Very Good

11 reviews

1 / 38 Master bedroom. You can see the bridge's twinkling lights from the bed at night.

Map
Map

Overview

Bedrooms:
4
Bathrooms:
2
Sleeps:
8
Type:
House
Pets allowed:
Yes
Wi-Fi available:
Yes

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 4816028

About the area

Experienced property manager, lives in the neighborhood, 2 minutes away. Newport's Guilded Age Mansions such as The Breakers, summer home of the Vanderbilts, The Elms, Doris Dukes summer home "Rough Point" and Rosecliff where they filmed "The Great Gatsby" Don't leave RI without seeing these! Golf at Montaup Country Club, almost within walking distance. Non member green fees are $40. and the cart is $36. They have a web page but this system doesn't allow it to be posted. Island Sports for tours and kayak rentals Nearby wineries have free jazz concerts U pick berry farms, fun with the children Formal children's park at the end of the street Hose on the side of the house for rinsing off the sand at the end of swimming or shelling. You will enjoy sleeping with the sound of the sea and the birds The rates quoted include a 3.5% discount for cash or checks. One dog OK, no cats or smokers. The original Flo's Clam shack on Island Park ( noted as 'Best of RI' in Rhode Island monthly) is less than one mile Newport's Guilded Age Mansions such as The Breakers, summer home of the Vanderbilts, Rosecliff where they filmed the original "The Great Gatsby." Speilberg's "Amistaad" was filmed at Marble House. Don't leave RI without seeing these! The best clam shak since 1938, Flo's on Island Park Ave. The seagulls are quite bold about getting your crumbs! Less than a mile Blithewold Mansion and Arboretum-- 10 minutes away (4 miles) Boat tours, and fishing charters. Fenway Park and the Red Sox are 60 miles away for baseball lovers! Museum of Yachting Doris Duke's Summer Mansion in Newport called " Rough Point." She used to keep a camel here that was a gift to her! The veb site is newportrestoration."organization"( if you know what I mean)/visit/rough_point/ They have exhibitions of some of her belongings such as dresses periodically. You can kayak off our back yard beach. Newport Great Chowder Cook Off June 18, 2017 Newport Jazz Festival : August 4,5,6, 2017 Newport Folk Festival: July 28-30, 2017 Newport Wine and Food Festival September 22-25, 2016 Golf at Montaup Country Club, almost within walking distance. Non member green fees are $47., military $37, and the cart is $40. They have a veb page but this system doesn't allow it to be posted. Newport Flower Festival is June 23-25, 2017 at Rosecliff Mansion. The original Great Gatsby with Robert Redford was filmed here as was "27 Dresses" with Kathryn Heigel. Ladies love this event, I do!! Audrain Automobile Museum, 222 Bellevue Ave. Deep sea fishing charters and boat tours St. Mary's Church in Newport where Jaqueline and Jack Kennedy were married Jane Picken's Theater Island Sports for tours and kayak rentals Nearby wineries, Greenvale Vineyards-- usually free jazz concerts every Saturday afternoon, and Newport Vineyards who have various activites in the summer. What to do in Newport on a rainy day? Take a drive by SUNNY VON BULOW'S former mansion, Clarendon Court at 626 Bellevue Ave. It is privately owned by a recent buyer, but you can walk or drive by it. Another drive by is Beachwood Mansion, recently purchased by LARRY ELLSION of Oracle at 580 Bellevue Ave. It is his private home, but you can walk by or drive by. Another drive by is Belcourt Castle at 657 Bellevue Ave, which was a museum until about 3 years ago. It is the private home now of the lady who owns "Alex and Annie" jewelry. Or drive by JAQUELINE BOUVIER KENNEDY'S childhood home, called Hammersmith Farm, at 225 Harrison Ave. Also go to Westerly and see if TAYLOR SWIFT or CONAN O'BRIAN are in! U pick berry farms, fun with the children, especially blueberries! Cliff Walk in Newport, a breathtaking 3 hour walk between the amazing mansions and the sea. If you go to the veb site: cliffwalk."kom", it also shows shorter versions and parking. Formal children's park at the end of the street with swings, jungle gyms and a lovely view of the ocean. International Tennis Hall of Fame at 194 Bellevue Ave, dates back to 1880, with a brand new museum. Tennis is still played here. Providence Waterfire on certain Saturday nights You will enjoy sleeping with the sound of the sea and the birds The rates quoted include a 3.5% discount for cash or checks

Getting here

Less than 30 minutes from PVD, less than 1 hour from BOS

Interaction with guest

I have a full time property manager who is available to help if needed. I have made excellent arrangments with the keys and your late arrival is no problem!

Owner profile

Helen S.
Years listed:
3

Languages spoken: English

About the owner

This was a once in a life time opportunity to own a house on the water. We love swimming and playing in the water! I have been renting this house for 15 years on this site.

View owner's full profile

Amenities

Bedrooms

  • Bedroom 1: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3: Full bed
    Bedroom 4: Full bed

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Grill
  • Heating
  • Fireplace
  • High Speed Internet
  • Linen provided
  • Parking Included
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Pet Friendly
  • Sea view
  • Waterfront
  • Wi-Fi available

Appliances

  • Clothes dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Video player
  • Washing machine

Activities

  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Water sports
  • Horse riding

Reviews (11)

Very Good – based on 11 reviews Very Good
11 reviews

“Accommodation okay, beach smelly and disgusting and smelly trash left in receptacle. Owner refused to return deposit.”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2017

The house was very nice and accommodating. We had one major criteria for the rental, the backyard beach. The beach was full of seaweed, dead fish and shellfish and trash. Unfortunately not conducive for a family beach outing. There was trash left in the trash barrel in her garage and when I opened it up flies and everything came out and there was a disgusting smell which made me want to retch. We were very respectful of the property and kept the house clean. However, we are having issues getting our deposit back now that we are home. The owner is making up reasons to keep it. Based on this I would stay away. Making up things to keep the deposit and a very restrictive contract make this a difficult house to rent. I have never had this bad of an experience renting, I would be very cautious.

Owner's reply: The urine soaked queen size mattress after he departed that had to be immediately replaced is the reason he was not entitled to a refund. This is a first. We would not rent to this person again.

“Great experience”

Reviewed 17 Jul 2016

We had a great time at the beach house! Went bicycling, toured great little towns, went to Newport House and area are lovely.

“Very nice place”

Reviewed 4 Jul 2016

Nice house where water can be seen from every window. Beach is very quiet. Lots of room for a family. Comes with various spices, coffee, filters, as a matter of fact kitchen is full equipped. We really enjoyed having a drink or playing cards on the terrace and the big hammock was busy a lot. Lots of trees and grass to rest after swimming.

Owner's reply: I am happy that my efforts to make it nice have been noticed!

“Wonderful family vacation”

Reviewed 4 Aug 2015

We had a fantastic family vacation. The weather was wonderful, everyday we lounged on the private beach. The house was plenty big enough so we were not in each other's way. It was very comfortable and homey. We so end a couple days in Newport which was about 15 minutes away from the house. We really enjoyed our long over due family vacation. I Would highly recommend!

Owner's reply: We try hard to make it a lovely experience. I am glad you enjoyed yourself!

“Great Vacation Home in Portsmouth Rhode Island”

Reviewed 28 Sep 2014

I rented this property in Portsmouth RI in September 2014. I was there with 4 other friends and we attended the Newport Mansion Food & Wine Festival. Its a great waterfront home with views from every room. Plenty of space for 5 adults to spread out. Only about 20 minutes ride from Newport we visited there everyday. The owner was very accommodating and the property was exactly as advertised. Would definitely rent this property again and recommend it to others.

“Lovely vacation home.”

Reviewed 24 Aug 2014

Having 3 living areas provided space for anyone who wanted to be away from the noise ( from a total of 8 women). The side yard with the huge tree and table were appreciated...the weather was perfect so we enjoyed the shade while having a "beverage". The house is spotlessly clean. With central air conditioning, everyone was comfortable during the hot days. The caretaker was so helpful, and came right over when we needed a couple of light bulbs! One suggestion would be that a couple of the beds were a bit uncomfortable for 2 people, but there are couches in the living areas that can be used. We took care to cover the white couch...didn't want to drop food on that! The owner was delightful to deal with, and I appreciated her keeping me informed. I would highly recommend this home...just fun for vacation. To have 8 women who each manage their own home to be completly satisfied with this home...says a lot. Be sure to go to 2nd Beach...beautiful.

“November 2013”

Reviewed 14 Nov 2013

My husband and myself and our 2 dogs recently spent a long weekend at the house. It was beautiful there and the views from every room are stunning. The house was everything we expected and more - roomy, comfortable with all the conveniences. We would love to stay again.

“Newport, Rhode Island”

Reviewed 23 Aug 2011

We were so happy with our choice !!! The neighborhood was fantastic, we had a little one with us and we were always going on walks. The neighbors were friendly. The location was close to Providence (our son lives there) and Newport beaches. Although we had a beach in our back yard , it was unpleasant because the mosquitos were biting. The house was PERFECT !! Pleantly of room, we ate in every night. Dining room dinner time was our favorite. It says 4 bedrooms,but we travel with an air mattress, and next to one bedroom is another empty room, we chose to use our air mattress there so our boys did not have to both sleep in the same room. It worked out perfect. Highly reccomend !!!!

“Comfortable & Quiet”

Reviewed 10 Aug 2010

With three separate living/sitting areas, a large dining room, kitchen & bath on the first floor and 4 bedrooms and bath upstairs, this spacious home would be ideal for a family reunion or large family gathering. Lots of outdoor space for games (volleyball, etc.) and the private beach 200 feet away. Close enough to the "tourist" places but secluded on it's peninsula surrounded by the bay on one side and Sakonnet River on the other. The central air was a welcoming addition on a particularly humid day.

“Great Place to Stay”

Reviewed 7 Jul 2009

this was a beautiful home. I am going to rent this home every chance we get. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Review 1-10 of 11
Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review