Mt Hood Government Camp Vacation Rental

From $120 / night

Government Camp, OR
Mt Hood Government Camp Vacation Rental
Condo
0 bedrooms
4 guests
2 night min

Overview Description

Overview

Bedrooms: Studio
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 4
Type: Condo
Per night: $120 - $130
Pets allowed: No
Internet: Yes
Description of the Government Camp vacation condo rental
Government Camp condo description
Mount Hood getaway close to everything in Government Camp, Timberline Lodge, Mt. Hood Meadows, Ski Bowl. Easy drive to Hood River, Wineries, Hood River attractions.

Located at historic Thunderhead Lodge in the heart of the Village of Government Camp, at the base of Mount Hood!

Holiday information (see link below) for Mt Hood Ski Bowl, which is just easy walking distance from our vacation rental condo enjoy!!!


Welcome to your Mt. Hood vacation getaway in our very clean open floor plan, 'studio-style' 1 sleeping room condo unit, comfortably sleeps up to 4 in same room. This unit is newly on the rental market (as of August 2013), and so you'll be sure to be sleeping and relaxing in a very clean rental unit! This very cozy unit is perfectly situated in Government Camp just walking distance across the street from Mt. Hood Ski Bowl, a destination for Winter and Summer fun.... Skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, hiking, cycling, mountain biking, and so much more!
The condo unit is on the 2nd floor facing West outside the sliding patio door (for the best views of Ski Bowl in the entire village!!!). No other unit in the building has a sliding glass patio door facing Ski Bowl and overlooking the year-round geothermal heated pool. This particular unit has a walk-out deck outside the patio door where you can sit quietly overlooking the heated pool below and you can sit on the covered deck to watch the sunset over the Ski Bowl resort. There really aren't any nicer views of this part of Ski Bowl anywhere on the mountain! The rental unit includes portable chairs for your use on the outdoor deck.

The unit is located in the historic Thunderhead Lodge building (boasts one of the best locations in Government Camp: the classic Thunderhead Lodge! This unit is one of only 10 condo units in the building. The Thunderhead Lodge was originally home of the historic "Ski Way" aerial tram that transported skiers and passengers up to Timberline Lodge (in the 1950's).

Stay in the historic building that once served as the base terminal in Government Camp. Our building has great community amenities like a heated geothermal year-round pool, a large recreation room with wood-burning fireplace, wet bar, pool table and foosball, and outstanding views of Mt. Hood and Ski Bowl. And you'll feel like you're 'on the mountain' when the lights come on at nighttime for Ski Bowl night-skiing!

Your own private getaway within the lodge is fully equipped with everything you might need to enjoy a ski getaway or mountain biking weekend for up to four guests. There are 2 full size beds in the same sleeping room. The studio style sleeping arrangement has a full kitchen, full bath, cable TV with DVD/VHS players and a stock of movies for both adults and children.... The building offers free accessible WiFi, and the Village of Government Camp has several spots for WiFi connectivity too!

Our fully stocked kitchen has everything you should require for a nice breakfast, lunch or dinner before or after your big adventures on the mountain! Refrigerator with freezer, oven with electric stove, microwave, coffeemaker, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. If cooking on vacation isn't your thing, then walk across the street to the brewpub restaurant or up the hill into the Village of Government Camp for a big night on the town.....

There are two bed possibilities: a full size deluxe cushion fold-down futon sleeper, and a full size firm mattress day bed. Additionally there is an espresso machine and bean grinder in the kitchen (bring your own beans).

You can walk to skiing at Mt Hood SkiBowl (literally just steps down the street!), or drive just a few miles further up the mountain to Timberline and Mt. Hood Meadows! In the summer, the area is surrounded by hiking and biking trails, alpine lakes, wildflower-filled meadows, and amazing scenic vistas of the mountain. Stay in the heart of it all here at the Thunderhead Lodge!

Contact the owner ANYTIME with questions or if you want recommendations for fun activities in the area!

Non Smoking Only
Children Welcome
Pets Not Allowed
FREE Parking
Cable / accessible WiFi in building
Heated Pool *the only geo-thermally heated pool in the area (it's like a huge hot tub in the Winter months!)
Communal Pool

The unit is located in the historic Thunderhead Lodge building (boasts one of the best locations in Government Camp: the classic Thunderhead Lodge! This unit is one of only 10 condo units in the building. The Thunderhead Lodge was originally home of the historic "Ski Way" aerial tram that transported skiers and passengers up to Timberline Lodge (in the 1950's).

Search online for a cool video tube on the aerial tram!

Stay in the historic building that once served as the base terminal in Government Camp. Our building has great community amenities like a heated geothermal year-round pool, a large recreation room with wood-burning fireplace, wet bar, pool table and foosball, and outstanding views of Mt. Hood and Ski Bowl. And you'll feel like you're 'on the mountain' when the lights come on at nighttime for Ski Bowl night-skiing!


Property Type

Condo
On floor 2
600 sq. ft.
Accommodation Type

Vacation Rental
Meals

Guests Provide Their Own Meals
Onsite Services

Housekeeper Included
Suitability

Minimum Age Limit For Renters:
21
Children Welcome
Non Smoking Only
Pets Not Allowed
Wheelchair Inaccessible
Bedrooms: 0 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, Beds for 4

1 open sleeping area studio: 1 double, 1 sleep sofa /futon
studio style layout
open floor plan, 'studio-style', sleeps 4 very comfortably
Bathrooms: 1 Bathroom

Bathroom 1: toilet, combination tub/shower, tub, shower
Entertainment

Books
DVD Player
Foosball
Game Room:
available in common use recreation room located downstairs, including a pool table, table tennis (ping pong) and foosball table games
...more
Ping Pong Table
Pool Table:
available in common use recreation room located downstairs
Satellite / Cable
Television:
cable tv included
Video Library
Theme

Adventure
Away From It All
Family
Historic
Romantic
Sports & Activities
Tourist Attractions
Attractions

Museums
Recreation Center
Restaurants
Winery Tours
Local Services & Businesses

ATM/Bank
Groceries
Laundromat
Massage Therapist
Leisure Activities

Bird Watching
Horseback Riding
Paddle Boating
Scenic Drives
Shopping
Sight Seeing
Sledding
Walking
Wildlife Viewing
Location Type

Mountain View:
best view of Mt Hood Ski Bowl in the entire condo building (right outside our sliding glass door is a huge balcony)
...more
Resort:
Mt Hood Ski Bowl views!!!!
Ski-In
Ski-Out
Sports & Adventure Activities

Basketball Court
Cross Country Skiing
Cycling
Fishing
Fly Fishing
Freshwater Fishing
Golf
Hiking
Kayaking
Mountain Biking
Mountain Climbing
Mountaineering
Rafting
Rock Climbing
Roller Blading
Ski Privileges Optional
Skiing
Snowboarding
Snowmobiling
Swimming

Whitewater Rafting
Wind-Surfing
Dining

Dining:
includes folding table and 6 outdoor patio chairs for your enjoyment on the covered balcony deck just outside our patio sliding glass door.
...more
Dining Area
Seating for 4 people
General

Clothes Dryer:
available coin-operated in common use recreation room located downstairs
...more
Fireplace:
community fireplace located in the downstairs recreation room with furniture, chairs, pool table, foosball, firewood available
...more
Hair Dryer
Heating:
included in the condo unit, adjustable thermostat for regulation of building geo-thermal heating.
...more
Internet:
available wi-fi
Linens Provided
Living Room:
available in common use recreation room located downstairs and with furniture and wood-burning fireplace
...more
Parking:
FREE
Towels Provided:
renters may wish to bring their own 'beach towels' for enjoying the heated pool. Otherwise towels are provided.
...more
Washing Machine:
available coin-operated in common use recreation room located downstairs
...more
Kitchen

Coffee Maker
Dishes & Utensils
Dishwasher
Kitchen:
Our fully stocked kitchen has everything you should require! Refrigerator with freezer, oven with stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils.
...more
Microwave
Oven
Pantry Items
Refrigerator
Stove
Toaster
Outside

Bicycle s:
renters are welcomed (and encouraged) to bring bicycles! you can lock up your bikes in the downstairs community ski locker storage area, or you can park your 'clean' bicycles inside the condo unit :)
...more
Deck / Patio
Ski & Snowboard
Pool / Spa

Communal Pool
Heated Pool
House Cleaning

Housekeeper Included

Reviews
Write a review4.4
from 14 traveler reviews

cb
portland, or
great stay
This is a nice, very clean small space that was comfortable for a family with 2 small children. The pool was fantastic and the kids loved the rec room. It is close to everything. Though the space is small it had everything you need. My only complaint is that many of the cabinets are locked and there are no dressers or closets to unpack, so we lived out of a suitcase for 4 days. Not a huge deal but something that could be easily remedied.
Stayed: August 2014Submitted: September 9, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Families with young children

Owner response:
Hi Cynthia,
I appreciate your feedback and will take it under consideration. However, I must admit that when renting a "studio style" condo unit, I would not expect vast amounts of storage space for luggage. In fact, only a few of the cabinets are locked and they are simply locked because they contain extra supplies, linens, toilet paper, etc, cleaning solutions, and cleaning supplies for the housekeeper. I will consider putting a small 'dresser' or 'cabinet' for future renters, so again thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No


Chuck A.
-
Cozy and convenient in Government Camp
This cozy studio unit in Government Camp was ideal for our summer skiing and biking holiday. Very clean and organized, the hosts have thought of pretty much everything to make your stay comfortable. A few steps down the road is a brew pub and the trail head for biking is next to the building. The pool and games room were a big plus for my son!
The kitchen is well equipped, I made use of the espresso maker each day! If you're on a budget but don't want to sacrifice on comfort and cleanliness, book this condo for your stay. You won't be disappointed.
Stayed: August 2014Submitted: August 25, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Tourists without a car, Families with young children

Owner response:
Tons of cycling, hiking and outdoor recreation right outside the doors to our property! So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again next Summer!!!
-chris

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No


Barry D.
Very clean, Cozy Condo
The place was very clean (which is a big deal for us), it has a great location, and the owner was very easy work with. I would absolutely recommend this place to any of my friends.
Stayed: August 2014Submitted: August 4, 2014
Recommended for: Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway

Owner response:
Thank you very much, Barry, for your stay! We hope you'll visit again. -Chris (owner)

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No


Anonymous
Very nice spot
Great location on the edge of Government Camp with hiking trails beginning right next to the building. The pool is refreshing and everything in town is very close by. We enjoyed our stay.
Stayed: June 2014Submitted: July 16, 2014
Owner response:
Yes! Tons of hiking and biking options all around this location. Join us again and explore more next time!!!

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No


Amy
Portland, OR
Cozy Getaway for Family of 5
Our family of 5 (3 young kids) spent a night here and had a great time. It's clean and cozy. We were here in the rain and enjoyed snuggling up for a movie (lots are provided, both adult and kid movies), and playing foosball and ping pong in the game room. The condo is nicer and cuter than the pictures make it look. If you are a light sleeper, I would recommend bringing ear plugs or a sound machine as it's easy to hear the unit upstairs through the ceiling. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend, and we will hopefully be back in the winter!
Stayed: June 2014Submitted: June 17, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Owner response:
Thanks


cgh
Northern California
Comfortable and relxaing getaway!
Very comfortable and relaxing place to stay during a couple days of summertime riding at Timberline Resort. Nice location in Government Camp, we loved the balcony, and delighted in the proximity to the local brew-pub.
Stayed: June 2014Submitted: June 16, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

Owner response:
So glad you enjoyed the proximity to all that the Village has to offer.



NorAm
Clean, great view, all the amenities!
Love the quaintness and nostalgia of skiing. Love the pool, rec room and wax room.
The studio is spotless, has all the amenities you can think of! With quality linens, kitchen supplies, etc. Decorated very fun! Hats off to Megan (maybe) for this!
I would only say it sleeps 3 comfortably as the upper bunk is not available for
an extra bed but only for storage. You can hear others as the walls are thin but everyone is respectable about noise and bedtime hours of "quiet time" LOVED OUR STAY!
Stayed: March 2014Submitted: March 25, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers

Owner response:
Hello Jill, I appreciate your kind and positive feedback about your recent stay in our studio condo rental. I am so very glad you enjoyed the many amenities and comforts we've provided in our rental. I would, however, like to point out that many guests have found out two full size beds to be both comfortable and suitable for their stay of up to 4 friendly adults and there hav been parties of up to 6 adults with those who don't mind crashing (after a day on the mountain) on the ample floor space. We welcome your return visit and hope you appreciated the discounted rate we offered for your stay. -Chris

p.s. A lot of the decor is my doing too. Ha! ;)


Odin O.
Exactly as advertised, simple easy checkin
This place was great. It was exactly what we thought it would be. Perfect for two guys who just wanted a small crash pad for a good price. Pool was awesome after long days on the mountain. Checking in was super easy and the owner was easy to communicate with when we forgot something in the condo after checking out.
Recommended for: Adventure seekers

Owner response:
Hey Odin,
So glad you enjoyed your weekend at our vacation property. Please contact me again to receive a discount off your next stay (as a return visitor). And thanks for the kind words!
-Chris

Was this review helpful? 0Yes 0No


Citymouse
Portland
Fantastic Weekend
Great place to stay for a weekend at the Mountain. It's small, but cozy not restrictive, and just really well thought out. Everything you could need for your visit, plenty of storage, clean, and a lovely view. Walking distance to the village. This is such a small thing, but I really appreciated all the hooks and places to hang stuff! This is great place for people who want to get out and enjoy the mountain and have a comfortable, convenient place to relax at the end of the day.
Stayed: February 2014Submitted: March 7, 2014
Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers, Families with young children

Owner response:
Very glad you appreciated all of our little touches to make your stay comfortable!
-Chris & Megan


BT
Comfy spot to overnight in Govy
My son and I just spent the weekend at this studio condo. Yes, it's a single room studio condo but it is very clean, modernly furnished and the owners have stocked it with everything needed. If you need more room to stretch out, the rec room is right downstairs. We'll be back for another ski weekend!
Stayed: January 2014Submitted: February 4, 2014
Owner response:
Looking forward to your return visits! Thanks, Chris



Fees:
Cleaning Fee$50 + tax
Refundable Damage Deposit$200
Tax Rate6.5%
Notes:
No refunds for cancellations within 30 days of check-in date.

All other cancellations receive full refund less $10 transaction fee.

Completely refundable damage deposit of $200 upon cleaning inspection after your departure.

Example of damage would include (but not limited to): stains on bedding, carpets, floors, furniture; broken or missing electronics, kitchen appliances, cookware, etc.

Cancellation policy:
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

chris brannen

About the owner

Owner Profile

Rates

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Oct 20 2016 Mar 31 2017 $120 $130 - - 2 Nights
Check In: 4 p.m. Check Out: 11 a.m.
Lodging tax: 6.5
Deposits: $200 completely refundable damage deposit. Refunded with 3 business days after inspection on check-out.
Payment Options: American Express, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
Other Fees: $50 cleaning fee
Page Views This month: 0 This year: 40 Since listed: 212