Beach Walkers Lane - 5 Bedrooms at the Beach

Exterior ViewLiving room and dining area
“ Excellent ”
35 Reviews
1108 N New River Dr, Surf City, NC 28445


Bedrooms: 5
Bathrooms: 3.5
Sleeps: 10
Type: Cottage
Per night: $200 - $400
Per week: $1,750 - $2,100
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: Yes
Description of the Surf City vacation cottage rental
FULLY REMODELED FOR 2014! Want to have family get-together at the beach?? This large, spacious house is the place. Read description below and our reviews!

Large home with 2 master suites each with private bath. 3 additional bedrooms with 1.5 more baths plus enclosed outdoor shower. Panaromic waterviews of the marsh & Intracoastal Waterway. From the double-decks of "Beach Walker's Lane", evening sunset views of the sound are spectacular! This is a fully digital home with wide-screen HD TV in the great room, cable TV in all bedrooms, high-speed wireless internet, and a JVC stereo. A fully stocked kitchen with an eat-in bar and separate dining area adjoin the great room with double-sliding doors leading out to the 3rd floor covered deck with water & sound views! This home is designed and setup for large family/friend gatherings with digital entertainment available in every room for todays electronic generation. Located near dining and shopping and 1 block from the beach & public access. Weber grill and outdoor shower. 2 kings, 1 dbl, 2 twin, 1 daybed trundle (can be configured as dbl or 2 twins), 1 queen sofa sleeper, 2 floor futons. Linens for all beds are included, but bring your own towels. NOTE: (1) MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY 10 - LARGER PARTIES REQUIRES PREAPPROVAL OF OWNER - $25 ADDL FEE PER PERSON PER NITE. (2) SUMMER DEMAND EXCEEDS AVAILABILITY FOR THIS PROPERTY, SO BOOK EARLY (BEFORE MARCH)
Area Information
Surf City is a township on Topsail Island, a 27 mile long barrier island off the southestern coast of North Carolina. It has white sandy beaches, fishing piers, boat tours, and public accesses to the beach (including some with showers and restrooms) as well as several public boat ramps to the intercoastal waterway. The water is clean and great for swimming, diving, snorkeling, fishing, skiing, boating, kayaking, surfing and other water sports. The intercoastal waterway along Topsail Island is wide and spectacular, filled with marshes, islands, creeks, fish & clams. Dining, charter boats, water sport rentals, piers, grocery and pharmacies are all located on the island or just across the bridge on the mainland. Several top notch golf courses within 30 minutes drive and many more within 1 hour. Just 40 minutes north of Wilmington NC's beautiful and fun riverfront.

Availability Calendar


Begins Ends Week
Weekly Monthly Min
Sep 01 2014 Dec 31 2014 $200 $300 $1,750 - 3 Nights
Jun 01 2015 Jun 30 2015 $250 $400 $1,900 - 3 Nights
Jul 01 2015 Jul 30 2015 $300 $400 $2,100 - 3 Nights
Aug 01 2015 Aug 31 2015 $300 $400 $2,100 - 3 Nights
Check In: 3 p.m. Check Out: 10 a.m.
Lodging tax: 8.5%
Deposits: $300 security deposit due upon confirmation with 1 week or longer reservations, otherwise TBD as negotiated. 50% rental fee due w/in 60 days of arrival date, other 50% due 30 day prior to arrival. Deposit held in escrow for 1 week after check-out and refunded in full if no damages. Cancellation w/in 5 days of confirmation, no charge; thereafter forfeit of security deposit.
Payment Options: Cashier's Check, Money Order, Personal Check
Other Fees: $100 cleaning fee for full-week or longer rentals, $75 for shorter stays, required along with final payment. 1 set of bed linens for all beds included(sheets, pillowcases) at no charge. $150 non-refundable pet fee for weekly rental 1st pet, $100 2nd pet, max of 2 small pets. Daily or shorter rentals negotiable. Small pets only, no exotics.


  • Beds

  • 4 Queen Beds
  • 2 Twin Beds
  • Features

  • Air Conditioning
  • Hardwood Floors
  • Outdoor Shower
  • Pet Friendly
  • Beach Chairs
  • Heating
  • Parking Included
  • Porch
  • Deck
  • High Speed Internet
  • Patio
  • View (Water)
  • Full Kitchen
  • Appliances

  • Alarm Clock
  • Coffee Maker
  • Oven
  • TV (Cable/Satellite)
  • Blender
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Toaster
  • CD Player
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator (Full)
  • VCR
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Ice Maker
  • Stereo
  • Washer/Dryer
  • Charcoal Grill
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Activities

  • Beach
    (<1 mile)
  • Kayaking
    (<1 mile)
  • Water Skiing
    (<1 mile)
  • Shopping Area
    (1 mile)
  • Bicycling
    (<1 mile)
  • Live Entertainment
    (<1 mile)
  • Windsurfing
    (<1 mile)
  • Basketball Court
    (2 miles)
  • Boating
    (<1 mile)
  • Ocean
    (<1 mile)
  • Deep Sea Fishing
    (1 mile)
  • Miniature Golf
    (2 miles)
  • Canoeing
    (<1 mile)
  • Sailing
    (<1 mile)
  • Park
    (1 mile)
  • Grocery Store
    (4 miles)
  • Fishing
    (<1 mile)
  • Scuba Diving
    (<1 mile)
  • Playground
    (1 mile)
  • Parasailing
    (5 miles)
  • Hiking
    (<1 mile)
  • Snorkeling
    (<1 mile)
  • Restaurant
    (1 mile)
  • Golf
    (10 miles)
  • Jet Skiing
    (<1 mile)
  • Surfing
    (<1 mile)

Other Vacation Rental Amenities
Located 1.25 miles north of the hwy 210/Hwy 50 Surf City bridge, "downtown" Surf City is close by. Home has parking for up to 5 vehicles, with front & back yard. Many windows.

Reviews for this vacation cottage rental in Surf City, North Carolina

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!


Poor customer service

I made an offer to stay at this property which was accepted by the management. While I awaited details (approx 24 hours) on the total costs - it was rented right out from under me. Having not been told there was another potential customer, I can only think that someone else came along with a better price. This totally screwed up our vacation. Put a bad taste in my mouth for FLIPKEY too.

Jennifer Hill

Owner's reply:

I let Chriisy know that the house was available for the dates she wanted and asked her to contact me at her earliest convenience to reserve those dates by paying the $300 security deposit for reservation confirmation. A day passes with no communication and another family reserved those same days. When Chrissy emailed me that they wanted to reserve the house I had to tell her that it was already rented. I offered her family the same dates at my personal beach house but she declined my offer

Debbie Chalburg

Fairfield , CA. Newark, DE. Morris's Villegas , NC

Fantastic stay! Location,location, location....

Beautiful home one block from the beach. We had a wonderful stay with our children and their families. All bedrooms are large and furnished nicely. The view from the decks in the early morning and evening is lovely. Wonderful to have a washer and dryer for our use. Outside shower was great for a rinse off after the beach before entering the house . The beach is warm, inviting and not crowded. We each had a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Deborah Marks Breneman

Flagstaff, AZ

Very nice family beach destination

Our family had a great time getting together here. Clean and comfortable. A short block and 1/2 walk to the public beach access. Two master bedrooms and two other double rooms and one with two twins. Nice bedding and bathrooms. Would love to stay here again. Downside: Three levels with basically mud room on the bottom level, bedrooms, baths and laundry on 2nd level and kitchen (and another master) is on top level. After bringing enough groceries up two flights of stairs for our family we decided we need to be prepared with a pulley system from the porches next time. (Just kidding). A really nice place and nice owners as well.

Jeremy Scott

Raleigh NC

Beach Walkers Lane is the place to be

The house was beautiful. Comfort level at the house was outstanding. Everything we needed was there, and then some. Location was perfect as well. The house itself let us relax and enjoy our vacation without the stress of some other places we have stayed.

Kimberly Daughtry

Garner, NC USA


Best beach trip I've had in a long time. Everything was new, clean, and absolutely beautiful. We hope to go back for a longer stay! We rode bikes to local bars and restaurants, and the public beach access was convenient to walk or drive.

Jeanette Kelley Willis

Etowah, NC USA

Awesome Beach Retreat

We decided to take a last minute vacation with a few of our friends. We didn't have a specific location in mind, as long as we were together at a beach!!! I sent out several requests and was lucky to have the Walker's respond. Mike was very prompt in responding to my initial request for a property and was also VERY attentive to all my future requests. We have stayed at several VRBO rentals in the past, but this was the first vacation home rentals property we visited. We couldn't have been more pleased. This house offered PLENTY of room for the 7 adults that stayed in our party. The house is very well kept and offered everything we needed. During our 4 night visit, Mike contacted me via phone or email to check on us and make sure everything was "just so". It was perfect. We would DEFINITELY rent this property on any future trips to Surf City! The house offered both a "beachy" and "homey" feel and the owner was amazing! I would highly recommend this property to others. We are already planning on a future trip and would be happy to rent this property again! I can honestly say that everyone in our party commented was delighted to stay at this home and had nothing but good things to say about it. The saddest part of our trip was when we had to pack up and head back home. Special thanks to the Walkers for their hospitality and sharing their amazing beach house with us!!!

Lora Reagan Moseley

Martin, TN

Lots of room!

We loved staying at Beach Walkers Lane! It's a minute walk to the beach and there's plenty of room for everyone! We enjoyed cooking and relaxing! Mike checked on us every couple of days to see if we needed anything. We didn't! There were beach chairs and mats, kites, and wifi! Who needs anything else???

Elaine Pare/Ray Gagne

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Great family holiday

We stayed here in 2010 as well. What a great place to bring a family and not feel cramped. The ocean is a block away over the dunes, and the water is so warm even Mom got in! The owners are most accommodating with lots of ideas for sightseeing, dining and leisure. Our kids still say it's the best vacation spot ever. We'll be back for sure.

Annette Schurstein

Churchville, PA


We rented this home to visit our daughter who lives in Jacksonville. The home is so spacious and comfortable that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was plently of sleeping space for all; the porches were terrific! This house's open concept living area just added to the character. As far as proximity to the beach, you couldn't ask for anything more convenient. No need to pack your lunch when you can simply walk back to the house! This was our first visit to this beach area and we certainly plan to return!!

Jessica Stopera

Toms River, NJ

Perfect House to Kick Back and Relax!

As a first time visitor to Topsail Island, I was unsure of what to expect. After a very long 9 hour car ride we were ecstatic to arrive at this gorgeous home. My group of two families we absolutely thrilled once we arrived at Beach Walkler Lane! The house is awesome! Big enough for two families- plenty of room for the little ones to run around and for everyone to have thier own space. We found just about everything we could think of waiting for us at the house. It was very clean and well taken care of! A quick walk to the beach made it easy to go back and forth to the house with my little ones. We did plenty of cooking and BBQ-ing during our stay and the kitchen was very well equipt. This rental was absolutely perfect for us.... Close to town, and within a short ride of Wilmington. I appreciated all of the communication with the Owner and the entire process of renting was so easy! I would highly recommend this house!!!

Ashley Smith

Culpeper, VA


This house was perfect for our group of 9 and a 2 year old. Everyone had their own space and was not on top of each other. Michael was so helpful with everything and was so refreshing to have such great customer service. We highly recommend this house to everyone. Beach access was just a short walk away. We would definitely rent this house again!!

Jennifer Hill

Owner's reply:

Always good to get another positive review, esp one that notices the customer service. We manage our property ourselves, and one of our biggest pet peeves is the sorry state of customer service today. So we try not to be guilty of it ourselves. Its our pleasure to share the home with others who treat as if it were their own. Actually, thats what we want our visitors to feel!

Deanna Haas

New York

Best Vacation Ever

This home was wonderful. There was so much room and sooooo close to the beach. 5adults and 5 children and NO one wanted to leave. I will be back.

Amy Brooks

Pittsburgh, PA

Best vacation ever!

We stayed with another family at Beach Walker's Lane and loved every minute of it. The house was better than we could have hoped for. It was very spacious, clean and super comfy. Plenty of room for everyone! The beach was so close and not crowded at all. The Walkers were more than accomodating. We hated to leave but can't wait to go back. I would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice quiet beach vacation.

Kris Kollar

Lebanon, PA

Exceptional accomodations / value

We found this property after deciding to do a last minute vacation to the beach. The property owners were exceptionally accomodating to our last minute booking and attentive to all of my questions / requests. The home was more than we could have expected.... it was very clean, modern, well appointed and oh so very close to the beach. Viewing the property via Google Earth, I figured the walk to the beach would have been 5+ minutes... In actuality we were less than two, so carrying your cooler and beach chairs was an easy task. The home has all the ammenities you can desire. We especially liked the outdoor shower since it really helped in keeping the sand out of the living space. The two master bedroom suites were more than we could have imagined and in our case, the teenager who was lucky enought to get the 'spare' suite was quite excited to get such a big room & private bath. This was our first trip to Topsail Island and the quiet, relaxing atmosphere was exactly what were were looking for. The history of the island is fascinating and the sea turtle conservation efforts were quite extraordinary.... even teenage boys thought it was cool. I highly recommend this home and the general area as well. If you're looking for a boardwalk atmosphere this isn't the place..... if you want uncrowded, sometimes empty beaches, with a variety of local flair restaurantants and fresh off the boat sea food coupled with great living accomodations this is the place for you. The only thing I'd recommend to a prospective renter is to seriously consider that this is a three story dwelling with the main living space on the third floor. If you can't do stairs, you may want to consider finding a different style home as street level to the kitchen is a long way up. Otherwise, go for it!

J Gullatte

Charlotte. NC

A Perfect Vacation!

We had a blast staying at the Walker's house! It was great having two master bedrooms since we had the grand baby with us. The views were outstanding from the porches. The beach is perfect for a family vacation! I hope can return next year. Hopefully we have started a tradition! Thanks, Michael for sharing your awesome house with my family!

Nancy Schmidt Neill

Wilmington, NC

great for family get together

We had a family reunion of sorts for my daughter's high school graduation here. The house was perfect because there are 3 awesome bedrooms for adults and another 2 that work great for kids. So, no arguing about space and beds! The first floor is great for keeping beach stuff and the outdoors shower and hose kept sand out of the main parts of the house. Great views, easy walk to the beach. An absolutely great house for a group! Loved it. Oh, for the workaholics amongst you - full Wifi!

Daisy Mkn

Durham, NC


This was our 2nd year staying in the house and it was wonderful. Mike was great in helping us find a weekend that worked for us and even extending our stay at the last minute. The house is so roomy and open! There is plenty of room for someone get some alone-time on the decks or hang out with the group in the living area. The beach is a short walk away and very easy to get to. Thanks again for a great weekend!

Jon Feldman

Baltimore, Maryland


The Beach House was outstanding! A great place to rent that is worth every penny. The house has all the amenities that are needed for a great vacation. I would recommend the property to anyone looking for a great stay at the beach.

Karen, Courtney and Davis

Burgaw, NC

Best Family Time Ever

Our family rented from the Walkers in July. I will have to say it was the best vacation ever. Plenty of room for family and friends that were vacationing with us, and wonderful location. We loved watching the July 4th fireworks from the balcony. Our stay was wonderful!! The Walkers made everything so easy, and the house was so comfortable and clean. We love "Beach Walkers Lane"

Elaine Pare

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Great vacation

The tan is gone, but the memories are still with us! What a great place to bring family & friends ... loads of room for everyone. Well appointed, lots of amenities and the beach is just a short walk away. We swam everyday and even took a shot at surfing! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the beach house. Thanks, Michael

Denise Robbins

Medford,NJ USA

Family Vacation

This house was PERFECT for our family vacation! Our 2 son's and their families joined us for this beach vacation. The house was so nice with big beautiful rooms and wonderful pourches. The 2 master suites were an added bonus. We can't say enough about the house and the area. We would love to come back and would recommend this property to our friends and family.

Pam Ashbaugh

Emlenton, Pa.

wonderful home

This was our first time also in Surf City. The island is very nice. We really enjoyed our stay with you guys. The house is gorgeous! Had everything our families needed. And very close walk to the beach. The owners are wonderful people and if you need anything they are there for you. We will definetly go back.

Susie Wyatt

Glade Spring, VA USA

Family Vacation

This was our first time to Surf City and we absolutely loved it! The beaches, the town, and especially the house were wonderful. It was big and bright and clean and just the right amount of space for our group. We would DEFINETLY consider going there again. Great house and very helpful and friendly owners!

Sandy Lo & Amy Wu

Cary, NC USA

The Perfect Vacation Home!

This place was Amazing and better than we expected! Everything was super clean, very spacious and close to the beach. More than likely we will rent it again. The only con during the stay was the traffic and the restaurants, but overall the place was PERFECT! Thank you so much!!

Amy Wu

Cary, NC USA

GREAT Memorial Day Weekend!

Mike and Mitzi Walker were extremely helpful and flexible, they were perfectly accommodating and helpful! The house was gorgeous, clean, and everything we hoped for. The location was great, near restaurants, shops, grocery stores, and a couple minute walk to the beach. I will recommend this to anyone and everyone! :)

Jen Martin

Durham, NC


We had a wonderful stay at Beach Walkers Lane! The house is beautiful and very well-maintained. The rooms are large and airy and the location is great. There was plenty of room to spread-out and find a quiet corner, as well as rooms big enough to hang out all together. Thanks so much!


Atanta, Georgia

Our summer home getaway!

Beach Walkers lane is our home away from home. We truly enjoyed our stay. The house is amazing! It was roomy lots of space for the adults & kids. This is a place that we will come to every summer. WE ALL LOVED IT!




The house was clean, spacious, and well appointed. We had a great time.

Diana Caracciolo

Long Island, New York

Absolutely Wonderful!

'Had to write immediately. We are mid-week of our stay and never want it to end! The house is fantastic and we've already discussed coming back. It is spacious, clean,comfortable and beautiful in every way. We feel so at home. The beach and the town are great also and the people are so nice. I can't wait to come back!

Miles Schaefer

Jacksonville, NC

Everything that was needed

This home was well suited for a large group of which numerous were young children. While not directly on the beach, for the money saved it was worth the short walk. Plus there were no busy streets to cross. While I live in the area, my family from Omaha enjoyed the are and house. Overall a great experience for everyone!

Ramona R. Pence



For fear of getting this house booked and us not getting it again.....this house was absolutely wonderful. There was so much space and ability to be alone to read away for others- we had 10 and it was not crowded!!2 master bedrooms with baths and 1 full bedroom were great for 3 couples and the 2 other bedrooms handled the boyfriends tht came along with the daughters. Better yet, there were tvs in every bedroom! The porches were great and it was an easy walk to the beach. Very clean and well kept everywhere. We have gone to beach houses for over 20 years and this is the best one!


raleigh, nc


we really enjoyed staying in the house. it had everything we needed and we had a great time!

Angel L Brown

Rocky Point, NC


We rented the house to celebrate my son's graduation, my birthday and a family get together, we could not have made better choice. The house was very spaciuos and exceptionally clean. It has a sense of home and very comforting after a hard days play. The short walk to the beach was just enough exercise one needs while on vacation. The location is absolutly wonderful, filled with a variety of restaurants and plenty of shopping. We thank the owners for their hospitality and WILL definily rent from them again, hopefully the same place.

Linda Barker Barbour

New Hill, NC, USA

Great Family Week at the Beach

This property provided a great location for a week at the beach with our new "blended family". Adults and kids enjoyed days at the beach--which is a short walk away--nights of cookouts and TV, walks on the sand and overall times of relaxation and visiting. The house is large and on three levels providing common space and private space, with laundry and bath space enough to keep everyone comfortable. The house is well-supplied and a great rental. There are two large porches and a ground level for cookouts. There is also a shower for use on return from the beach which is a great convenience.


Goldsboro, NC USA


this place is so nice. it has so much room and it was just an awesome place to relax. it was minutes away from the shopping centers and resturants. i really impressed my family by renting this one! and the owners are really friendly too.

Interested in Renting this Property?

Page Views This month: 22 This year: 3,558 Since listed: 29,318
Last updated: August 18, 2014

Contact Owner

First Name *
Last Name *
Email *
Check In
Check Out

Owner Profile

Jennifer Hill

Jennifer Hill