Historic Canal era Guest House in Cenral Pa

(3)
Excellent
3 Reviews
Aqueduct Rd, Raystown Lake, PA 17066
Historic Canal era Guest House in Cenral Pa
Guesthouse
3 bedrooms
8 guests
No min stay

Overview Description

Overview

Bedrooms: 3
Bathrooms: 1
Sleeps: 8
Type: Guesthouse
Per night: $65 - $100
Per week: $600
Pets allowed: Yes
Internet: No
Description of the Raystown Lake vacation guesthouse rental
The Lock House guest house is located in central Pa on the Juniata river.
The house is 20 min from Lake Raystownd Resort and situated in prime fishing and hunting areas.
The house starts at $65 per day and is availibe for a day, weekend or Week.
Open May thru Septemberr.
The house was built in 1840 and was and original lockkeepers inn on the Pennsylvania canal.
The house is a 40 min drive from Penn State University.
Many historic sites are located nearby.

patrick briggs

Area Information
The surrounding area consists of the rural Juniata river valley. There are several fish access within 5 min of the house and several thousand acers of state forest to hunt, hike or canoe.

Ask about renting a canoe or float tubes when you call.

About the owner

Owner Profile

Rates

Rates

Begins Ends Week
Night
Weekend
Night
Weekly Monthly Min
Stay
Jan 01 2016 Oct 31 2016 $65 $100 $600 $2,000 -
Check In: 2 p.m. Check Out: 12 p.m.
Lodging tax: 3
Deposits: $75 refundable
Payment Options: American Express, Cashier's Check, Discover, Mastercard, Money Order, Personal Check, Visa
Other Fees: 6% pa sales tax

Reviews (3)

Reviews for this vacation guesthouse rental in Raystown Lake, Pennsylvania

Have you been a guest of this property? Write a review!
Excellent
3 reviews
Boxcar Social

Perfect

Boxcar Social

Gettysburg, PA

Perfect

August 17, 2010

This was exactly what we needed. We took our band to the house for 3 days of practice. The house is large and full of history. The owners were very friendly and helpful. The house is rustic, do not expect luxury. Everything worked as it should have and everything we needed was present. The locals were extremely friendly and even invited us to a bonfire on Saturday, which we attended and had a blast. We will make this home a twice yearly occasion from now on. Our only complaint is that it was a little close to other homes and the road, which we did not expect or see in the pictures. This was not an issue though because everyone was so nice and neighborly, just as the country should be.

patrick briggs

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the great reviews and the repeat business. You guys are great.

Steve

Everything but ghosts.

Steve

Columbia, MD

Everything but ghosts.

August 12, 2009

You have to be very flexible and ready for anything to stay at the Lock House. It is quiet and mosquito free due to spraying for the nearby campgrounds. This is one step up from camping with no AC and no shower, but if you don't mind living in the 18th century you can have a lot of fun. We had great times around the fire ring in the back yard and sitting on the dusty old porch watching the chickens peck on the yard across the street. This is a unique experience, like camping in a museum, that isn't for the luxury minded. It isn't exactly conveniently located, but it's not bad for the low cost. Plan ahead, be ready for anything, and you can have a great vacation at the Lock House.

patrick briggs

Owner's reply:

Thanks for the positive review. We have added a shower and are looking into AC for at least the bedrooms.
If you are interested in staying again ask about a discount for repeat customers
thanks again
Pat and Kim

Pam Wetzel

Historic

Pam Wetzel

Pottstown, Pa

Historic

August 10, 2009

The canal house was an interesting place to stay. There was a lot of charm in this house. We enjoyed most things about this house. There was however a stray cat who hung out which only became a problem when he tried to bite my son. Also, the claw foot tub only put in hot water, so if you can take a 200 degree bath it is wonderful, however it did not work well with a two year old. We would definately stay in this house again.

patrick briggs

Owner's reply:

thanks for your positive review. We have fixed the hot water problem and added a shower.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Ask about a repeat customer discount.
Thanks again.
Pat and Kim

Owner Supplied Testimonials
Guestbook

Thanks for letting us stay in your charming house. Great "base camp" for exploring Tuscarora and Rothrock forests.
Claire and John

Kim and Pat
Many thanks for the use of the house. We had a great time. Thanks also for those fishing rods, 7 fish caught, not bad for a 10 year old.
Hopefully see you again.
David, Anne, Megan and Daniel

Kim and Pat
Thank you very much for letting us stay in this historical house. We enjoyed learning about the structure and the surrounding area.
The Mc Mahons

Enjoyed our stay, Thank You!
Chuck and Linda

Pat and Kim
Thank you for your hospitality, caught loths of fish and had a lot of fun! Thanks for letting us use the canoe.
Patrick and Danica

THanks for renting this huse to us. All of us had a blast! Us four girls put together a story about our adventures and want to send you a copy.
Thanks "The Hoover 16th birthday party crew"1

Pat and Kim
Thank you so much for the oppertunity to stay in such a charming old home. The kids had a great time exploring the house and propert;y nad we loved how it felt like taking a step back in history! Hopefully we will be back soon.
The norris's

Page Views This month: 3 This year: 43 Since listed: 7,079