WV Romantic Cabin-Fox's Lair- Hot Tub,Dogs Allowed

Fox's LairBeautifully landscaped on the mtn.Cozy Living RoomMain BedroomKitchenQuaint and CozyDining AreaHot tub, grill, bench, horseshoe pit
12850 S Mill Creek Rd, Smoke Hole, WV 26847

Overview

Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1.5
Sleeps: 5
Type: Cabin
Per night: $125 - $150
Per week: $900
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: No
Description of the Smoke Hole vacation cabin rental
462 Forest Retreat Drive Rough Run, WV 26847
Our personal web page can be found at LTDvacationdotcom.

Fox's Lair is a 650 sq. ft. 2 Bedroom, 1 1/2 bath cozy cabin. The master bedroom features a queen bed, half bath and satellite tv. The second bedroom features a daybed with trundle (two twin beds). The living room has a pull out chair to provide an additional sleeping arrangement for one. The rugged log exterior is complimented by the rustic pine interior with oak and tile floors throughout. Fox's Lair can accommodate up to 5 guests and is pet friendly. This cabin is a perfect escape for two, two couples or a family with 2 or 3 small children. For more information visit us at LTDvacation - use an internet search.

Fox's Lair is equipped with many modern comforts:

Kitchen
2 Satellite TVs
DVD/VHS Players
Video Games (PS2)
Selection of Books, Movies and Games
Pet Friendly
Washer & Dryer
All Electric Heat/AC
Outdoor Propane Grill
Outdoor Hot Tub
Located on 10 acre wooded lot
Decks & Pavilion on
2 Private Ponds
Marked Hiking Trails to the Ponds
Area Information
Smoke Hole Canyon/South Branch of the Potomac River is the perfect fishing spot and we are only about a short 20 minute drive away. Do you have spouses or friends that don't want to fish but want to come along? They will be very comfortable in our cabin-relaxing, reading, cooking, hiking, shopping or watching a movie

Our up-scale vacation home is located in the private community of Mountain Lake Retreat, in Rough Run, between Petersburg and Franklin, West Virginia. Situated in the Potomac Highlands of West Virginia, within a 3 1/2 hour drive from most major mid-Atlantic cities

Abounding in wildlife and spectacular views, the area's peace and tranquility create a vacationer's dream for adults and families alike who just want to relax.

For those on the go, the selection of nearby activities is endless...hiking, biking, hunting, golfing, climbing, rafting and much more. You can even swim and fish in one of our stocked private fresh water ponds.

You may see more information at our own internet site at ltdvacation .
Four-wheel drive vehicles recommended in winter:)

Availability Calendar

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Apr 01 2014 Nov 30 2014 $150 $150 $900 - 2 Nights
Dec 01 2014 Mar 31 2015 $125 $125 $900 - 2 Nights
Jan 01 2015 Mar 31 2015 $125 $125 $900 - 2 Nights
Check In: 3 p.m. Check Out: 11 a.m.
Lodging tax: 12%
Deposits: One-half (1/2) of the gross rental rate, or the full amount due if less than seven (7) days before date of arrival.
Payment Options: Mastercard, Visa
Other Fees: Pet Fee - $50.00 pet/stay & tax ***Holiday Rates $175 / night & tax (Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years, Presidents Wknd, July 4th, Easter, Memorial Wknd, Labor Day Wknd, etc.)

Amenities

  • Beds

  • 1 Queen Bed
  • 2 Twin Beds
  • Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Linens Provided
  • Porch
  • Beach Towels
  • Heating
  • Parking Included
  • View (Mountains)
  • Deck
  • Hot Tub
  • Pet Friendly
  • Appliances

  • Alarm Clock
  • Gas Grill
  • Radio
  • Telephone
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • Toaster
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Iron
  • Stove
  • VCR
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Washer/Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Oven
  • Activities

  • Cross-Country Skiing
    (onsite)
  • Lake
    (<1 mile)
  • Grocery Store
    (12 miles)
  • Tennis
    (12 miles)
  • Hiking
    (onsite)
  • Boating
    (1 mile)
  • Park
    (12 miles)
  • Whitewater Rafting
    (12 miles)
  • Fishing
    (<1 mile)
  • Canoeing
    (1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (12 miles)
  • Horseback Riding
    (20 miles)
  • Kayaking
    (<1 mile)
  • Golf
    (12 miles)


Other Vacation Rental Amenities
We are a short drive (day trip) to Seneca Caverns, Seneca Rocks (you must experience it at least once it your lifetime), Dolly Sods Recreation Area, Smoke Hole Canyon, South Branch of Potomac River.......
Great area for outdoors activities! We are in a central location to visit these areas and then come back and relax at our lovely cabins.

Local phone service at cabin. Bring a phone card if you prefer to make long distance calls. Cell phone service is not available for all providers- Only US Cellular and AT&T may work out there.
We have 3 other cabins for rent as well. You can find ltdvacation for more information.

Reviews for this vacation cabin rental in Smoke Hole, West Virginia

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Ken Richards

Thomasville, NC

Anniversary Getaway

A wonderful place to relax and unplug. The scenery in October was gorgeous. We enjoyed the peace and tranquility. The cabin was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely return in the future.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Glad you all had a nice relaxing time to celebrate your anniversary:-)
Lisa
LTD Cabins

Scott Sine

Bethlehem, PA

Serenity from children

We have 4 kids and NONE were invited - happily. This place is a perfect 3-ish day getaway. No line of sight to any of the 3 other houses - quite far away in fact and the feel is that you have a mountain to yourself. Decent view of nearby mountains. Nice porch and even a hammock. The house itself is in great condition and the owners clearly try to keep it in good condition. (some slight plumbing leak and hammock a bit ripped, but it is early in season so light maintenance stuff will be found.) The bed and covers are of high quality and very comfortable for a lie around. The Dish TV is nice for a comfortable relax time. The family who owned the house was fantastic. They were available and concerned for you finding the place OK, yet not in the way whatsoever. Recommend you ask them to preheat the tub to 100 degrees. The heater is small and takes an hour to change 1 degree. So we never got in it. That was the one disappointment. But it is situated perfectly for seclusion and relaxation. If you are looking to getaway and want to bring some food and hideaway from the world. Strongly recommended. (Nearby Smoke Hole Canyon has a lot of great scenic picnic spots)

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks for taking the time for your lovely response. Glad you had a relaxed getaway. Sorry you had difficulty with the hottub, we could have assisted you with that if we had known about it. Please call us next time. Hope you will return- the foliage in the Fall is beautiful! Thanks, Lisa

Leslie Cahoon

Reston Va

Relaxing escape

Great secluded cabin with awesome views. Clean and had all the amenities that we needed. Would definitely stay there again.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Leslie,
Glad you had a good time.
Look forward to your return and thanks for the nice review:-)
Lisa
LTD Vacation a Rental Cabins

Rick N Lois Scott

Chambersburg,Pa.

Heaven In The Hills!

This cabin was perfect for a relaxing getaway!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Glad you all had a nice time and could relax. Love the title, "Heaven in the Hills":-)
Please come again.
Lisa
LTD Vacation Rental Cabins

Anthony Jackson

Nutter Fort WV USA

Great private getaway

What my wife and I saw as we entered into a private gate leading up to the cabin was spectacular! Breathtaking views, property very well cared for. We pulled into the driveway and walked up onto the beautiful deck surrounding the front of a gorgeous cabin. Amenities like hottub, horseshoe pit and private trail, made Foxes lair truly wonderful! Two bedroom, two bath is very accommodating, as well as the spacious kitchen and living area.This cabin us perfect for a romantic getaway or a small family retreat!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Tony, Glad you both had a nice time and hope you return.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a wonderful
review for us. Thanks,
Lisa
LTD Vacation Rental Cabins

cp hsia

Washington, DC

Lovely cabin in the woods.

The drive in at night was tough but well worth it. Facilities were great, view was decent, and the cabin gave us a great launch point for a couple of hikes.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks for your review and glad you all had a nice time.
Hope you will be back.
Thanks, Lisa

Pamela Ginther

Chardon,OH

Beautiful pet friendly cabin.

This cabin was great for a week away with our pups. Perfect size for two people and two dogs. Plenty of room between the cabins. Trails and a dirt road to walk your pups for potty breaks when not out sight seeing and hiking in the national park. Would be nice if there were gates to block off the 2 openings off of the deck so the puppies can safely hang outside while we were enjoying the camp fire, grilling or relaxing. We would go back!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Pam, Glad you had a great week away with your pups. Our other 3 cabins do have gated decks especially for the dogs. Perhaps when you come back, you can choose one - Owl's Nest or Bear's Den :)
Thanks Again,
Lisa

Quinn Scripter

DC

Great cabins in a great location

The Fox's Lair cabin we stayed in was very comfortable and secluded, perfect for a weekend getaway. I would definitely recommend this location to my friends and family.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks Quinn. Glad you had a nice time and appreciate the help. Look forward to your stay again.
LTD - Lisa & Roger

Tim Crawford

Indiana

Great time

It was wonderful !!! My family and I got to share quality family time. There were several activities to do. We have stayed in primitive camp sites to 5 star hotels and I really think this a great place to stay...

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the nice review. Glad you had a great time with your family.
Lisa

Brianna Boxler

Johnstown, Pa

Peaceful

A friend and I were looking for a nice place to take our dogs, do some hiking and exploring. This was it! Just what was needed for a quiet getaway. Seneca Rocks was a great hike and the scenery was great.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks, glad you had a nice time. :)
Lisa

Eric Myers

inwood wv usa

relaxing

We had a wonderfully stay at Fox's lair. The hot tub was wonderful and the views were great. We are going to rent again next year but maybe a different home with same company. Thank you Eric Myers

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Glad you had a great time and look forward to your next visit.
Thanks, Lisa

DeAnn Sapp-Shoemaker

Fairmont, WV

RELAX - STARS! STARS! STARS!

Had a wonderful time this past weekend at the Fox's Lair, there were 4 of us in our party and it was very comfortable. Clean cabin, nice hot tub and the many, many stars which were amazing - seemed as though we could reach up and touch them. Lake at the bottom of the property is stocked with trout but we didn't get to fish it as we went to smoke hole. Beautiful country side and also a beautiful drive to the cabin. We will definitely be back, price point is great for the size of the cabin.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks DeAnn! Glad to hear you had a great time and look forward to you return with us :)
Lisa
LTD Vacation

Nicole Charlton

Hagerstown Md.

Fox Lair

The cabin was very nice, very clean upon arrival. My husband and I enjoyed ourseleves vry much!. Our dog, puggle, was very upset when it was time to go home...he loved the freedom of the are around the cabin and enjoyed exploring with us. The scenerary around here is just gorgeous. It takes your breath away. It was very peceful and the hammock was just an extra nicety that added to our stay. Literally you could sit and hear absolute silence for hours. (Just a woodpecker and some Owls) From parents of 3, it was appreciated! The hot tub on the property was nice and very comfortable. We used it each night. To our surpirse and luch our Jan weekend was close tot he 7o degree mark when the sun was out. The only things I would mention that dampened the trip, if at all, was the advertised bedroom satellite TV was not hooked up to any box and offered no reception. Definately would come back. Easy rental process, and I cannot say enough about the beautiful Lake around this vacation area. Just breathtaking. One of God's true works of art.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Nicole- Glad to hear you had a nice weekend and got to relax. We appreciate your wonderful review and hope you come back soon.
Sorry you had trouble with the tv in the bedroom. It is hooked up to the box in the living room and is working (we checked to make sure). We know how sometimes it gets confusing on what buttons to push. Next time, just give us a call and hopefully we could talk you through it. It appears as if the people before you watched a video, so clicking the "input" button was all that was needed :)
Glad Puggle had a great time.

Phillip Brannon

Stafford, VA

OUTSTANDING!!!!!

This property exceeded all of my expectations. It was clean and very well maintained. While we did not get a chance to take advantage of the hot tub due to the weather (the effects of Superstorm Sandy!) it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We will definitely be back!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to your next stay!
LTD Vacation Rental Cbins

Jennifer Davenport

Harrisville, WV

Awesome Cabin!

This was our 4th trip to this cabin and we love it! Very homey with excellent amenities. Super private, but, all the comforts of home. The caretakers are extremely helpful and kind. We will definitely be back next year!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks Jennifer. It's always nice to know our guests enjoy our cabins and the privacy that each cabin offers. Look forward to your next visit.
LTD :)

Sharon Scyoc Fritzman

Moundsville, WV

Beautiful, secluded cabin!

This cabin was so nice, comfy and with everything one could want. We could have stayed right there the whole week and been perfectly content. Such beautiful views, the landscaping was gorgeous, the 2 ponds on the property were very nice and we enjoyed using the hot tub while looking at all the beautiful stars - WOW what a nightly show! The hammock is a wonderful spot for reading or a great nap. Truly enjoyed the quiet and seeing the wildlife. We did go to many of the sites in and around the area, which are very much worth the drive. Seeing the beauty of God's creation all around is breathtaking. We plan to return, only next time we will get a larger cabin as we will be taking children and grandchildren with us. You will not be disappointed in your stay. It was nice not having a constant ringing phone. BTW cell reception is very spotty in the mountains, this can be a definite perk!!!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks Sharon for your review and glad you had a great week. We look forward to your next stay at Eagle's Haven with the grandkids :).

Rebekah Dunlap

Winchester, VA

R&R!

This house was quaint and perfect for our needs...it was a GREAT size for 2 people, the hot tub was very relaxing AND with no cell signal, there were no interruptions to our quality time! You do have to do a little cleaning before you check out which, I thought, was a little much BUT it didn't take us too long...I would suggest either hiring a maid to do things like wipe down the sinks, counter tops and shower and vacuum OR make check-out later than 11 am....Overall a GREAT experience! Visit Smoke Hole Caverns while here...not too far away and a great local attraction...if you want to go a little further, drive to Seneca Rocks....

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Glad you had a great time and got to relax! We do appreciate our guests that assist us in keeping our cabins in tip top shape. We understand that most guests, like you, use common sense when checking out but our checkout procedures are written so that there isn't any misunderstanding. We do have a cleaning service come after every guest checks out to insure our cabins cleanliness. Look forward to your future visits with us :)
Thanks, Lisa

Kaitlyn Stanley

Baltimore, MD USA

Weekend getaway

Perfect cabin for 2 couples! It was so cozy and very enjoyable. We loved the serenity and the peacefulness of the mountain. We took full advantage of the hot tub, it was amazing to sit and stare at the stars! We had a little problem with the water but the owners were so fast to get there and fix it and we never had a problem after that. It was nice to escape the world and relax for a long weekend. We will definitely try to make it back another time!

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks Kaitlyn. Glad you all had a nice time in the mountains. Look forward to your return visit!
LTD Vacations

Kate Skivington

Alexandria Va

Cute cabin

Great space, fully stocked with kitchen supplies and linens. Lots of books, games and movies. Rustic location, overall, great experience.

Roger Hall

Owner's reply:

Thanks Kate! We appreciate your positive feedback on our cabin. Glad you had a great time and we look forward to having you back soon. Stay warm!
LTDVacation Rental Cabins :)

Thomas Bergquist

Pittsburgh, PA

37th Wedding Anniversary

The home was great with all the necessary ammentities--Situated on 10 acres of mountaneous, forested countryside it helped create a relaxing and calming atmosphere. The heating was great but suffered a little from adequate humidity--Thus we woke up numerous times with dry throats and skin. This would not keep us from coming back. The host was graceous and very helpful getting us situated and acquainted with the property and what to do and not do--The guidelines in the house were also quite helpful--It took a little time to figure out the TV but we soon got the hang of it. We highly reccomend this vacation property to those who love quiet peacful getaways. Thank you.

Colleen Keenan

Washington, DC

Lovely stay at Owl's Nest

The property is immaculate and well stocked. We loved the gated back deck to sit out with our dog and enjoy the mornings and evenings. The proerty has a few nice trails to enjoy. Very secluded. We'd definitely consider another trip with friends.

Lee Marie Marsh

Weston, WV USA

A Little Piece of Heaven

This is the 2nd year my husband and I have stayed there. We liked the seclusion of the property, the quietness, and being so close to nature. We like visiting the ponds and the lake. We are especially happy that we can bring our dog, he is, after all, part of our family. The cottage is beautiful, clean and full of things to do like books, games, movies, and dish TV. My favorite is the hot tub! We also really enjoyed having a campfire. The owners also left a surprise bag that held s'mores in them - that was a nice touch! I recommend this site to everyone. Sincerely, Lee Marie Marsh

herman Phillips

alexandria, va

fox's lair

found the "lair" last year. perfect for unplugging and enjoying the solitude of my own thoughts. great jumping off point to views, hiking and great riding...i'll be back again...and again...and again...

Cooper

Northern NJ

Nice little cabin

Overall we were pleased with the cabin during our stay. We have rented many cabins through the years (don't like hotels) and this was one of the best in having everything labeled (light switches, dish locations, etc.). It was clean on our arrival and had all the basic amenities needed for our stay. The cabin is a little small but for two people and a dog, it was fine. The only complaint was that there were way too many chemicals in the hot tub. It was so bad that when I opened the lid, it burned my eyes and caused me to cough; which made it unusable. As an FYI, the cabin is extremely remote to any stores or restaurants. Not a bad thing, but just be sure you have everything you need or you'll be driving a long way to get some ketchup for your burgers :-)

Catherine Bennett

Morgantown, WV

wonderful experience

What a wonderful place to get away. The cabin was very nicely decorated and supplied. My two dogs enjoyed the trails and the walks to the ponds. We saw a bear at the Inn but only a little lizzard at the cabin this time. My only request would be that check out be at least 11am.

Todd Hahn

Hagerstown, MD USA

Great family getaway

We stayed at the Fox's Lair cabin recently with our 2 children while they were on spring break. We had a great time exploring the surrounding area. The "hiking" trails from the cabins to the ponds are not really kid friendly, but we were able to hike the "roads" quite easily. We weren't sure how our kids would do on a trip such as this with a much slower pace than we're used to, but they quite enjoyed it. Spending time around the campfire in the evenings was priceless. We are hoping to go again in the fall! We definitely recommend these cabins and had a great time!

Andrew Magulick

Pittsburgh, PA

Wonderful Getaway

The Fox's Liar was a great vacation for my girlfriend and our two dogs to get away for awhile. It was exactly what we were looking for. The hot tub and the homey cabin was absoutly perfect and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to get away for a bit.

Laura

Washington DC

Definitely recommend...lovely place

The cabin is lovely and well cared for and located in a great, beautiful, peaceful location. We were there in the winter which was great...the hot tub under the stars is perfect as is the long views through the bare trees. I would imagine though that the place is just as nice in the summer. We got caught in a snow storm and couldn't make it out the day we were supposed to and the owners very generously allowed us to stay an extra night for free. The whole experience was very nice. I would second that having a four-wheel drive to get in and out, even without snow, is a good idea.

Blythe Woods

Baltimore, MD USA

great weekend getaway

We had a great time at Fox's Lair, and greatly enjoyed our time around the property. While the weekend weather didn't allow us to cross country ski, we did several local hikes, visited the two ponds down below, played horseshoes & enjoyed the hot tub frequently. Just being able to sit outside & enjoy the quiet beauty of the area was therapeutic all by itself. Please be advised that if you are driving into the property, and it is winter time, or extremely wet, you might have better luck in a 4 wheel drive vehicle! We made it up & back without any issues, but added another adventurous aspect to the trip!! We would love to come back & spend even more time, and see more of the local nature sights.

Will

Washington, DC USA

Unbelievable and Unforgettable

Our trip began by getting to the rental late in the evening, and enjoying the hot tub under the copse and the stars. By our awakening the following morning, we got to see the glorious view from the deck and the serenity of the secludedness of the cabin. It was a wonderful trip!

Jeff

DC Metro Suburbs

Fox's Lair

Really liked the size of the cabin for the 2 of us, it was just perfect. Had all the comforts needed as well.

Caressa Stoller

Morgantown, WV

RELAXATION

This lovely cabin is a great place for a couple or small family. It is very secluded and allows you to get away from the everyday craziness and RELAX. This cabin also has all the amenities that you could think of. We cooked on the grill for every meal and roasted some hot dogs in the campfire. There is a wonderful deck, hottub, horseshoe pits, satelite television, dvd player,and PS2 not to mention many sights and places to hike and fish nearby. This cabin is the perfect place for anyone looking to get away is has something for everyone. NOTE: Driveway for the Wildernest INN is in the middle of a sharp turn and can be overlooked very easily, If you leave the area of rough run turn around and you should spot it.

Mandy Arnold

York, PA

Great little cabin.

We have two dogs and this was a good place to stay for a week. Very quite and private. The cabin already has everything you would need already (movies, video games, wine glasses, grill stuff, coffee, sugar, etc), but no dishwasher. The pond is not a place to swim, mostly due to low water levels. Great canoeing, tubing, hiking nearby. The hiking paths near the cabin are not really "hiking". Very nice. We recommend it for two people. More than that would be tight. Great Mexican place to eat in Mooresfield (Stray Cat) near the Movie Theater. Pub in Petersburg is The Office. A handful of local farmers gather for a small farmer's market in the City Parking Lot in Petersburg on Wed 9AM-2PM in the summer. There is a gate you have to lock/unlock everytime you leave/return. Lake/state park right down the road for fishing/dog swimming (no human swimming). Closes stores (for food) are 15 minutes away in Petersburg. No cell phone reception! Which can be good!

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

Warm, Cozy, Comfortable and Clean!
Great for a small family.

More Information

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Are towels and sheets included?
A: Yes, we provide 1 set of towels per guest and beds are made up upon arrival.
Q: Do you allow pets?
A: Yes, pets are allowed with a pet fee.

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 2,354 This year: 13,440 Since listed: 46,177
Last updated: October 22, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Phone
Check In
Check Out

Comments

Owner Profile

Roger Hall

Roger Hall

410-442-1117

Other properties from owner