Map
Map

Overview

Bedrooms:
3
Bathrooms:
2
Sleeps:
6
Type:
House
Pets allowed:
No
Wi-Fi available:
No

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 4822913

Owner profile

Dan W.
Years listed:
3

Languages spoken: English

Amenities

Features

  • Grill
  • Heating
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Fireplace
  • High Speed Internet
  • Linen provided
  • Parking Included
  • Sea view
  • Waterfront

Appliances

  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • TV

Activities

  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Water sports
  • Horse riding

Reviews (7)

Very Good – based on 7 reviews Very Good
7 reviews

“A wonderful Week”

Reviewed 28 Aug 2016

We have stayed in many places in Maine over the years, and this is one of our favorites. Far enough from town to be very peaceful, but close enough to run to the store or have dinner out, the location was perfect. Every morning we had coffee on the large, shaded deck, and watched eagles and osprey land in the nearby trees, or fish in the bay. The house is large, clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. Nearby Brunswick was a nice little college town, with gelato shops, bookstores and museums. We took some amazing hikes, and ate seafood almost every night.. I almost hate for other people to discover this place, but I have to be honest--it was amazing!

“Beautiful, spacious home in a tranquil setting.”

Reviewed 26 Aug 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this beautiful home. You are close enough to Brunswick and the college to shop, go out to eat, attend the theatre, see a movie, etc. Nature abounds here.. the highlights were watching the eagle family every day from the deck...the deer that visited to snack from the apple trees, the various sea birds...especially the blue heron. Another favorite was the hummingbird that greeted me 10 minutes after my arrival. and almost every day thereafter. The view from the back of the house is spectacular... the deck is space ous and comfortable. The kitchen is a dream.. every amenity provided. I absolutely loved the reading nook. The owners are very accommodating, and I would not heist ate to return for another stay.

“Beautiful and comfortable stay”

Reviewed 29 Jul 2013

This was our first time renting here and we were so pleased. The house is so open/spacious but also filled with lots of cozy places to read/relax/enjoy the beautiful view. The deck is key - great gathering space with plenty of room for guests, and absolutely spectacular sunsets. The kitchen is fully updated with all new appliances and a charming eat-in area. Neighbors were so friendly and helpful. The location is great, too - quiet and peaceful area of Brunswick but only about 10 minutes from downtown, which has a ton going on. The only draw-back for us was the lack of laundry facilities - a bit of a pain to have to take clothes out to be washed - but the owners (who are lovely) say they'll be installing a washer and dryer by next summer. We have rented dozens of vacation homes over the years but will most definitely be back to this one - fantastic experience!

“Wonderful Cottage”

Reviewed 19 Jul 2012

My husband, daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the marvelous house on Orr's Island. It is the best equipped rental I've ever stayed in and lacks for nothing. The charming furnishings fit in so well with the rustic appeal of the island. The sunsets were magnificent and my daughter found a great nook in the boat on the dock to read. We loved exploring the island and discovering close by breakfast, lunch and dinner spots - Prince's and the Giant Stairs. The proximity to Brunswick allowed us to visit Bowdoin College's excellent art museum and attend a talk by the zany William Wegman and meet his Weimeraners. We hope to return and know that no one renting this house will be disappointed.

“Charming and quiet”

Reviewed 12 Jun 2011

A wonderful rural retreat near town with amenities. Great place to stay if you're visiting the local college. We'd return again if we're in the area.

“#39062 in Brunswick, ME”

Reviewed 19 Sep 2010

the outside view was gorgeous. The inside was nice but lacks comfortable furniture. The bedrooms lacked also. One bed's linens were musty smelling. The master bed's mattress pad was stained brown. Although bed was meant to be king size there was not a king mattress but two twins moved together with a very noticeable seam from the two mattresses. There was also a bug in between our sheets one night. I found it difficult falling asleep each night related to these matters. The home is very stuffy until windows are opened. The weather was very hot the week we were there. The house was closed up with no open windows at the time of our arrival. There were no fans or air conditioning. I was told by owner I could buy my own fan. The dining room ceiling leaked while we were there. A small fan was brought over by the owner at that time to dry out her floor. Black mold was growing on the ceiling after that. It was obvious this has been an ongoing problem. I would not recommend this location again until these conditions are taken care of. All in all our family was very disappointed in this property.

Owner's reply: an unfortunate set of circumstances six years ago, now rectified. DW

“A house for all seasons”

Reviewed 22 Aug 2009

This is a spectacular spot and a charming, immaculately-kept, engaging house. We loved every moment of our stay - in rain or in shine. Its location is close to town and yet private and rural. The evening sunsets were glorious. Although we did not choose to swim from the rocks, this was always a possibility. And a tempting one. Otherwise, local beaches - among them Popham Beach and Reid State Park - were within easy driving distance. We also enjoyed the pleasure of being in Brunswick, as well as near Freeport and Portland. We were never at a loss for projects or adventures. Of all the houses we have rented in Maine, this is our favorite so far. Our landlords were thoroughly attentive to our needs. Their hospitality was another notable element of our experience. I would recommend this house to any family interested in this part of Maine in the summer.

Review 1-7 of 7
Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review