Very Good

21 reviews

1 / 21 Balcony View



Pets allowed:
Wi-Fi available:

1 Full bath, 1 Shower

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 4820573

About the area

Okaloosa Island is situated between Pensacola and Destin. The waters of the Gulf lap these beaches with some of the warmest most refreshing waters around. There are many wonderful activities within a short drive. The Gulfarium provides Dolphin, Seal, and Penguin shows daily. There is shopping to be had with something for everyone. Inshore and offshore fishing can be arranged simply and at some of the most reasonable rates around. There are several excellent golf courses in the area. Eglin Air Force Base is located just outside Fort Walton and has an excellent Flight Museum. Destin is known as the "Luckiest Fishing Village in the world". This helps provide the absolute freshest seafood you will find virtually anywhere in the world. Rentals can be found for Jet Ski's, fishing tackle, bicycles, party barges and almost anything you could imagine. The Bay offers a perfectly sheltered area to enjoy the water in almost any weather. This is one of the truly incredible areas of the world. With its Emerald green waters and white sugar sand beaches Fort Walton and Okaloosa Island offer a perfect tranquil paradise The 16.5 miles of undeveloped beach to explore and enjoy a midnight romantic stroll or a daytime jog. These are all tried and true locally owned. Old Bay Steamer, Hightide, Pandora's, Original Waterfront Crab Shack, Magnolia Grill

Getting around

Everything is just a short drive away. There is a trolley that runs daily for schedules see the front office.

Getting here

Fort Walton has an airport VPS that has American and Delta serving with all of the regular car rental companies We are located at the end of Santa Rosa Blvd. on Okaloosa Island about a mile off of US 98. We are easy to find on your GPS at 909 Santa Rosa Blvd. unit 440

Interaction with guest

If you have any questions while staying with us I am just a phone call away for a favorite restaurant, night out, shopping, etc suggestions. We use a manager on site to take care of all of your onsite needs. They are also available for suggestions for that romantic dinner or for some of the local seafood place.

Owner profile

Larry S.
Years listed:

Languages spoken: English

About the owner

Happily married to my beautiful wife Julia. We love when people come down to enjoy our condo. We are here to answer your questions about where to go and eat.

View owner's full profile


Check in time:14:00, Check out time:10:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This rental can only be paid for online through Vacation Home Rentals using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank or wire transfer).
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



  • Bedroom 1: King bed
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed Full bed


  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Grill
  • Heating
  • Shared outdoor pool (heated)
  • Shared outdoor pool (unheated)
  • High Speed Internet
  • Hot tub/Jacuzzi
  • Linen provided
  • Parking Included
  • Secure parking
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Safe
  • Sea view
  • Staffed property
  • Towels provided
  • Waterfront
  • Wi-Fi available


  • Ceiling Fans
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Video player


  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Golf
  • Water sports
  • Horse riding
  • Sauna


  • 1 Full bath
  • 1 Shower

Reviews (21)

Very Good – based on 21 reviews Very Good
21 reviews

“Very first real vacation ever”

Reviewed 11 Sep 2016

This was our first real vacation. We had an amazing time! The water was clear & the beach was beautiful. The condo was clean & cozy. The beds & furniture were extremely comfortable. Best nights sleep ever!! We will most definitely plan another trip out here.

Owner's reply: I am happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.

“Is not beach front. It was dirty and older.”

Reviewed 11 Oct 2015

First: Larry was a gentleman while we're renting condo. The price was cheaper I guess cause it was on last minute special. We paid less last year at Destin and it was clean, very nice. If you stand on balcony lean to the right you see the ocean. If you sit down have cup of coffee you are viewing the parking lot. THERE ARE NO WASHER N DRYER in room. One on complex. The walk to the beach was very short. The beddings were dirty I did go laundry them before we slept on them. The rugs were very old, the water pressure in shower is very very low. The showers are older, our son would only use our shower. The bed was very uncomfortable. Actually after we were on the beach Friday we left and drove to motel 1/2 way home so we could rest. We are very grateful ppl but we only take one vacation a year and we want ocean front, clean, comfortable bedding. We loved FW beach. We meet lot of owners while here and several walked to our condo and they seen what we were talking about. If we had been able to stay free we would look over lot of things but when we pay we do expect certain things. After reading the review book in the condo we could see many of their friends stay at no cost or very low that is a great gift to give to someone. I did text Mr Larry he said IF it was dirty he send someone Monday. But We jumped in and cleaned it. We was not staying there 2 days dirty. No one calls us Monday to clean either. This would be awesome condo close to the beach if they would upgrade things. It may just be us, but we travel many miles, we want to see the ocean while we sit out of morning drink coffee. Or sit out and listen to the ocean. We have never wrote a negative review for anyone. We have been vacationing for 17 years. we are just being honest please don't have hard feelings, we really hope it helps.

Owner's reply: I am sorry you were not happy with your stay. We do offer a reasonable price for a clean beachfront condo and are constantly making upgrades. My pictures show a view of the grounds and the water clearly seen from our balcony. The guests before you asked where I got my bed so they could buy one because they LOVED it so much. There is a washer and dryer on each floor for guests to use but not in our unit. Again I am sorry for you disappointment.

“Review of El Matador 440”

Reviewed 4 Aug 2015

We had a great stay at El Matador. It was a very good vacation stay and valued at a more than reasonable price. Checking in and out was easy, everything was very clean, and there was everything we needed there to have a great family beach stay.

Owner's reply: Thank you Chanda. Let me know when you are ready to come back


Reviewed 13 Jul 2015

We loved our "beach week" at this condo. It had everything we needed, was clean and an excellent location. The pools were clean and we swam every day. The beach was beautiful and we loved our walks. The owner, Larry, was so nice and very helpful. We miss it already and want to come back!

“Overall good experience”

Reviewed 17 Jun 2015

Started of with broken AC while checking in. I called the contact person and they had someone fix it quick, although I don't think she was happy about the call. Thanks for handling that, it made a difference and as a result, we will definitely stay there again. Great views, out of way from congestion in Destin.

Owner's reply: Except for the little glitch with the AC (fairly new unit 3 yrs old) we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Let us know when you are ready to come back

“El Matador”

Reviewed 14 Apr 2014

we enjoyed our experience at this condo. It had everything we needed, it was clean and we loved how private the beach was. I wish the pool by the beach was heated and that they had an outdoor hot tub, but for the price and location we enjoyed it as is and would stay there again.

Owner's reply: Tammy we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love for you to spend time with us in the future. I will make some suggestions on the pool and a hot tub hopefully you got a chance to try out the sauna.

“Anniversary get a way”

Reviewed 11 Dec 2013

We had a wonderful time walking the beaches and enjoying the local seafood. The weather was perfect in the mid 70's while in Oklahoma the weather was extremely cold. Staying in a condo was far more comfortable than staying in a hotel. We definitely will be going back and renting a condo.

“Nice Get-Away”

Reviewed 15 Aug 2013

Very comfortable and convenient condo at a reasonable price. It was nice to be to stay "on the beach".

“MUST GO""""!!""”

Reviewed 19 Jul 2013

So beautiful... Great place for a family to go and enjoy the white, clean. And beautiful beaches. A lot of great outlet and shopping centers. Movie theaters, restaurants, and fun things to do with your family!! We are going back every year"!

Owner's reply: Thanks Teresa we try to please

“Great Vacation rental”

Reviewed 30 Jun 2013

1st time renting a condo. The condo was perfect. Beautiful beach and could not ask for a better location. Larry was really nice and very helpful My family is hoping to go back in October and would love to make this place our vacation spot for years to come. All I can say you will not be disappointed with this condo. Larry thank you for all your help and I hope to be in contact with you by the end of July.

Owner's reply: Thanks Jason October is a great time to enjoy the beach as the crowds are down but it is still warm enough to enjoy all there is to do in Ft Walton Beach.

Review 1-10 of 21
Have you been a guest of this property?

Owner Supplied Testimonials

This is one of the most incredible places I have ever been. A place where you can truly relax, recharge and rejuvenate. Once you have vacationed here you WILL come back year after year.