Private Plantation Bungalow Cottage near beach

Plantation Bungalows Maui - Cottage Driveway Entry
Plantation Bungalows Maui - Cottage Driveway EntryPlantation Bungalows Maui - Side Combo Keylock EntryPlantation Bungalows Maui - park a few steps from the cottagePlantation Bungalows Maui - this lanai is always a shady respite from the sun!Plantation Bungalow Maui Living AreaLiving AreaLiving AreaPlantation Bungalows Maui - Living RoomKitchenPlantation Bungalows KitchenPlantation Bungalows Maui - Queen BedroomFull Size BedBathroomTub/ShowerPlantation Bungalows Maui -  Courtyard with spa and BBQPlantation Bungalows Maui - View to the cottageWe are a licensed County Rental HomeMain House on the left, garage on the right, cottage in back
(16)
Excellent
16 Reviews

From $67 / night

23 W Welakahao Rd, Kihei, HI 96753
Private Plantation Bungalow Cottage near beach
Cottage
2 bedrooms
4 guests
No min stay

Overview Description

Overview

Bedrooms: 2
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 4
Type: Cottage
Per month: $2,000
Pets allowed: No
Internet: Yes
Description of the Kihei vacation cottage rental
This 2-bedroom fully furnished cottage is available for long term rental. Contact owner. The property also includes a beach bathroom with shower common to the house and cottage.

Tax at 4.167% to be added to final invoice.

Amenities include 4 bikes, beach chairs, boogie boards and snorkel gear.

Maui's beautiful beaches, parks, restaurants, and shopping are just minutes away from this central location. The home has a front-yard patio, BBQ, and shady dining for six. The center courtyard has an additional BBQ and dining for six or more under the umbrella. Linger in the courtyard or enjoy the hot tub, relaxing in a private setting surrounded by lush mature palms and tropical plants with a large Royal Poinciana tree towering overhead.

Co Owner is a licensed real estate broker.

Kristin Holmes

Area Information
The cottage is in the oldest beach neighborhood in Kihei, on the dry leeward coast, sheltered by 10,000 ft. Haleakala crater. There are no condominiums or hotels in the neighborhood. This property is situated on a beach access road. All within a mile north and south of us are shopping, night life, fitness centers, surf schools, dive shops, safe swimming & snorkeling beaches, 18 hole golf, award-winning restaurants, diving, windsurfing, public Kalama Park with lighted & paved oceanside cycling & jogging path, and great new free public tennis courts. Kihei has lots of shops, restaurants and nightlife, and the best beaches for water sports on Maui, all within walking & cycling distance of the cottage with no busy roads to cross. A great Hawaiian beach town for you to enjoy.

About the owner

Owner Profile

Kristin Holmes

Kristin Holmes

Kristin Holmes

  • School:

    Kailua High School, Windward Community College
  • About:

    This is simply a great property so owning and managing is an honor!...
  • View full profile

Rates

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Jul 01 2017 Dec 31 2017 - - - $2,000 Full Period
Tax I.D.: W89422416-01
Deposits: Rent fees due monthly; 4.167% tax to be added to rental amount.
Payment Options: Cashier's Check, Mastercard, Money Order, Personal Check, Visa

Reviews (16)

Reviews for this vacation cottage rental in Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Excellent
16 reviews
Charles Mote

Superior to ANY 5-Star Resort for Family Fun

Charles Mote

Colorado Springs, CO

Superior to ANY 5-Star Resort for Family Fun

November 13, 2014

The accommodations, decor, atmosphere, utilities and all-around comfort level are excellent. Just about everything you might want or need, including boogie boards, snorkeling and other sports gear, child booster seats, washer/drier, extra showers, and even a kayak and life preservers, is readily available on the premises. Shopping, food, shave ice and other amenities are within easy walking distance. There's a common courtyard/patio between the cottages that's awesome for family or group get-togethers, BBQ-ing, etc. There's plenty of parking space as well, and an easily-accessible, almost deserted, absolutely gorgeous sandy Pacific beach about 100 yards to the west. Moreover, the property's owner, Kristen Holmes, is one of the coolest people you'll meet, with impeccable integrity and a great sense of humor. She's a genuine pleasure to deal with under any circumstances and truly cares about ensuring that her quests have the best possible vacation experience. Bottom line? If you're a family or group that wants a clean, comfortable, convenient, spacious, very well-equipped, perfectly-located vacation rental a stone's throw from a virtual private beach in Kihei, this is it. As my review title says, I'd choose this exceptional rental over a 5-star resort any day...it's vastly more spacious, comfortable and convenient.

Kristin Holmes

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the great review! It is important to me that our guests love this place as much as we do! We want our guest experience at the property and on Maui to be full of great memories. You are welcome back anytime! Kristin

Cid Johnson

Great little cottage in a great location

Cid Johnson

Stanwood, WA

Great little cottage in a great location

October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Plantation Bungalow for nine days. It was clean and nicely decorated. Walking distance to nice beaches. Our favorite beach was two blocks away. As promised, there was beach gear available. They didn't advertise that they have coolers to use as well. All the beaches are public just look for the public easements or go to a beach park. Kihei is a small town with lots of beach parks nearby. This is in a residential community very close parks, stores, and restaurants. Costco is available near the airport to stock up the refrigerator. The site manager was very pleasant and helpful. She was able to give information for us to get the most out of our tourist adventures. We felt so comfortable in this little cottage. Spent a good deal of time in the courtyard in the afternoons. It was a very relaxing atmosphere. Not only would I stay there again, but I am recommending it to all of my friends. I give it 5 stars.

Kristin Holmes

Owner's reply:

Thanks for choosing the Plantation Bunglows and we hope to see you again!

Kelly Gardner

Perfect place for our family!

Kelly Gardner

San Francisco, CA

Perfect place for our family!

May 15, 2012

Luckily this place was available on short notice for us, because we just decided to come to Maui a week prior. Kristin was great in getting our reservation setup and the place was perfect. Having the beach toys, surf board, chairs and all the stuff we needed but couldn't bring was such a nice amenity. The location is perfect, near shopping, beach and dining, and only 20 min from the airport. The rooms were nice, the kitchen and lanai- perfect. You won't be disappointed. Kristin even let us have a late checkout! Thanks again!!!

Kristin Holmes

Owner's reply:

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Maui. Mahalo!

Lynn Rice

Definitely Going Back

Lynn Rice

Mountain View, Ca. USA

Definitely Going Back

March 17, 2012

We stayed in the Cottage. This is by far a great place to stay when visiting Maui. We were a party of six (5 adults and a 9 year old). We were able to make it work for us just fine. Personally, I have visited Maui several times in the past but found this place to be the most accommodating and relaxing. I have done the condo's and resorts but have never felt as relaxed as I was staying in the cottage. My husband whom has never been to Hawaii, and always said he "has no business in Hawaii" loved it and is ready to go back already. He thought the Cottage was an added bonus and liked the homeyness of the premisis. Plus the outside bathouse was an extra help. We were so close to the beach and all activities. Literally right around the corner or a couple blocks away. My daughter who was there (in an up scale condo complex) was jealous because we were closer to the beach and downtown shopping centers than she was and we had all the extra toys that are included with the rental. My other daughter, who stayed with us and is very hard to please, loved the cottage. We had a blast. We could walk just about anywhere we wanted to go in Kehei or ride a bike. It was nice to come back after being at the beach and feel like you were at home. We really enjoyed the privacy of the unit. Even though it's in a residential area it is very secluded and secure. I can't stress enough how convienent it was to have all the toys. We thouroghly enjoyed the bikes, and snorkling equipment. The Kayak and hot tub were awesome. Although we had all the linens and towels we needed it was so nice to have the washer and dryer. We all packed light and were able to have clean clothes anytime we needed and it left our bags room to bring back gifts and souvenirs. Also, Kristen was the best. She is patient and will answer any questions you have and she stays calm all the time which helps when you're feeling stressed about making arrangements for a trip. The two bad parts of the trip were having to come back home to the cold in Ca. and that I had pneumonia that kept me from flying over with everyone in the beginning so I lost two days at the beautiful Cottage. I would recommend this unit to anyone who wants a place to just relax and have fun. We are definitely going back and hopefully soon. R. Herrera

Kristin Holmes

Owner's reply:

Thanks you so much for the great review. It sounds like we will see you again on a return trip! Mahalo and a hui hou....

Mikaere Taitoko

Home away from home

Mikaere Taitoko

Hamilton, Aotearoa (New Zealand)

Home away from home

October 15, 2011

What a hidden gem this is. If you're planning a stay on Maui and are over the hotel buzz then this is an ideal alternative. Our family of three adults and three boys (13, 11, 9 yrs) found the Plantation Cottage totally adequate for our needs, with the added benefits of freely available bikes, coolers, boogie boards and snorkeling gear. Its location in South Kihei was handy to great beaches and a wide range of stores so shopping never became a labourious chore. While we were there we endured some pretty hot weather so the fans and air conditioning was absolutely appreciated. Also having wireless Internet was a blessing as we were without a phone - but when you're on holiday why bother with a phone, just go and visit the people and places you want to see. It was lovely to meet Kristin who made us feel right at home. Thanks so much for a wonderful time. We will definitely recommend this property to friends and family as a preferred vacation option and will make this a 'must check out' property when planning our next visit to the Valley Isle.

Bryan Sabol

Authentic Hawaii Doesn't Get Better Than This

Bryan Sabol

Seattle, WA

Authentic Hawaii Doesn't Get Better Than This

July 23, 2011

Our family of 4 spent a week in the 2 bedroom bungalow and had a fantastic time. For those of you who are tired of cookie-cutter hotels, massive, sterile, resorts, this bungalow is the place for you. The quaint bungalow has everything a family needs for a true home-away-from-home feel. A small but fully functional kitchen, dining/living area, and master plus additional bedroom and bath are tucked into a quiet residential section of Kihei just 1.5 blocks to the ocean, and a few blocks from restaurants, grocery stores, and parks. Although the interior of the bungalow suited us fine, the real star of this place is the huge private lanai plus an even larger courtyard that's shared with the other studio rental. A massive fire tree takes center stage, providing welcome shade from the hot sun. Bamboo, palms, and a variety of other plantings wrap around the property to give you a quiet and private feel of being in your own little corner of paradise. Other things to point out about the place: a separate building stores beach chairs, snorkeling equipment and sand toys (which the kids loved), plus a number of boogie boards and countless towels to make your beach run effortless and fun. Add to that the hot tub, outside shower and additional bathroom/shower in the adjoining storage building gave us all the room and facilities a full family could want. We can't rave enough about our stay -- or the welcome ohana feel that Kristin and Kym gave us. So if you're looking for a stuffy and expensive resort, go somewhere else. But if you want a taste of the real local Hawaii with all the amenities, look no further than here. We'll certainly be coming back!

Andy Hudson

GREAT place for families!

Andy Hudson

Southern California

GREAT place for families!

April 3, 2011

This was a wonderful experience. The minute we arrived, the owner greeted us and even helped haul stuff from our car to the bungalow. The greatest reason to choose this bungalow are all the extras that are very convenient. For example, there are plenty of dishes, cookware and towels. Also, the boogie boards and snorkling gear are fantastic and allow you to avoid annoying rentals and save you money at the same time. Thanks for that. We did wish, however, that the spa could have been treated with chlorine or some type of pool cleaner because we found the water to smell a little funky. Another great feature is the location. I would venture to say that it's the absolute best location in south Maui because it's a straight shot to the "highway" and that cuts down a LOT on travel time. we will DEFINITELY stay here again on our next Maui vacation - without a doubt!!! Thanks!!

Bill Romberg

wonderful family vacation retreat

Bill Romberg

Anchorage, AK

wonderful family vacation retreat

January 30, 2011

Perfect setting for a family vacation. Steve and Tonia are very gracious hosts and we couldn't have had a better time. Exceeded our expectations for a relaxing 2-week stay. Perfect for the independent traveler. Access to the all of the beach equipment was a very nice. Thank you very much. Bill and Wendy, Anchorage.

Nicole Rogers Schmirler

Best-ever home rental!

Nicole Rogers Schmirler

Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA

Best-ever home rental!

January 3, 2011

We've traveled extensively, and this home rental has been the best by far. The accommodations are plenty (my kids especially enjoyed the kayaking and snorkeling gear), the home is lovely (very comfortable mattress and high-quality, 5-star hotel pillows), and the grounds are beautiful and pleasing to look at (as an avid gardener myself, it is evident the foliage is well-tended and maintained). After a day of enjoying Maui's best, it was always nice to return to a comfortable home and relax in the hot tub and then sip wine on the lanai. We stayed at this cottage for 17-days, and we're in the process of booking our next stay. I would highly, highly recommend this to any couple or family looking for a temporary home away from home. Tonia and Steve do an awesome job, and my family (my kids adored them both) and I look forward to seeing them again.

Dennis, Kim, Justin and Haley Roberts

More than we expected

Dennis, Kim, Justin and Haley Roberts

Abbotsford, B.C.

More than we expected

July 16, 2010

It was so much more than we expected. Everything was just beautiful inside and out. Steve and Tonya have everything that you could ever ask for. We were a little worried that there was no pool for our 3 children. We thought they might get a little bored without one. They were totally fine without one. Within walking distance to everything, beaches, movie theatre, restaurants etc. We stayed with the Baneys for 3 weeks over Christmas and New Years and we ate all our meals but one in our cottage. So well equipped with everything! And I mean everything. It was a trip to remember! We hardly saw our hosts at all. The sweetest couple ever. They are so helpful about information about beaches etc, in Maui. My kids are always asking when we can go back to the Baneys! Thank you for our wonderful stay and we wouldnt stay any where else!

Andrea Schmidt

The Comforts of Home in Kihei

Andrea Schmidt

Portland, OR USA

The Comforts of Home in Kihei

May 15, 2010

The cottage was very comfortable with all of the amenities of home. It is located in a safe and friendly neighborhood and we felt like we were part of a local community. The snorkel gear, beach chairs and coolers were a plus!

Victoria Dickerson

Private and comfortable

Victoria Dickerson

Olympia, WA

Private and comfortable

August 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I had an excellent time in Kihei, and Steve and Tonya's cottage was a perfect place to stay. It is located closely to everything you could want to do, and they had provided all the beach equipment we needed. The cottage it self clean, and a wonderful place to come back to at the end of the day. We are already planning our next trip!

Susan Stettler

Aloha hospitality

Susan Stettler

Switzerland

Aloha hospitality

June 21, 2009

Small paradise in busy Kihei. Well equipped, clean and charming cottage, ideally located for all the sights on south Maui. We really enjoyed our stay and were sorry to have to leave. Hope to be back soon.

Bob & Sheree

Relaxation and Fun!!!

Bob & Sheree

Phoenix, AZ

Relaxation and Fun!!!

November 1, 2007

What a wonderful vacation experience! This cottage has everything you need to enjoy a fun-filled, relaxing vacation. We enjoyed watching the sunsets each evening and then walking through the beautiful neighborhood to the various nearby restaurants for dinner. A few nights we chose to stay at our cottage and have a barbecue on the wonderful patio. Do explore all of the nearby beaches. Anything you might need for a picnic or watersports is available just out the back door. We had the most awesome time and would highly recommend staying here!

Cindi Shank

The Best!

Cindi Shank

Durango, CO

The Best!

June 28, 2007

We just spend 7 awesome days in the Baney's bungalow. If you get the chance, say here! The rooms were immaculate when we arrived (a huge plus for me!), the bed was turned down and we had fruit and coffee available. We were able to enjoy all the amentities they had to offer: beach chairs, umbrella, snorkel equipment, beach towels, coolers etc. They have everything you could possibly need to complete your vacation on Maui. We were able to enjoy the ocean kayak even if we went around in circles! Our hosts were there if we needed them but other than that, left us alone to enjoy our time together. We are already planning our next trip to the bungalow for next year!

A renter

Great Place in Kihei

A renter

South Carolina USA

Great Place in Kihei

May 21, 2006

For the money this place can't be beat. My wife, daughter and I stayed in the cottage in May 2006. The cottage is not large but great! It was extremely comfortable for the 3 of us and could have done 4 also. If you do more than 4 it would be tight. Steve and Tonia have all the details covered so all you need to do is enjoy your vacation. The shore is at the end of the street (really close) but has no beach. There is plenty of good beach nearby but it is either a medium walk or a short car ride away. Lots of great shopping and eating close. This gets my highest recommendation

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

We spent 9 wonderful days here and everyday was an adventure, but what really made our stay here was Tonia and Steve. They supplied just about everything you needed and goodies you didn't, but were fabulous. What made it so extra special was that my son's family came with us. They stayed in the Studio and we stayed in the Bungalow
right across the courtyard. How wonderful it was to wake up and see your grandchildren running over to say good morning to Grandma and Grandpa. It was a perfect place for Grandparents, their children and their children. Tonia was so great, she even rented a hi-chair and bed for our 1 yr old...Studio was very child proof and for our
5 yr old...she loved playing in the courtyard looking for geko's, everyday.
Victoria Arata Davis and Joe Davis % Bella, Ruby, Forest & Richard Arata
Victoria Arata Davis, and family
California


My friends and I stayed in the Baney's Bungalow for 8 nights. IT WAS WONDERFUL! I highly recommend this rental! Tonia & Steve were delightful. The location was centrally located to all of our activities. Easy access, private, amentities great...can't say enought good about my experience. I would definitely rent this bungalow again! Thank you!

Two of my daughters,a granddaughter and myself had the chance to vacation in Maui during the month of September, 2004. We had never been there before so we in turn surfed the internet for places to stay. We came across the Baney's cottage and inquired. Are we glad we did ,skeptical not knowing what exactly we'd find although their site is GREAT we rented the cottage for Sept.8th thru Sept.14th. Well we were really suprised their site does not do them justice. The cottage was everything we could of asked for and more. After site seeing all day we came back to the cottage and it was like coming home.All amenties were available to us. CLEAN and very nicely furnished . The Baney's ( Steve and Tonia ) are excellent Hosts. Very friendly people and made us feel at home . I would recommend their property to anyone . I would love to go back someday and just RELAX. They also have a studio apartment just redone and it is equally as nice as the cottage. Again I say everything is as clean and neat as can be and very well furnished including the porches and patio. We all enjoyed ourselves tremendously and wish them every success in renting their property and I'm sure everyone staying there would have the same type comments,truly wonderful people with excellent taste. They are very eager to provide details about places to go and things to do as they have lived in area for quite some time and know the ins and outs. They are not seen while you are there unless you ask them for something and they are very accommadating. I could go on and on but will stop and hope the Baney's remain our Hawaii friends. Aloha and Mahalo Steve and Tonia!
Your Illinois friends , Carol and family
CarolGerstner, Belleville,IL

Part 1 of 2
Aloha everyone! I have just returned from another Maui trip. This comment will read like a paid advertisement, but I assure you, email me for verification. I have stayed in condos, and resorts (recently, The Grand Wailea). This time, I didn't want room service or swimming pools at a resort, and I didn't want all the traffic the condos have. I wanted to "Live" in Maui this time. I just found Tonia & Steve Baney's property on the internet and just stayed at their property August of 2004. I am a prolific reader and searcher on the internet. So, when I tell you I decided on Tonia & Steve's property, I mean after much due diligence. I will try to tell you in words how their wonderful web page does not do them justice to what awaits you. Of course the page was precise and efficient in description and the photos are accurate to the finest detail. But what you cannot see, is the overwhelming Aloha that is in every touch. They call it a 2 bedroom bungalow, probably because it is smaller than their "Big House". It felt like a 2 bedroom home! Everything you need to cook is in the well designed kitchen, everything you need to shower or bathe, is in a very comfortable bathroom (open the real wood shutters and look at the bamboo trees when you shower). The living room and bedrooms were absolutely adequate and "Homey" for 2 people or 2 couples. Don't try to save money and squeeze 3 couples in here. There is 1 bathroom and we know what it's like in the morning; right? They also have just finished an awesome studio, with high ceilings and lots of wood. That's where I'll be next trip; alone or if I bring someone!
John Watson, Newport Beach California


Part 2 of 2
Everything is brand new! They have built unto their property beautiful accommodations that give you Hawaiian Plantation living, 1 block from the sea! A big beautiful NEW jacuzzi, a big NEW BBQ for those delicious "Maui Ribs", private driveway and access, outside shower and spare toilet if needed. I can go on and on. It was hard to go and do all the things we wanted, because I wanted to stay home and watch Maui TV, and cook, and barbecue. I was living in Maui, not staying. It's so well made, we never heard any sounds beside our own. The Baney's are invisible hosts, unless you want them, and you will! They know Maui and they are people you want to know. Unless you want an ocean view, or room service, this is 5 Star accommodations at 3 Star prices. By the way, don't tell them they should raise their prices, just tell them Mahalo and treat the place with respect and we can all come back again and again. So, if you want to experience what it feels like to "Live" in Maui, call or email Tonia or Steve Baney, and tell them you want to come home for awhile!
p.s. Me and my friend rented 2 cars from Maui Car Rentals (Maui No Ka Oi Cars also) and they picked us up at the airport quick, got our cars quick, they don't care about the miles or gas when you return. They are the way rentals should be. Find them on the internet or email me. Aloha!
Bobby Upson, Newport Beach


The cottage is great and the people are even better. The cottage was well equipped with everything you could want. The courtyard in front is delightfull to sit in during the evenings. Being here is like you are living in Kihei. Air condtioning and ceiling fans made cottage very comfortable even during a summer heat wave. Steve and Tonia are the best hosts you could have. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your cottage and yes we will be back--sooner rather than later.

Dwayne Miner, calgary ab canada

See all
Page Views This month: 11 This year: 1,383 Since listed: 44,895