Hidden Jewel

Private entrancePrivate deckRoomPath to DeckFrom the street, you will see path on left sideOcean viewView from the Douglas Family PreserveIsland View
136 Oliver Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93109

Overview

Bedrooms: Studio
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 2
Type: Home
Per night: $75 - $125
Per week: $490 - $690
Pets allowed: No
Internet: Yes
Description of the Santa Barbara vacation home rental
Large bedroom with adjoining bathroom/shower on a quiet residential street 300 yards from the Pacific Ocean is a perfect destination for singles/couples looking to enjoy the beauty of Santa Barbara. The space includes a large private enclosed deck which has been used by many guests for their surfboards and bicycles.
Within a short walk, you will find a variety of restaurants - Thai, Japanese, Chinese, Italian, American, several pizza joints, fast-food,and the award-winning Mexican Restaurant: Rose Cafe. There are also two super markets and, of course, a Starbucks. If you care to do some light cooking in the room, it is equipped with a microwave/convection oven, single burner hot plate and pans, electric frying pan, George Forman grill, toaster, coffee maker, electric tea pot, rice cooker and blender, as well as all the eating utensils, plates, bowls, cups, etc. There is also a small refrigerator. For your entertainment there is a TV with cable, a DVD player and Wi Fi.
Area Information
We are located on a wide quiet neighborhood street with beautiful ocean/island views on the Mesa in Santa Barbara. A ten-minute walk will take you on to the Douglas Family Preserve (look it up). Watch the sunset, the dolphins and the whales (in season) at this beautiful 70 acre bluff-top preserve with gorgeous island and mountain views. Four short blocks away are stairs down to the sand. Approximately 3 miles will take you to the heart of downtown or to the Harbor Area with its many attractions. There are miles of bike paths along the ocean front and bike rentals abound. There is much to so in Santa Barbara: hiking trails, world-class shopping and restaurants, wineries, several golf courses and more.

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Oct 01 2013 Dec 31 2014 $75 $90 $490 - 2 Nights
Oct 01 2014 Dec 31 2014 $75 $90 $490 - 2 Nights
Jan 02 2015 May 31 2015 $75 $90 $490 - 2 Nights
Jun 01 2015 Sep 30 2015 $100 $125 $690 - 2 Nights
Check In: 2 p.m. Check Out: 11 a.m.
Lodging tax: 12%
Deposits: We ask for a deposit of $100 to reserve the room - payable thru PayPal, by credit card or by personal check.
Payment Options: PayPal, Personal Check
Other Fees: There is no cleaning deposit, so there are no other fees besides the 12% Bed Tax which is a citywide mandate.

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 1 Queen Bed
  • Features

  • Beach Towels
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • View (Mountains)
  • Cook
  • High Speed Internet
  • Parking Included
  • View (Ocean)
  • Deck
  • Kitchenette
  • Appliances

  • Alarm Clock
  • DVD Player
  • Microwave
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Blender
  • Hair Dryer
  • Radio
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Maker
  • Iron
  • Refrigerator (Mini)
  • Activities

  • Basketball Court
    (<1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (<1 mile)
  • Jet Skiing
    (3 miles)
  • Winery
    (3 miles)
  • Beach
    (<1 mile)
  • Snorkeling
    (<1 mile)
  • Kayaking
    (3 miles)
  • Zoo
    (4 miles)
  • Bicycling
    (<1 mile)
  • Surfing
    (<1 mile)
  • Live Entertainment
    (3 miles)
  • Bowling
    (8 miles)
  • Grocery Store
    (<1 mile)
  • Tennis
    (1 mile)
  • Movie Theater
    (3 miles)
  • Hiking
    (8 miles)
  • Ocean
    (<1 mile)
  • Windsurfing
    (2 miles)
  • Pool
    (3 miles)
  • Horseback Riding
    (8 miles)
  • Parasailing
    (<1 mile)
  • Boating
    (3 miles)
  • Racquetball
    (3 miles)
  • Canoeing
    (14 miles)
  • Park
    (<1 mile)
  • Deep Sea Fishing
    (3 miles)
  • Sailing
    (3 miles)
  • Lake
    (14 miles)
  • Playground
    (<1 mile)
  • Fishing
    (3 miles)
  • Volleyball Court
    (3 miles)
  • Casino
    (20 miles)
  • Restaurant
    (<1 mile)
  • Golf
    (3 miles)
  • Water Skiing
    (3 miles)
  • Hunting
    (25 miles)
  • Scuba Diving
    (<1 mile)
  • Gym/Fitness Center
    (3 miles)
  • Whale Watching
    (3 miles)

Reviews for this vacation home rental in Santa Barbara, California

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Marj Melchiors

Arizona

Lovely home

Nice accommodations in this home in Santa Barbara in a very beautiful and safe neighborhood. The room I stayed in was tastefully decorated and clean. Would stay there again!

Norma Robles

Los Angeles, CA

"Love the peacefullness"

My husband and booked this wonderful hidden jewel and I must say we were extremely happy with the convenience it offers. We felt right at home, we had all the essentials we needed to make our mini vacation comfortable and accessible. The property is indeed close to the beach, restaurants and downtown SB. We enjoyed every bit of the property and its surrounding areas (Starbucks, Albertsons, Chinese Restaurant, Green Spa- loved it). Highly recommend it!! Thank you for your hospitality Peter and Julie, we will definitely come back!

Gerri Crelot

Sedona AZ

Perrfect!!!

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and saw the place we had booked online. It met and exceeded our expectations. The space is clean, quiet, very close to the ocean. We could hear the waves early in the morning. The deck is the perfect place for morning coffee and evening wine. We are already planning our next trip to SB and will stay in this lovely place.

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

We're glad you and Sam enjoyed your time here. You are certainly welcome to stay here on your next visit to SB.
Peter & Julie

Tamera Green

South Windsor, CT

perfect location

Place was ideal. Santa Barbara is beautiful. Location close to everything but very clean private neighborhood area. Would recommend to family and friends. Simple, affordable, nice owners, and quick walk down the street for ocean views and nightly sunsets. So much to do in area. We were up and out for the whole day every day of our visit. Hated to come home.

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

We're really glad you had such a good time here. Come back anytime.
Peter and Julie

Ryszard Guzowski

seattle wa

santa barbara

great place for budget watching users,nice room,close to everythink,grocery store,healthy food store ,gas station,restaurants,

charlie chu

Bay Area , CA

Hidden gem

With hotel prices starting from the $150 upward, we were only a hunt for good deals. We found this rental property and decided to give it a shot . Peter and his wife was extremely helpful even before we arrived . He gave his ideals on where to go and what to see on the drive down to SB. When we arrived we were meet with a baske of fresh fruits and pastries along with a welcome note . The room was very clean and they had enough kitchen ware for us to make dinner so a major plus for that. Overall we greatly enjoye our stay and if given the chance we would come back. I highly recommend this place !

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the kind words Charlie. You are welcome back any time.
Peter and Julie

Fran Martin-Unick

Colorado Springs, CO USA

Perfect Hideaway

This was the perfect place for the 3 day weekend where we attended my class reunion. Reasonably priced. Will stay again in the future. Thank you!

Liza Kilgariff

Sacramento CA, USA

Destination wedding getaway

If you're looking for a very reasonably priced accommodation in the Santa Barbara area this is it. It has it's own private entrance and deck. The room stocks just about everything you would need to cook a full meal without actually having a stove. Peter and Barbara have thought of everything and they are most gracious and welcoming as is their great big red pooch, Clancy. My only want was for a little more lighting but still, we were more than satisfied. Great little hideaway!!

Simone G.

Milan, Italy

Very nice accomodation

It's a nice accomodation, small but completely equipped and very well positioned. Hosts are willing and cleaning is ok. Suggested!

Bill Kelly

Palm Desert, CA

SB Rental

Convenient to a shopping center with a Starbucks, great cafe and Albertsons. The bed was acceptable. the space heater for the room worked well. The refrigerator and other items for eating worked out good. Great TV. the bathroom was small and the shower had some mold in it and I brought this to the owners attention. Probably great for summer rental use.

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the feedback, Bill. We use a non-toxic cleaning solution in the shower when we don't have a break between guests. Your stay was near the end of a consistently booked period. When we have a break of a day or more between guests we use a more toxic chemical which attacks the mold. It's unfortunate that your stay fell when it did, because we have never had that complaint before. When the current guest leaves tomorrow, we have a 3 day break and I will see to it that the shower is mold free. We do appreciate your comments -- Peter and Julie

Daniel Leshowitz

Berkeley, CA

Close to the beach

Room was clean and owners were very nice. Experience was similar to other reviewers. Definitely would recommend it -- as long as don't mind the bathroom "door".

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

We understand the comment about the bathroom door. A conventional door will not work due to the loack of space. Years ago we had an accordion-type plastic door, but that didn't last too long. We will explore a couple of other options including a larger curtain. Frankly, it has not been an issue for the majority of our guests. Thank you for the feedback. We will look to get something more substantial.
Peter and Julie

Anna Reid

Downey, Ca.

Fantastic/Hospitable

When my fiance and I had arrived to this "Hidden Jewel" destianation, upon arrival we were immediately pleased. As we got out of the car we felt the ocean breeze, the property and neibhorhood was beautiful, and we had our own seperate entrance to our room. We had our own patio deck on entering our room, which was great because we had option to sit outside privately. The room was clean/cozy and the owners left a very welcoming note on our arrival stating for us to help ourselves to bagels, cream cheese, juice in the fridge. We didn't even know we were going to have a little fridge, and not to mention there were cabinets filled with dishes/utinsils to use. The owners were super nice and very attentitive. The only thing I can think of that was not convienient is the cell phone reception. At times I couldn't get it, but that was no biggie, I would just have to walk around to find it, other then that, the visit was Great. Also the distance to local shops and resturants was within 10 minutes or less, and close to state street. Thank you Peter and Julie, we will definitley be staying here in the near future :) The Fentons

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

It was a pleasure to have you and Sean choose our "Hidden Jewel" for such a special occasion. We have had people stay here who are here for a wedding, but having the guests be the bride and groom was a first. We are glad you had a great time and we look forward to a future visit.
Peter and Julie

Mark Anderson

Bedford, TX

Perfect

We could not have picked a better place for our stay. Within walking distance of the beach and very close to food and shopping as well. Just the right size for a couple on the go to come back and relax in between adventures. Thank you Peter!

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

Thanks Mark. I just love it when our guests get out and explore some of the things this area has to offer. Come back anytime you need a break from Big D.
Peter

Bonnie Pardue

Northern Calif.

Cute and private

The owners are very nice and helpful. The apt. is cute in a great neighborhood. You can see the ocean from the front yard. Apt. has it's own cozy little patio. Apt has nice ammenities. Comes with the little extras you won't get at a motel.

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Owner's reply:

Thank you, Bonnie. You and your son are welcome back whenever you want to come back to beautiful SB.
Peter and Julie

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

Your spot was great... It had everything we needed plus more, and the location was super. We loved exploring your local beaches via the Mesa Steps and 1000 Steps, enjoying the views from the Douglas Family Preserve, and discovering the bridge over the arroyo. It was also a quick drive to downtown Santa Barbara and UCSB.
Thanks so much for offering your home to visitors of your lovely city!
~JE, Seattle, Washington

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 103 This year: 6,327 Since listed: 11,161
Last updated: October 18, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Owner Profile

Peter & Julie Newendorp

Peter & Julie Newendorp

(805)963-3088