from $515 / night help Price for guests, Nights approx:
- Pets allowed:
- Wi-Fi available:
- Per night:
- $515 - $515
- Per week:
- $3600 - $3600
Description from owner
Spectacular Oceanside location. Breathtaking views of ocean, light houses, nearby islands, ships and open ocean. This beautiful three level, 3 bed room, 2.5 bath Victorian Shingled Style home has all you'll l need for a wonderful and memorable vacation.
1st level has 2 guest/family bedrooms, bath, laundry, family room,w a daybed & covered porch.
2nd level has open living, dining & a well appointed kitchen and a deck with all the ocean views you can imagine. The back has a covered porch for grilling.
3rd level is the master suite. Custom bathroom w/ double sinks, soaking tub, shower & laundry. There's™s a turret sitting room with views in every direction! King size luxury awaits in the master. You can lay and watch the moon glisten on the ocean and listen to the sound of surf as you fall asleep.
The setting is equally as spectacular as the house. Incredible ocean views all in front & in back, it looks out over a freshwater pond, nature trails & natural seaside vegetation. The spacious yard is great for playing and gathering and the property is but a 15 min walk to the ferry & village or 5 min. bike ride. Surely one of the finest properties on the Island.
At $3,600.00 per week, you won't be disappointed.
Beds: 1 King Bed, 1 Queen Bed, 4 Twin Beds, 1 Sofa Bed, 1 Crib
About the area
Ralph And Jeannie A.
- Years listed:
Languages spoken: English
- High Speed Internet
- Linen provided
- Parking Included
- Pet Friendly
- Sea view
- Ceiling Fans
- Clothes dryer
- DVD player
- Hair dryer
- CD player
- Satellite TV
- Washing machine
- Cycling Trips
- Water sports
- Horse riding
Reviews for this vacation home rental in Peaks Island, United States Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review Reviews (7)
– based on 7 reviews
This was our second time staying at Oceanside Retreat, and we felt that we were returning to see an old friend. The photos and descriptions cannot possibly do justice to the spectacular setting and overall feel of the house. Although the house is not directly on the road next to the water (but protected by plantings and set back a ways) one gets the feeling that one is floating over the water, especially up in the dreamy master bedroom suite. You will see the beams of the lighthouses at night guiding boats into Portland harbor, and will likely hear the atmospheric foghorns too, at some point in your stay. There are 3 ideally located decks to enjoy - one off the main floor for dining and relaxing over the surf, one off the kitchen for having cocktails with your grill and lobster pot team while enjoying a view of the pond and its accompanying wildlife, and another off the ground floor that leads directly onto the lawn for outside games and maybe stargazing. Inside, the house has everything you could want for a Maine island vacation - fully equipped kitchen on the main floor with charming stoneware, comfy living room with large screen TV, and a second surprise kitchen for the bedrooms on the ground floor, perfect for early morning (or late night) snacking. All bedrooms have gorgeous ocean views and it is possible to sleep 2 more comfortably on the day bed and trundle in the small living room on the ground floor. All the activities on the island are within easy access from the house, and it is an easy stroll from the ferry. Lastly, a nature preserve with lovely trails fills the center of the island, and your access point to the paths is alongside the pond adjoining the house. Enjoy!!
“Perfect Family Vacation Spot”
We have been renting Ralph & Jeannie's house for the past 4 summers for a week each summer. We have a son and 2 nephews and their families in Portland. They make day trips over while we are there. It's a great place for everyone to gather. Our other son and his wife and our three granddaughters come and stay for the week. It's a perfect place for us. They sleep downstairs and we have the privacy (and the quiet!), of that beautiful 3rd floor retreat. Six-year-old Adele was so excited the year she was able to ride her bike all the way around the island. Last year, her 4-year-old sister, Mabel, followed suit. We're looking forward to the year their little sister, age 1, makes it around the island. We rent a golf cart while we are there and don't need a car. Jeannie and Ralph are great hosts. Last summer we were having troubles with the TV remote control and Jeannie came right over and she couldn't figure it out and then Ralph came to the rescue! I'm holding back a bit on my praise because I selfishly want to assure that this dream vacation place is always available for us.
Owner's reply: We need guests like the Rothchild family!!! Very respectful of our property and it's such a joy to have families enjoying our home as we do as well as enjoying our island!! Mabel and Adele couldn't be any cuter!!! We even try to keep their beach collectionsfrom year to year!! Jeannie and Ralph Someone else said "that we were wierd".. I disagree. We just want folks to appreciate the house and the island!!
What a terrific week. Besides being blessed with great weather the house exceeded our expectations with the pond view from one side and outstanding ocean views from the front. The house offered us all the amenities one could want - great kitchen and bath, views, deck and a lovely yard. We stayed with our two teenage children whom enjoyed exploring the island on their own, it is very safe and offers a lot with the beaches, Battery Steel and quaint downtown. The owners were friendly, and very accomodating and offered many suggestions of what to do on and off the island. We hope to have the chance to stay again at this property.
The home and views are incredible. However, the owners shouldn't be renting their property. They are very strict , we arrived during "Irene". The property owner was complaining how the previous occupants were slobs. He spent the beginning of our stay mowing the lawn and running around the property during the storm. We left the home cleaner than we arrived except for 2 red wine spots on the white slip covers on the sofa's and were subject to a replacement fee. When they said we could dispute this and we did, they never responded back and kept $30.00 from a $1500 security deposit. "All in all" we had a wonderful vacation despite the property owners and their frugal hospitality.
Owner's reply: We had no control over "Irene" and as for your running around the property, that's your issue!! We have a lawn service, not sure why you mowed??? WoW $30 for a permanent stain? Break the bank!! It's a waterfront home! We are protective of it. Wouldn't you be? Sounds as if you had a great vacation and enjoyed the incredible home and views. Could it be that bad? Guess you were safe during "Irene" but did you forget that? Thanks so much for staying with us...
we reserved this house for a family trip. It was advertised as the finest house on Peaks Island, yet it was a duplex with tenants living below our house. In the rear of the unit was a "yurt" that the owner also either rented out or used for his own purposes. It was like staying in a compound. The owner is very strange and demanded access to our unit on more than one occasion.
Owner's reply: We've ironed out many issues since we started renting. The yurt is now a 4th and very private bedroom for one. It has a pond view too and is very cozy and adventurous!!! We only rent the house to one family at a time. Come on... No we don't need nor do we "demand access" to the house. We are good people and as homeowners we want our guests to enjoy and treat our home with the same respect that we would treat yours. Jean and Ralph Ashmore 2013 owners..
Owner Supplied Testimonials
The house is a 3 level building, built in a wonderful private location. It has lawn in the front and back for the family to enjoy running around with the dog and kids. Coffee on the back porch is a treat in the AM. I highly recommend it. A little sun on the open deck is also great place to watch the waves, boats, people or just read in peace and quiet. It's a comfortable house, not ostentacious and has what you'll need. If not we'll get it for you. We want your stay to say, "we'll be back!"