Very Good

12 reviews

1 / 11 Lots of parking



Pets allowed:
Wi-Fi available:

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 8610348

About the area

Sea Haven is in the north end of Lincoln City in an area known as, "Roads end", it is very close to Safeway and Chinook Winds Casino, both are accessible without going out on the main highway. Abundant parking is available on the property, there's even room for a trailer. Sea Haven and Honalee are your perfect Oregon coast vacation rentals.

Owner profile

John C.

Languages spoken: English



  • Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Parking Included
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Pet Friendly
  • Sea view


  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Video player
  • Washing machine


  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Water sports
  • Horse riding

Reviews (12)

Very Good – based on 12 reviews Very Good
12 reviews

“Great Rental!”

Reviewed 28 Mar 2016

We were a party of 3 families--11 kids and 6 adults. We had a great time in this home! There were 3 bedroom areas that each had 2 sets of bunks--plenty of room for the kids. The 3 other bedroom areas were perfect for the adults. The kids LOVED the play area in the back. It was a quick 10 minute walk to the beach--which we visited at least 2 times a day. The home was large with 2 living areas--nice for the kids to play games downstairs and the adults to visit upstairs. It isn't a fancy house, but was clean and well kept. Perfect for us. If you are looking for a nice rental that is reasonable priced, I would recommend this home!

Owner's reply: Thanks Lorna. To everyone - we get lots of feedback, but few people post reviews. We don't solicit reviews, however we are still in contact with guests after their visit. Many, many people have told us what a special time going to the beach was for them and their families. We are glad to be a small part of it. Thanks again Lorna, John and Linda

“Great with a bunch of kids!”

Reviewed 2 May 2014

This is a family-friendly house, with lots of bedrooms, a large closed-in backyard, a great play structure, a covered patio with tables and chairs, a couple barbecues, and rustic enough to not have to stress about with children. For six households, which included 9 small children (age 5 and under), this worked out well, and was more affordable than fancier, newer places. Living room and dining room area are remodeled and quite comfortable, with a great view of the ocean. The main challenge we faced was the fact that two of the three bathrooms are inside bedrooms, which left the 16 people who weren't in those two bedrooms all using the one central bathroom. There is no bathroom upstairs and no dishes or equipment in downstairs kitchen area, just so you know how to plan. We brought several of our own cooking pans, and were glad we did. The owner was very nice to work with. The house has a few odd beach-house type quirks, but that's part of what gives older beach houses their charm, right? We had a great time and would happily gather all our family here again.

Owner's reply: We appreciate the review, but feel the need to address what may be construed as negative, the home has two master bedrooms with king size beds and in most homes the master bedrooms have master bathrooms as part of the bedroom suite, and so does Sea Haven. The third full bathroom is off the great room, as is the case in most homes. The dishes from downstairs get hauled upstairs by our tenants and we gave up taking them back downstairs a long long time ago.

“Board Retreat Success”

Reviewed 30 Oct 2012

This is the second year we have used this house for our board retreat and we had a GREAT time. The house is flexible enough to lodge everyone, the kitchen well outfitted - it worked GREAT.

Owner's reply: Thanks a lot Jill, see you next year, John and Linda

“family reunion”

Reviewed 11 Aug 2012

We had a great time. The two kitchens came in very handy. Cooked so much food we really needed the extra fridge. Everybody had plenty of space. We liked the bunk beds, dbl on the bottom and single on top. The kids loved the playground. The yard was closed in enough and we had clear view through the windows that we could watch them from inside. The lower level was great, own living qtrs by itself with separate entry. Close enough to beach for short walk but tucked away from all traffic. Beautiful views. Short 5 min drive to anything in town. The owner was super easy to deal with and always responded to emails quickly.

“Family Vacation”

Reviewed 5 Jul 2012

What a great time we had. I noticed this house back in October and asked John and Linda if I could make payments and they agreed. They were so nice and the house was great. We were able to see so much and when we tired we had a wonderful place to put the kids down for their naps. Older kids went upstairs to watch movies or play games and the adults played cards around the huge kitchen table. We had wonderful views of sunsets almost every night and we would walk down to the beach everyday. There was room for everyone and the kids loved playing on the pirate ship, except for naps and eating everyone was always outside doing some activity. I hope in the future that we can do this again and if so the Sea Haven is where we are going. Our friends want to know where we stayed after seeing our pictures and I have gladly gave them the info on how to make a reservation for this wonderful house. Thank you again Linda and John for letting us have a wonderful vacation.

Owner's reply: Wow, what can I say. John

“Great house for large groups”

Reviewed 5 May 2012

This house was great for our large group of women we had. It had plenty of beds so not many people had to share a bed.We liked that it had two kitchens so storing and cooking food was a breeze.If you are looking for a house that is for a large group this is a great house to rent.

Owner's reply: Thanks, we appreciate the kind words

“Home away from home”

Reviewed 27 Apr 2011

This house was amazing. There was so much room, that everyone got to have their own little slice of heaven. It was hard to leave. I cannot wait to go back. Thanks John. Shilo

“Cozy home for large groups”

Reviewed 24 Mar 2011

We found the home to be very cozy and nice for our large group. When our grandchildren first arrived and saw the play structure in the backyard, they got excited and thought that they had their own park to play at. The only drawbacks were that 2 of the 3 bathrooms were off of 2 bedrooms, which made it hard at times for others to use, and all the beds except the 2 king beds are very, very firm. Some of the group had to switch and sleep on the couches because their body ached from the hard beds. Overall, the place had very nice space for a large group.

“Women's Winter Retreat”

Reviewed 1 Mar 2011

We enjoyed the stay so much. Will rent from again in the future! Many thanks for all questions answered and for GREAT communication!!

“Thanksgiving Holiday”

Reviewed 30 Nov 2010

The house we rented was big and spacious. The kitchen was filled with all the pots, pans and service ware needed for preparing our meals. The view was magnificent! We watched the roaring ocean and enjoyed beautiful sunsets. Our children & grandchildren enjoyed having their own space, everyone had a bedroom with great beds! The location was perfect near all the local shops and resturants. The after Thanksgiving shopping was a blast! Staying in this wonder home was a blessing for us all to be together as a family during this holiday season.

Review 1-10 of 12
Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review

Owner Supplied Testimonials

We just spent a wonderful week at Sea Haven. We had a mini family reunion and we very comfortable. Although it is not right on the beach, it is within easy walking distance and still has a spectacular ocean view. The neighborhood is very quiet. It is located centrally to everything. We took several day trips south and north within and hour drive. We will definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Homeowner Response:
Thank you, we are glad you had a great visit. John & Linda

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Linda and John, We had a wonderful! wonderful! time this weekend at your house! It was perfect for us and what a neat layout. We have been doing these yearly trips in some form for the past 20 years with these friends and this is our new favorite place so we hope to be back next year or perhaps during the summer this summer too. It was a beautiful stormy weekend and the windows and view were fantastic. You have a real gem! We had only 17 show up and we cleaned everything spotless...(I think- but of course that is up to you guys!) I included my address again below. Thank you for sharing your home with others....

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Dear John and Linda-we loved the beach house! I told your caretaker we broke a drinking glass but replaced one of the 9 volt batteries in you smoke alarm because it was chirping. I don't know if this evens out or not? We had the most wonderful time, had a couple of different friends out, walked on the beach, explored Tillamook, Lincoln City and the casino. The play structure was a huge hit with the kids, and it felt very safe watching them from inside the house. The bunk beds were also fun for the kids and it was a nice touch to name them. Thanks for allowing us to use your private haven. Patty

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Dear John & Linda, XXXXXXXX housing department had it's annual Work Session Retreat at you beautiful rental property on June 23rd through the 25th. What a beautiful home and location! It fit our group perfectly, we especially enjoyed a lovely sunset on Tuesday night and the easy beach access. Although we were busy generating a lot of work, we were able to take a few breaks in the afternoon and enjoy the sunny weather! So thanks for a beautiful stay and here's to doing business together again. Thanks! Phaedra XXXXXXXX, Housing Services Administrative Assistant XXXXXXXX Corporation

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
I just wanted to thank you for your help with our reunion. We had a great time and the house was perfect for us. The common areas were big enough for all of us to be together and still we all could have private space. The yard was great for the kids. We didn't hear "I'm bored" even once in the whole weekend. I also wanted to ask about the refundable deposit and when I might expect it? Thanks again for all your help. Gail Devenport

We recently stayed at Sea Haven for a school break this past October. We were very happy with the house. It is not fancy really, but when you bring kids anywhere I prefer that. It is about a 10 minute walk to the sand and it is wonderful. You can drive (on the beach!) to tide pools and just enjoy the cold coast. We had about 4 adults and 4 kids and a couple of babies. Plenty of room for everyone. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

-Laura, Orem UT

Hi John,

Thank you very much. We had such a great time at the beach house and the beach was beautiful when we were there. I have attached a few photos showing how much fun my little great-grandkids had on the play structures in the backyard. It was truly a great place for the family to spend a fun week-end helping my daughter celebrate her 50th birthday.

Have a great day!

(3/25/11)This was a great review, but I need to comment about the king beds being firm. We have had a tenant ask what brand and where they could buy the very same bed, so each to his own. BTW many master bedrooms have bathrooms, Sea Haven has two master bedrooms with bathrooms, but three full bathrooms overall.

John - just wanted to report in after a fantastic weekend! The house was great - well set up for such a group and very well located. Chinook Winds Casino even sent a bus for us so we could all go to the buffet on Friday night and not have to drive or move any vehicles. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

I did want to report that we cleaned as instructed - vacuumed and cleaned the kitchen, general clean up of the rooms and bathrooms and took the trash out and secured it.
I believe we DID leave the house cleaner than how we found it! J

We left a few items - but nothing that can't just stay: salt and pepper shaker and a drink glass - but nothing we would ask for back or try to get.

I hope all was well on our departure and the deposit will be refunded as agreed.

Thank you again - we'll keep this in mind for next year!

Executive Director
Oregon Festivals & Events Association

We get many e-mails afterwards, here is one unedited.

Good morning John,

We had a great time at the coast in your wonderful home. Saturday night we had 16 people spend the night. The rest of the nights we were at 8 or less. The cleaning supplies were running very low, but I bought some and we got the house clean. I didn't leave the cleaner there, so some will still need to be supplied for the next folks. I am not sure if you are aware that the upstairs central vac plug in does not work. I am assuming you do know since there was a regular vacuum in the closet, but just to be sure I wanted to tell you. We are hoping you still have the home next year as we have one more daughter that turns 21 and she wants to go to Sea Haven for hers. I'll tell you, we have made some wonderful memories the last 2 years at your home. Thank you for sharing!!

Denette XXXX