Very Good

7 reviews

1 / 15 Morning Coffee Break

Map
Map

Overview

Bedrooms:
3
Bathrooms:
3
Sleeps:
6
Type:
House
Pets allowed:
Yes
Wi-Fi available:
No

Description from owner

TripAdvisor Property ID: 4823852

About the area

THE PRIVATE DRIVEWAY IS APPROXIMATELY 1/4 MILE LONG WITH PRIVATE FRESHWATER POND ON THE RIGHT COMING IN AND PLENTY OF WOODS AND OPEN FIELDS ON EITHER SIDE. ALOT OF EARLY AMERICAN AND INDIAN HISTORY IN AREA ALONG WITH ALOT OF NATURAL BEAUTY TO ENJOY. BRING YOUR DIGITAL CAMERA TO TAKE YOUR NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC MOMENT FROM THE BALD EAGLE TO THE STUNNING SUNRISES AND SUNSETS WITH JUST YOU AND YOURS, IF YOUR LUCKY YOU CAN SEE THE WILD DOLPHIN PLAYING AND FEEDING IN THE WATER. PLENTY OF CRABS AND FISH TO EAT SO BRING YOUR NAPKINS AND PICKERS AND COLD BEVERAGE FOR A FEAST. NEARBY ARE MANY ATTRACTIONS FROM THE WORLD FAMOUS WACHAPREAGUE FISHING PORT IN THE BARRIER ISLANDS, TO CHINCOTEAGUE ISLAND WITH THE WILD PONIES TO WALLOPS ISLAND NASA LAUNCH SITE AND OF COURSE THE LONGEST BRIDGE TUNNEL IN THE FREE WORLD, THE CHESAPEAKE BAY BRIDGE TUNNEL. FORGET THE BIG BEACH TOWNS AND THE TRAFFIC AND HIGH PRICES AND POLLUTION, COME ON DOWN TO PUNGOTEAGUE AND KICK BACK LIKE YOU HAVE NEVER DONE BEFORE. IF YOU DO NEED TO GO TO A BIG BEACH YOU HAVE BOTH VIRGINIA BEACH VA AND OCEAN CITY MARYLAND ONLY 1.5 HOURS DOWN THE ROAD. VERY CLOSE TO ALOT OF ATTRACTIONS BOTH OCEAN FRONT AND BAY FRONT.

Owner profile

Randy M.
Years listed:
2

Languages spoken: English

Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Grill
  • Heating
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Fireplace
  • Parking Included
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Pet Friendly
  • Waterfront
  • Wheelchair users

Appliances

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Video player
  • Washing machine

Activities

  • Bikes
  • Boat available
  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Water sports

Reviews (7)

Very Good – based on 7 reviews Very Good
7 reviews

“Wonderful Getaway”

Reviewed 16 Jul 2014

What a relaxing time we had while staying there. Crabs every night off your very own dock, beautiful sunsets and peace and quiet! Great location to explore the rest of the Eastern Shore. Randy was great to work with...very accommodating. If you're interested in a luxury resort, this place is not for you. If you're interested in rustic charm, reading a good book, playing backgammon on the screened porch, then you've found your slice of heaven. We really enjoyed our stay!

Owner's reply: Dear Sabrina, I hope you left me some crabs, ha. My piece of Waterfront Paradise has always been good for crabbing, oysters and the like's. I am glad to see you enjoying the screened in porch, how about that outdoor shower with the view of the water. Hope to have you back soon. Thanks for your kind review. Randy

“Peace and Quiet on the Eastern Shore - Amazing”

Reviewed 16 Jun 2014

We spent 4 days at Randy's Get-Away in the woods on the water, and it was just what the Dr. ordered. Peace and quiet but a great time. My Brother and I really needed some R and R and we received it in large doses here. We were out on the water every day catching crabs, fishing and enjoying all that this property has to offer. My brother commented that he felt like he had been there before and felt right at home - the comfort level was high! Enjoyed sitting on the screen porch, listening to the breezes, the birds, the water. We ventured out to a few of the local places - not to be missed is the Great Machipongo Clam Shack - what a great place to eat! Unpretentious and great food. Also headed over to the Island House in Wachapreague - also very good. Would recommend this to anyone I know who needs a few days off the grid. We really enjoyed ourselves - Thanks Randy!

Owner's reply: Heh Jersey,

“Great Vacation!”

Reviewed 29 Apr 2013

We just got back from our weekend vacation. The house was absolutely beautiful. We loved all the little touches in the house that made the house felt so comfortable and cozy. The outdoor was a dog lover's paradise with plenty of space for our dog to play fetch and the pier for some dock diving. We also had a great time trying to find all the little jelly fish in the water. The owner was very friendly and SUPER accommodating. We made some changes to our travel plans at the last minute and the owner was able to accommodate us without any problems. In addition, the local area got some great restaurants. We had THE BEST crab soup at Big's. Still thinking about it. It was just sooooo yummy. The owner also told us about the Big Foot memorial about a couple miles down the road from the house. Unfortunately we didn't write down the directions and forgot to look for the big tree. We will definitely go back next time and will 100% rent this place again.

Owner's reply: I'M GLAD YOU ACTUALLY FOUND PARADISE AT MY HOME THAT IS WHAT I INTENDED WHEN I BUILT IT THANKS FOR THE GREAT REVIEW AND LOOK FOWARD TO HAVING YOU BACK AGAIN.

“paradise for boys.”

Reviewed 2 Jul 2012

We just went for 3 days and the owner was very friendly. We brought our boat and was able to put it in and out with no problems. Not good for our 2 girls to swim because they were afraid of jelly fish but we were close enough to other beaches to keep them occupied. Great layout and lots of extras to use. The outdoor shower was great. It was one of the hottest days, 105 degrees so the upstairs aircond. had a hard time cooling things off.

“Enjoyed our stay on Eastern Shore”

Reviewed 23 Jun 2012

This house is in a great location--quiet, picturesque, secluded. We enjoyed crabbing and kayaking and just hanging out around the water. This is a great place for anyone who enjoys the outdoors.

“Great getaway”

Reviewed 3 Mar 2011

We stayed for the whole week just before Christmas. Being able to get away from people was wonderful. We got to see the total lunar eclipse from the master bed looking through the skylight right over the bed! It is a "getaway cabin", which for us, was just fine. Our dog loved all the new sights and smells. If you need to have reliable communications, which we did, then this is not for you. No matter what the cellular maps say, one bar is about the best you can hope for. We had Verizon cell phone, Verizon Wireless card, AT&T phone and a T-Mobile device. None worked, So, we had great morning meals at a wonderful cafe in Onancock which had really good, free wireless for us. We also found a huge laundromat in Onancock since the owner had not be able to install the new washer and dryer yet. If you want to get away from people for a while this is a great place to go. We were quite comfortable with the portable electric heaters even though it was quite cold outside.

“Family Vacation 2010”

Reviewed 20 Jul 2010

We had a great family vacation at the House in Pungoteague. We are a family of four with two boys 12 & 14 and our Black Lab. We stayed for the week of the 4th of July! We enjoyed the privacy that this house provided. The stars that come out are totally amazing in the night sky!!! It was a testoserone filled vacation! The boys and I thought it was great! We had a great time fishing and crabbing. My boys had a blast crabbing with hand lines from the dock and using the canoe that was provided!! It was the relaxing vacation that I was looking for!!! Now for some of the negatives that we discovered, nothing to major! The 2nd floor bedrooms are all one room, no real privacy for the parents. There is no outdoor eating area for crab feasts and the nice summer days. There is not alot for the ladies to do. My wife read and worked on the tan, while the boys and I did the guys stuff. There is no swimming from the dock. We were lucky enough to bring a boat and found some great private beaches on the shores of the Chesapeake. The beaches were only about a 10 minute boat ride! There is no TV reception! My wife and I had to sit through Benchwarmers about 10 times... so bring some DVD's for bedtime. We were able to overcome all these and truely enjoyed ourselves! It was like having our own vacation home! The owner made us feel very welcomed.

Review 1-7 of 7
Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review