Historic Canal era Guest House in Cenral Pa

“ Very Good ”
5 Reviews
Aqueduct Rd, Raystown Lake, PA 17066



Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps 8
Per night $65 - $100
Per week $600
Type: Guesthouse
Description of the Raystown Lake vacation guesthouse rental
The Lock House guest house is located in central Pa on the Juniata river.
The house is 20 min from Lake Raystownd Resort and situated in prime fishing and hunting areas.
The house starts at $65 per day and is availibe for a day, weekend or Week.
Open May thru Septemberr.
The house was built in 1840 and was and original lockkeepers inn on the Pennsylvania canal.
The house is a 40 min drive from Penn State University.
Many historic sites are located nearby.

patrick briggs

Area Information
The surrounding area consists of the rural Juniata river valley. There are several fish access within 5 min of the house and several thousand acers of state forest to hunt, hike or canoe.

Ask about renting a canoe or float tubes when you call.


Property Rates

Begins Ends Week
Weekly Monthly Min
Jan 01 2016 Oct 31 2016 $65 $100 $600 $2,000 -
Check In: 2 p.m. Check Out: 12 p.m.
Lodging tax: 3
Deposits: $75 refundable
Payment Options: American Express, Cashier's Check, Discover, Mastercard, Money Order, Personal Check, Visa
Other Fees: 6% pa sales tax


Reviews for this vacation guesthouse rental in Raystown Lake, Pennsylvania



Hanover, PA

Horrid Stench, unihabitable, kept deposit

June 24, 2012

We arrived in 96 degree weather to a tightly sealed house and were greated with a blast of a musty, sickening oder which immidiately trigged an asthma attack. We arrived, so obviously we intended to stay, but even after an explanation to the owner that this house was currently uninhabitable due to the smell and lack of ventilation (I am an RN, and discussed the health issue) the owener, who let me know she was an LPN, insisted on keeping the $75 deposit, despite it being a health hazzard for me to stay there. Pehaps at another time of the year the odor is less extreme but the lack of ventilation in this house made it impossible to inhabit in hot humid weather.

Boxcar Social

Boxcar Social

Gettysburg, PA


August 17, 2010

This was exactly what we needed. We took our band to the house for 3 days of practice. The house is large and full of history. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The house is rustic, do not expect luxury. Everything worked as it should have and everything we needed was present. The locals were extremely friendly and even invited us to a bonfire on Saturday, which we attended and had a blast. We will make this home a twice yearly occasion from now on. Our only complaint is that it was a little close to other homes and the road, which we did not expect or see in the pictures. This was not an issue though because everyone was so nice and neighborly, just as the country should be.

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the great reviews and the repeat business. You guys are great.



honey brook pa

think twice

September 24, 2009

be ready for anything is right! you should be ready to clean because the dust and dirt is as old as the house I had to dust everything including the cobwebs. the frige was horrible the racks are all rusty and the tiny freezer would not keep food frozen. we weren,t expecting luxury but would have appreciated it to be clean. don,t look for much entertainment from the tv it has less than basic cable. there is no king bed more like 3 dbl & 2 single. We left a day early from our vacation because we were so unhappy we were told we would get a refund for the extra night but we have yet to see it. If you are looking for a cheap place for a night or two it,s ok but this is not the ideal vacation spot. The only thing I found nice about it were the neighbors.



Columbia, MD

Everything but ghosts.

August 12, 2009

You have to be very flexible and ready for anything to stay at the Lock House. It is quiet and mosquito free due to spraying for the nearby campgrounds. This is one step up from camping with no AC and no shower, but if you don't mind living in the 18th century you can have a lot of fun. We had great times around the fire ring in the back yard and sitting on the dusty old porch watching the chickens peck on the yard across the street. This is a unique experience, like camping in a museum, that isn't for the luxury minded. It isn't exactly conveniently located, but it's not bad for the low cost. Plan ahead, be ready for anything, and you can have a great vacation at the Lock House.

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the positive review. We have added a shower and are looking into AC for at least the bedrooms.
If you are interested in staying again ask about a discount for repeat customers
thanks again
Pat and Kim

Pam Wetzel

Pam Wetzel

Pottstown, Pa


August 10, 2009

The canal house was an interesting place to stay. There was a lot of charm in this house. We enjoyed most things about this house. There was however a stray cat who hung out which only became a problem when he tried to bite my son. Also, the claw foot tub only put in hot water, so if you can take a 200 degree bath it is wonderful, however it did not work well with a two year old. We would definately stay in this house again.

Owner's reply:

thanks for your positive review. We have fixed the hot water problem and added a shower.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Ask about a repeat customer discount.
Thanks again.
Pat and Kim

Owner Supplied Testimonials

Pat and Kim
Thank you so much for the oppertunity to stay in such a charming old home. The kids had a great time exploring the house and propert;y nad we loved how it felt like taking a step back in history! Hopefully we will be back soon.
The norris's

THanks for renting this huse to us. All of us had a blast! Us four girls put together a story about our adventures and want to send you a copy.
Thanks "The Hoover 16th birthday party crew"1

Pat and Kim
Thank you for your hospitality, caught loths of fish and had a lot of fun! Thanks for letting us use the canoe.
Patrick and Danica

Enjoyed our stay, Thank You!
Chuck and Linda

Kim and Pat
Thank you very much for letting us stay in this historical house. We enjoyed learning about the structure and the surrounding area.
The Mc Mahons

Kim and Pat
Many thanks for the use of the house. We had a great time. Thanks also for those fishing rods, 7 fish caught, not bad for a 10 year old.
Hopefully see you again.
David, Anne, Megan and Daniel

Thanks for letting us stay in your charming house. Great "base camp" for exploring Tuscarora and Rothrock forests.
Claire and John

Page Views This month: 0 This year: 39 Since listed: 7,075