Very Good

15 reviews

1 / 15 Front View



Pets allowed:
Wi-Fi available:

2 Full baths

Description from owner

   Read more    Read less

TripAdvisor Property ID: 4826447

About the area

Upper Scott Lake is a sparsely populated, quiet inland lake in the country, but it is close to many unique places and activities. Visit the award winning Fenn Valley Winery and the famous Crane's Orchards and Pie Pantry, both 6 miles away in Fennville. Or shop and dine in the quaint tourist towns of Saugatuck and South Haven, only 15 minutes away. Enjoy the annual Tulip Festival and Farmers Markets in Holland, only 25 minutes away. Play a few rounds at the many golf courses nearby, or enjoy downhill and cross country skiing in the winter.

Owner profile

Jill O.
Years listed:

Languages spoken: English


Check in time:15:00, Check out time:11:00
If you have any questions about check-in or check-out times, please contact the owner/manager.
This owner does not use online booking. Please contact them and they will be able to offer you a secure way to pay for your stay. Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer (such as Western Union or Moneygram) as this type of payment is untraceable.

Damage deposit: $500.00
No smoking at this property
Cancellation policy
View Policy



  • Bedroom 1: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 2: Queen Bed
    Bedroom 3: 2 Twin beds


  • Air conditioning
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Grill
  • Heating
  • Balcony/Terrace
  • Fireplace
  • Private garden
  • High Speed Internet
  • Linen provided
  • Parking Included
  • Pet Friendly
  • Waterfront
  • Wi-Fi available


  • Clothes dryer
  • Dishwasher
  • DVD player
  • Hair dryer
  • Iron
  • CD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Washing machine


  • Cycling Trips
  • Fishing
  • Games room
  • Golf
  • Water sports


  • 2 Full baths

Reviews (15)

Very Good – based on 15 reviews Very Good
15 reviews

“Girls weekend”

Reviewed 18 Oct 2016

Beautiful home and setting! We had a wonderful time, group of six with plenty of room. Definitely would stay here again.

Owner's reply: Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our home.

“Tranquility at the French Rioster”

Reviewed 28 Jul 2016

The week we stayed at the French Rooster was an absolute serene experience. Early morning fishing on the lake, going for a 2.7 mile run around the lake with my wife and step daughter would set the tone for the day. Oval Beach in Saugatauk was our favorite destination during the day for sun and fun at the beach. Evenings by the camp fire or sitting on the on the deck capped off a wonderful day and week...

Owner's reply: Thank you! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay as much as we do.

“I'd visit again”

Reviewed 3 Feb 2016

Very impressed. Beautiful property. Beautiful home. Clean, quiet, and inviting. A hop, skip, and a jump from the lake the property sits on, and far enough back from the main road for serenity. Beds are comfy, rooms are spacious. The only negative, is the well water. Overall, I was pleased with my stay at the French Rooster.

“Great little house”

Reviewed 3 Aug 2015

Lovely little house in a serene little lake. Nice wooded area. Houses are nearby, but it still felt secluded. Pros: Lots of room for 6 people. Nice new kitchen. The house seemed clean. Nice little lake with a row boat. 4 lifejackets were there too. We enjoyed boating and fishing. Lots of bluegill for the kids to catch. Caught a few bass too. The decorating was very nice. The beds were very firm and comfortable for us. The drive to Chicago wasn't bad, and was a nice day trip. A nice winery was nearby and we were only about 15 minutes from Lake Michigan. Cons: I was surprised the owner didn't send any kind of a contract or agreement prior to arrival. That was a red flag for me, but it all worked out. The internet was sporadic at first, until my son decided that the router was overheating from laying flat on the counter. Once we stood it on its end, we had no further problems. The only tv is in the basement level. Normally fine, but there was a strong mildew smell in that room. I'm guessing from all the recent rain, but there should have been a dehumidifier running. Also, the water had a strong smell of sulfur. Again, maybe due to all of the rain, maybe it's common in that area, or maybe they needed to change some filters, but for the price we paid, it should have been fixed. The linens were fine, except the towels in one bathroom were frayed, and the bath mat was threadbare. All of these issues were minor for us. Overall we had a very nice time. If we are ever in that area again, we would go back.

“Relaxing Getaway”

Reviewed 26 Jun 2015

The French Rooster is a gorgeous remodel on Scott Lake. The layout of the home is absolutely stunning and so much love went into the design and decor of this vacation home rental. We always look for a nice place to get away from Las Vegas and reunite our family in the Midwest each year. This year we chose the French Rooster and were very pleased with our stay. The home is well stocked with cooking supplies, plenty of seating and several areas of the home to escape to read a book or just relax. The wrap around porch and screened in area allows for a place to just sit and enjoy a glass of wine, listening to the sounds of the woods. The lake area is nice, but you cannot see it much from the house. There is a nice fire pit and a big pier for fishing along with a small row boat. We didn't feel the lake was very inviting for swimming but it's beautiful for viewing and fishing. We had a great time with our family here. The only reason we are giving it four stars is because of a few of the amenities. We always make sure that there is wifi before we choose a location as my husband is self-employed and needs to do work, even on vacation. The wifi was not working when we arrived and neither was the washing machine. It took four days to get the wifi fixed and with limited cell service we did miss a few important calls/ emails. We just felt that for the amount of money the home is for the week, these types of issues should be cleared up before the home is rented. Wifi could have easily been checked out by the property manager after their recent storms, as it wasn't connected to a surge protector. We were notified about the washing machine beforehand but we were not going to change our plans for the small inconvenience--it was fixed by Wednesday. Just small issues but felt we should be honest as it's a very expensive, but delightful vacation spot! Pullman is a very small town. You have to drive about fifteen miles to the local amenities. But the French Rooster is a lovely spot for family time that is very close to some wonderful tourist destinations like South Haven, Holland, Grand Haven, Saugatuck and of course the Lake region! We highly recommend this beautiful property! You won't be disappointed! A lot of love went into the makeover of this property.

“Lovely holiday”

Reviewed 2 Dec 2014

Our family spent a few days at Thanksgiving together at the French Rooster. It was a beautiful setting, and we had plenty of room to spread out and relax. It is a comfortable home, and one we would definitely stay at again.

Owner's reply: Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed it!

“Relaxing Michigan Vacation”

Reviewed 1 Sep 2014

We had a wonderful week staying here. The house is very cute and has everything you need. The kids loved fishing and swimming in the lake and loved playing cards at the card table. Highly recommend Salt of the Earth

“White Christmas”

Reviewed 4 Jan 2014

Beautiful home with all the amenities. There was plenty of room, with lots of privacy. We could have easily brought more people. We had a wonderful White Christmas, and went dog sledding and cross country skiing on nearby trails.

“Fantastic Lake home, close to towns!”

Reviewed 19 Aug 2013

My family of five (2 adults, three girls 4-10, and one dog) had a wonderful stay at the French Rooster. The house is beautifully decorated and perfectly maintained (and super comfortable couches!). The little lake is so peaceful and full of fish off the dock for the kids to catch.They loved swimming in it too, despite the lilly pads. The row boat was a nice surprise. With only a 15-20 minute drive ito Saugatuck or South Haven we enjoyed both towns and their beaches, ice cream parlors, boating and shopping. We highly recommend the Saugatuck Dunes ride. So much fun and gorgeous scenery. We were also able to rent a jet ski in South Haven which was brought over to South Beach so we could trade on and off with other riders in our group. We always enjoyed coming back to the French Rooster at the end of our day to relax, eat dinner, and build a fire down by the lake for s'mores. Such a great family vacation. We are hooked on Western Michigan and would definitely stay at the French Rooster again. Thank you for sharing it with us.

“Very Peaceful Retrear”

Reviewed 29 Jul 2013

This is a very peaceful home on a quite lake and was a great get-a-way for our family. The house is clean and comfortable with a very nice kitchen and open concept living space. The bedrooms and baths are okay, but nothing special. The house is on a quite drive with a couple other homes, but we always felt alone. There is a very pretty yard and group of trees between the house and the lake. The firepit is a great place for a fire. The dock and row boat ae nice for fishing. The lake is small and shallow so the fish are not large, but between the family we caught bluegill, bass, perch, and crappie. This is a great place to introduce kids to fishing. This would be a five star review if there was a hot tub and better entertainment setup. The TV is old and inconvenient. The wi-fi works great in the kitchen and family area, not so well in other house locations. Very nice decks,screened porches and other outside spaces. Some outdoor furniture is damaged and needs to be repaired. Very close to South Haven and Saugatuck. We highly recommend Salt of the Earth in Fennville for a great dinner.

Review 1-10 of 15
Have you been a guest of this property?