbane , Australia

Hermit crab beach house

Exceptional, we were extremely happy with everything. Close to the beach, all the items provided for a pleasant vacation.made it so easy since we travelled from Australia we could not bring slot with us.

Pavel Tsygipalo

Clackamas, OR

Great house

Great house. Very spacious and had everything we needed. We all had a wonderful time and wished we could have stayed longer.Thank you.

Mary fields

portland,or usa

relaxing

My family and I enjoyed the stay. It was very accessible and the instructions were very helpful.

Gina Burton

Owner's reply:

I am glad you and your family enjoyed the Hermit Crab. Come visit the Hermit Crab any time!

Jacob Craig

Sioux City, IA

Absolutly Beautiful

Our Family rented the Hermit Crab this July. It was specious and had everything anybody could want. It was clean and litterly steps from the beach. We made smores in the firepit, grilled on the grill, and my boys flew kites on the beach. There was plenty of room for all 6 of us and the foosball table and Nintendo were a plus in the evening. I would highly recommend it to anybody. Thanks for a great vacation. The Craig Family

Julie Hicks

Portland, OR 97229

Clean and Cozy Beach House

What a perfect location for a get away! The house is clean, roomy and well stocked. The lot is roomy and streets are very quiet. Beach access is easy and if you're lucky the weather will cooperate too. We'll be back again.

Ashley Boal

Portland, OR

Wonderful vacation home

A group of 8 of us recently went to the hermit crab for thanksgiving weekend. We had a wonderful time. The house was stocked with almost everything we needed to have a thanksgiving dinner for the group and the amount of space accommodated everyone. The house has 2 rooms with large beds and one room with 2 bunk beds, so it is a bit of a squeeze with 8 adults. The area is very cute, it is a short walk to the beach and a short drive to other beaches (ie- cannon beach). I would definitely stay again!

Glenn Mikkelson

Pocatello, ID USA

Cozy Cottage

Enjoyed the open floor plan and the additional private apartment with a loft. Ideally located

Hector Ortiz

puyallup,wa

Hermitt Crab

It was a very pleasant experience. I plan to go back in the near future.

Peter Miller

Walla Walla

great location

We prefere to not stay right on the beach, it was just a short walk away. The yard was lush and quiet, the house was well stocked. Our family of seven had a great time!

Gayle Talbot

Moses Lake, WA

Winter Family Reunion

I rented the Hermit Crab for a couple of nights the end of December because I wanted my adult children to come with me to visit my mom in assisted living nearby in Tillamook. This Beach House was very new, no musty smells...more like a resort. Very nice kitchen and appliances, comfy sofa and loveseat, everything is quality! We loved the gas fireplace! Best of all, the price in winter is excellent!! The 6 of us had a fantastic time and there was plenty of room for everyone. Winter at the ocean is still mild and we spent time on the beach each of 3 days. Great time of year for picture taking and whale watching! We were told that 30 whales pass by every hour...I did actually see a whale spout on this visit! The owner, Gina, is fabulous to work with and very helpful. You can't go wrong in renting this home...we are hoping to be back in summer (the normal time to visit a beach).

Rhea Farmer

Hermiston, Oregon USA

Hermit Crab

This is a lovely home with all the amenities. The short walk to the beach was lovely and the beach outstanding. We had a wonderful Thanksgiving with family at the Hermit Crab. "Don't be crabby, you're at the beach!"

Nicole Daviau

Vancouver, Wa

The Perfect Getaway!!

We just had the pleasure of staying at The Hermit Crab! What a beautiful comfortable house. Very clean full of amenities and well stocked. My girls had the best time, they loved the bunk beds and my husband and I loved the close walk to the beautiful beach!!! We have definetly found our new retreat for weekend getaways, we were so sad to leave. Thanks Gina for letting us enjoy your beautiful house. Hope to see it again! The Daviau's

Miranda

rapid city, SD

Rockaway beach house

We had a wonderful time staying at the hermit crab. The house was amazing very clean and neat. The price of the house was awesome compaired to what you would pay for a hotel. Everything was provided for us, and that was very nice. If were ever near the Oregon coast the hermit crab is where we would like to stay again.

Jennifer Bergmann

Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Home Away From Home

What a great home for our family of 8! Everything we needed and then more. Spices, condiments and even Starbucks coffee to brew fresh each morning. Nintendo, Foosball, DVD s, Beach toys, and books all available for our use. It was wonderful to walk the beach, hunt for shells, watch the waves and then return to our cozy home. The weather was typical, the chowder awesome, and the people very friendly. We would definitely love to go again! The Burtons were a pleasure to book with. From The Bergmann 8

Shuntena

Portland

Hermit Crab

We had such a nice and relaxing time at your home. It was perfect! (although we counted 250 - 300 steps to the beach! he he he :) ) Your home was clean and very inviting! we felt very comfortable and loved the foos ball table! thank you again!

Lisa Wurts

Anchorage, AK USA

Hermit Crab

The beach house was awesome and completely filled the needs of the vacation. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to get away to. Thanks! Lisa

Steve Tibbits

Vancouver, WA

Hermit Crab at Rockaway

This house was clean, new, well equipped in a quiet neighborhood, with easy beach access. A good value and a reasonable, easy to work with owner.

Noel Miles

Portland Oregon

The Perfect Retreat

We had just moved away from family in Boise Idaho to an apartment in Portland. Thanksgiving was coming up and my family wanted to come to Oregon for the Holidays. Not able to house everyone I started looking for a beach rental. After many hours searching we came across the Hermit Crab. It was perfect, enough games for adults and kids, there was never a dull moment! The kid friendly environment with Bunk Beds and Character table settings to the fort outside, was a seller. The BBQ pit is a great asset for those who want to be one with nature. The area is so beautiful tucked away amongst the trees yet a simple stroll to the beach. We will definitely be back!

CarDell Mortensen

Morgan, Utah USA

Hermit Crab Review

A home away from home...A great place to stay with all the amenities...Ideal location, uncrowded beach and close to all that Oregon has to offer...I shall return.

Colleen Swanson

Brooklyn Center, MN USA

Wonderful place to stay

We had a wonderful time last week at the Hermit Crab. It is a beautiful house and the ocean was awesome. It is convenient to the ocean without being right on it. It was really cool to hear the ocean while we were sitting around the firepit. The house is beautiful and was very clean and well stocked with the essentials. Thank you so much for letting us stay there. The Swansons June 2007

The Eldridge Family

Central oregon

CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!

We stayed in early May with another family. Between us we had three children under 3. The house was great. So well taken care of and some great amenities. It was perfect for two families because there were bathrooms both upstairs and downstairs and lots of room. It is in a great housing area that is very close to the beach. We really enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and to the beach every day. In fact we already talked with our friends and want to go back in the Fall and try and make this a biannual trip with them. We are recommending the Hermit Crab to all of our friends (just not on the weekends we want to go back!)

The Rose's

St.Paul, OR USA

Family Fun

A great accomodation for families, and especially those with little children. We were delighted that there were books and games available for our little ones, as well as kid-friendly cups. The short walk to the beach is safe and we loved that it was really quiet and not crowded. I would recommend this vacation home in a heartbeat!

A renter

Aloha, OR USA

Great beach house, great location, great price

Beautiful house. Great location. We loved the outside fire place and the game room. Definately will stay there again

Brandie Kajino

Vancouver, WA USA

Our Stay at the Beach House

We had a wonderful stay at the Burton Beach House. It was so beautiful and new! We were not expecting the house to be so updated and fresh. Very well worth the money!

A renter

Vancouver, WA USA

We had a fantastic time

Thanks for letting us use your vacation home. We had a fantastic time. The children were more than happy-they stayed busy the whole time. The weather was warm and sunny-rained at night, but that made it cozy. We got to enjoy the fire pit too! I am looking forward to another trip to the coast real soon.

na

Portland, OR

We will be back

Thank you for the nice weekend, we loved the Hermit Crab and her amenities! We hope to rent it again sometime soon.

Paul Ban

Pocatello, Id. USA

Very pleased

Great place. New,homey, all amenities available. Good for family or couples.The family that owns it are polite and very helpful. Friendly townspeople. No crowds. Beach very accessible. Good fishing, crabbing and hunting. Quaint, peaceful and very comfortable. Will return.

Heidi Wheeler

Chubbuck, Id.,USA

First time to the ocean!!!

What a magnificent trip for our family!We never imagined a beach like this existed other than magazine pictures!The people in Rockaway were so enjoyable to get to know. The house is beautiful, well equipped and nicely decorated.The owners are polite and easy to work with. It was nice to be able to call them about any questions.Wonderful hosts! The people, landscape and homeowners have made a family's dream come true. We all hope to come back soon.

Judy Lagos

Pocatello, Idaho 83204

Wonderful Beach House

A brand new beach house. Very neat. Very clean. Cozy, comfortable and reasonable. Clean beautiful beach, never crowded with people. Lots of sea life. All the conveniences of home, and, you will never want to leave.

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

...we had a lovely weekend. The sunsets were spectacular due to the smoke from wildfires when we stayed. We took long walks, collected sand dollars, hung out in Cannon Beach and had a good dinner at Dooger's. My husband got a good laugh from the singing fish. It was a great way to spend some family time before my older daughter went back to college. Thanks for making your house available through the auction.

More Information

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 498 This year: 3,010 Since listed: 40,103
Last updated: October 19, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Owner Profile

Gina Burton

Gina Burton

503-939-3876