Pets allowed:
Wi-Fi available:

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 8613673



  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Fireplace
  • Private garden
  • High Speed Internet
  • Hot tub/Jacuzzi
  • Linen provided
  • Parking Included
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Waterfront
  • Wi-Fi available


  • Clothes dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Washing machine


  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Water sports
  • Horse riding

Reviews (16)

Very Good – based on 16 reviews Very Good
16 reviews

“Brief vacation”

Reviewed 13 Dec 2016

Expectations were exceeded. Nice house that seems larger than pictures show. Plenty of windows for ocean viewing. Comfortable place. We will be back!

Owner's reply: Happy these guests were able to join us at Stairs to the Sea.

“Stairs to the sea”

Reviewed 7 Sep 2016

We had a wonderful family vacation over Laborday weekend! First time staying here and was very pleasantly pleased with the house. Very clean compared to other places we have stayed. Kitchen is on the small side, with small dishwasher and fridge. No ice maker or trays to make ice so that is why the 4 star and not five star was given. Have son in law that is over 6'6" so some of the beams and stairway he was having to duck. Pictures do make everything look bigger than actually are. Great place would stay again!!! Thanks for the memories that last a life time!

Owner's reply: I'm glad our guest had a great time. Yes the owner of the house is 6'6" and has to duck in a number of the old houses. Ice makers do not make it in rentals, however there should have been Ice trays so I will look into that as soon as possible. Happy to have great folks like you stay again.

“Our stay at the Stairs to the Sea”

Reviewed 13 Apr 2016

We were 8 ladies that spent 5 nights at the Stairs and loved the house and the location to the beach. We would classify the best we have rented and we rent 2 times a year. We will be back in 2017. Loved our time there A Christie

Owner's reply: We look forward to this group of gals every year. They are kind and respectful to the house. Enjoyable to talk to. Happy to see them again in 2017!!

“Loved our stay even with the issues we had”

Reviewed 22 Dec 2015

The property has the most amazing views from both the dining room and living room. The place was clean and ready with everything once could imagine. We did run into a few issues however. There was a storm the week before we arrived and it knocked out the internet. While I was ok with being totally out of touch, the rest of my family was stir crazy the first 2 days we were there. Phone service is almost zero for both AT&T and Sprint and without the internet, we were basically out of touch with the world unless we stood out side to make calls or text. Also, there was an issue with the electrical outlets in most of the kitchen and we had to move the microwave back and forth to the kitchen table to access an outlet that worked every time we wanted to microwave anything or use the toaster. This was an inconvenience as well since we were warming up stuff throughout our stay. Again, the owner tried her best to help us resolve the electrical issues by phone but was not able to so that lasted the entire stay. The last thing was that the roof was leaking in the master bedroom pretty bad and a little in the second bedroom on the top floor. I literally had to move to the other side of the bed to avoid drops of water hitting my head some of the night and had to keep a towel on the floor at the foot of the bed to catch the drops. With those issues I felt there should have been some type of credit or at least a discount for a future stay. That being said, the owner, Karen, was very nice and did get the internet working on the 2nd day for us. The place is truly a gem and literally right on the beach. Without the issues (most were caused by the storm and was not the owners fault) it would have been the perfect vacation. Even with everything that happened I would stay again. I loved the location and the ocean view. Oh and the hot tub literally overlooks the ocean which was another added plus. All in all I would recommend the property and as I said, I just wish there had been some type of adjustment or future credit for the inconveniences we had to deal with.

Owner's reply: Storms do play havoc on the houses. Houses don't have leaks until there is a storm, rain will get under the shingle from blowing wind. Not much owners can do about the leaks, they are normally untraceable next storm there maybe no leak at all or there may be a leak someplace else. We try really hard to make sure our guests are comfortable. Unfortunately there is nothing we can do about cell service in Lincoln City, they need to put in a cell tower. There is a phone at the house for emergency's

“Perfect for a family”

Reviewed 20 May 2015

The back yard was great for our 2 toddlers. We did not worry about them falling over the edge. Having the sand right off the steps was a plus because a member of our family is not able to go up a wide step. The sleeping arrangements were the best for our family. Beds were very comfy. Loved the large picture windows. We appreciated there being a high chair already there. We will be booking this house for our newly started annual family reunion. We go down to this house with our friends every year for Super Bowl and this makes it twice a year we will be at "Stairs to the Sea"

Owner's reply: Great to hear that you and your family had a great time Patsie and that Stairs to the Sea is a great fit and you found it comfy. I have to tell you it is one of my favorites as well, been there many times and just love it!! Love having you and your family. Remember to book this house in advance already booking 2016 You know how popular this house is. Thank you!

“Loved it!!”

Reviewed 13 Apr 2015

My family of 5 loved this house. It had everything we needed. We enjoyed being right on the ocean. We loved the hot tub! We will return.

Owner's reply: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come again!

“Stairs to the Sea”

Reviewed 5 Mar 2015

I go to the Oregon coast every year and have stayed in a lot of different houses. But I have stayed in Stairs to the Sea for the last 3 years because we love it! The living area and kitchen are beautiful inside with a wonderful view from where ever you are. The bedrooms are comfortable and fun. And the hot tub is set back enough to be private but with a great view of the ocean. I would recommend this house to anybody and it would be great for family get togethers!

Owner's reply: Stairs to the Sea is a great house right on the beach. I'm so happy you were able to enjoy it. Happy to have you back again!!

“Beautiful home with fantastic beach view”

Reviewed 21 Aug 2013

The home was beautiful and very well laid out. We could cook in the kitchen while watching the kids in the living room. The view was great - we enjoyed watching from inside as well as from the nicely kept yard. We chose this house since it was only a few steps to the sand. This worked out so well for the kids and adults. The hot tub was also enjoyed by all. The house was very nicely decorated as well so everyone enjoyed the time inside and outside. We will definitely rent this house again!!!

Owner's reply: Thank you Sandra for writing such a nice review. This house is special to me as well. When to owner first got it we took our kids there and had a blast! Will always have great memories there, my kids are now 30 and 26. Time fly's by so fast. Please do come again and make more memories with your kids and then in a blink bring the Grand kids.

“Georgous view!”

Reviewed 8 Jun 2013

We (our family/extended family - 10 of us) just returned home from staying 4 nights at this great home on the beach. We loved how it was right on the beach...just 8-10 stairs down from the fenced in yard (which was a great safety feature for the 2 toddlers). The view is breathtaking....huge beaches and beautiful wave and whale watching place. We saw 3 whales and tons of waves. The beds we all used were not hard. We didn't use one of the upstairs rooms that had a full size bed and two twins, so maybe those were the hard ones that some other reviews talked about. Beautiful sunsets, sunshiney days...and lots and lots of wind. But we found some places that were protected nearby the house and could still see the great views from. Used the hot tub daily. The outdoor thermometer always said 50...and we know it was warmer than it could probably stand to be replaced. Microwave was slow in heating, but no biggie. Loved the tons of towels available..most places are limited on those. Cutest little dishwasher I've ever seen! a lighter for the charcoal BBQr would've been nice. washer/dryer worked great! and having the 1 babygate saved us all. oh, and the highchair came in very handy too. Such a cool historic-type place to stay. Loved all the wood walls/ceilings, etc. It wasn't spotlessly clean on the floors downstairs...but good enough (and i'm quite picky about that). Toilets, sinks were very clean, and so were the counters. tv worked great as well as the dvd player. we brought our own games, but wouldn't have had to because there were a ton of them in the hall closet to chose from. Great beach to go for long walks on. With so many bedrooms/beds, it accommodates us all with room to i'm hoping we'll return again next year. Thank you for making this place available.

Owner's reply: Hi Darlene & David, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Stairs to the Sea. We are thrilled that you had a great time with your family and that we could help at making that happen. Great suggestion on the lighter. We look forward to seeing you again!


Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had an amazing time at Stairs to the Sea. There was so much space for the kids to play. The yard is much bigger than it appears in the photos and it's gated so it was perfect for the kids. There are lots of spices in the kitchen (which we appreciated while cooking) and thoughtful touches around the house to make it a special place for all of us. I had read in other reviews that the beds were hard and uncomfortable but I slept beautifully and found the beds very comfortable! There is something magical about Lincoln City. You will not regret your stay at this place!

Owner's reply: I'm happy the guests brought kids to Stairs to the Sea. The house is super close to the beach for hunting the tide pools, flying kites and night campfires on the beach. I like the firm beds but there is a brand new king that has a softer mattress. Hope they come and stay again. karen

Review 1-10 of 16
Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review

Owner Supplied Testimonials

We always enjoy this house right on the beach. This is our third or fourth year. Thank You and we will see you next year. From Carol

Family time again. We have been coming here for at least the last 10 years and love it. From Timothy

Kitchen well stocked, wonderful sunsets, good beds, pleanty of towels, games, chairs and whatever we needed. This house feels like home and we will come back next year and the year after that. It is a happy place to be. Phyllis

My friends and I have used A1 for the last three years. The properties are always clean and as described. Their people are always helpful and do their best to make your stay a good one. Stairs to the Sea and Sea Star North are beautiful and comfortable homes! Melissa